If Were Having Coffee on the 14th of January, 2017

Beatles and Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large Beatles’ mug full of very strong French Roast!  I can also get you a cuppa tea, hot cocoa or other breakfast appropriate beverage (sorry, no Bourbon at this hour, not even in your tea!)  It is a beautiful, sunny but cold day.  I’m going to spend every spare minute outside, cold or not!  And where are we?  Some of you may guess by the image at the top that we are on beautiful Cape Cod, and you’d be absolutely correct.

This week at work was back to the grind.  It was the first full week since the holidays and was pretty busy but not insane.  I have a lot to do coming up, but nothing is making me drown.

Over the last year it seems like a lot of things have broken.  I’m talking stove, clothes washer and things like that.  So that five big ticket items broke over the last two weeks isn’t that surprising.  Of course it means my “toy budget” for the year just got drained to help pay for “things I need!”.  A new module for my synthesizer, a new camera body, etc. – these are not things I need.  A computer is.  My computer died.  A lot of data was on external drives, but I lost the last three years of photos.  Not everything, of course.  For instance, look at all of the photos I posted on the blog.  Those still exist, at least the smaller edited versions.  I lost all of my videos, though most have been posted on Youtube.  There are some other documents and such that are gone, but not a lot.  All of my writing is safe, backed up in four different places, as is my music.

A few things for you computer nerds – When the computer powers up, the fans spin, the disks whir for a second and then nothing.  No beep-error-codes.  No signal on the monitor.  No lights on the keyboard or mouse.  Nothing.  Means dead motherboard.  I tried replacing the bios battery (this worked on another computer), but no dice.  I put the drive in an older computer and can’t boot to it and can’t see it when I boot to another drive.  I’ll try again when my new computer comes in.  If not, I will call around and see how much it will cost to get my photos off of the drive.  There are about 200 GB, maybe 300 GB, of photos on that drive – I take a lot of pictures!  It is four cameras and my phone plus countless drawings that were scanned in and colorized. The last backup of photos was January 2014.  (I have digital photos going back to 1998 backed up).

So a few other things broke too.  I’ll have to start looking into replacing them.  I think this week will in the long run be several thousand dollars :(

OK, onto more cheerful things :)

After a very, very cold beginning this week warmed up nicely.  I actually kayaked on Thursday!  It was short because I couldn’t get out until after work and the light was quickly fading, but 30 minutes on the kayak is 30 minutes on the kayak!  Yesterday the temperatures crashed again, but next week will be warmer than average, if not quite as warm as the last few days have been.

Although my “toy budget” was completely wiped out for the year, I do still have my new lens and have continued to play with it.  I’ve also been working with other thing.  My book is almost to the point of being published (self-published), just taking care of a few details.

Blogging has been weird.  The year started with some great stats and then they crashed.  I’m talking new posts with single digit views and such.  Was it because I couldn’t read other people’s blogs after my computer crashed?  I know, I spend too much time looking at them, but I do want to figure out why there is such a huge difference in the stats from one day to the next (Tuesday = 1/10 Monday’s views).  Oh well, I’ll never figure it out.  And I still have fun, and that’s what it is all about!

Even with the dead computer I did try to post a lot.  I started Sunday with a smile about shoveling snow.  Really.  Later in the day I put up a short post about hiding the stories on my blog that will be in the book (hiding = making them private).  On Monday I posted some pictures with my new lens plus an older lens that is underutilized.  Later in the day I posted an answer to a “challenge” – an award, but I don’t do awards.  On Tuesday I wrote what I thought was a nice poem but nobody read it.  On Wednesday I posted my Weekly Smile about ordering a new computer.  I had to do it from my work computer and things didn’t go right, but it is there!  On Thursday I reposted an old post (exactly three years old)  about a January Thaw.  On Friday I posted a dark short story, appropriate for Friday the Thirteenth…

As I said, I’m going to try to spend as much time outside as I can.  If you want you can join me for a walk, though I usually walk in silence.  It’s nice and sunny, so it should be a great walk.  I also have a lot of things I need to get done today.  You can stay and  sip your coffee as I get stuff together and join me if you want, but we’ll soon have to leave the comfy warm cottage.  I did enjoy the chat, though.  If you are having coffee at your place I’ll try to stop by and we can talk about what you did all week, OK?  I hope your week wasa good and that yuou have a great week ahead!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster .  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. (I’ll make the links hot later)

 

49 thoughts on “If Were Having Coffee on the 14th of January, 2017

  1. Pamela Morse

    I have been having a rash of broken stuff, but thank goodness the computer tub is all working. That is a major hit..budget, life, everything. I am happy to walk around in Cape Cod without getting cold…fun!! Thanks for the coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m glad I got a chance to relax walking around Cape Cod before hitting even more broken stuff when I got home! Anyway, such is life. Can’t appreciate what you have if something doesn’t go wrong, can you? But all is good besides broken stuff. Thanks for stopping by! I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. sherloque

    ah hm thanks for the answer about your soul. About broken down equipment, I’ve been thinking. I’m of the generation of those who got things REPAIRED when they failed. I know, I know. Don’t laugh :-) A couple of years ago the hi-tech sophisticated laundry machine of my son broke down. He was talking of taking it to the dump. I said “wait there”, checked with a handyman doing repairs on electronic washing machines. He picked, fixed and returned the said equipment for about €50.- I know, I know… There might be just one piece of machinery to change, just one small electronic component. I’ve heard manufacturers do it on purpose so that when the weak link fails the whole machine is dead. Just see round the corner if there isn’t a smart handyman to repair your equipment. (this was the free weekly advice from grumpy grandma in Europe)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I get it. The appliances that broke are about 20 years old and most likely could be fixed, but not easily (Actually, my TV that broke was a lot newer – I still have it and may fix it later and have 2 TVs). Before I went more into project management, part of my job was repairing broken computers. I spent about 10 hours trying to fix the silly computer, but I’m about 95% certain it is the motherboard. I could get a replacement for the motherboard, though it is older and harder to find, but yes, possible. My music computer is older and still runs fine, so I’ll keep it until it dies (it’s 10).

      You are 100% correct – we live in a throw away society, at least we do in the US. My oldest car is about 7 (human years ;) ) and I’m thinking about replacing it, not about driving it for another 25 or 30 years like some people I know. I can’t replace it this year, but…. So I’m better at some on repairing and reusing, but I still live in this disposable world.

      As far as the answer about souls, hmm, hard question to answer, particularly out of the blue. Where you just curious about my philosophy or did I say something that seemed soulless? Anyway, so I responded both ways.

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I get it: You come in here, introduce the bourbon and throw out questions like that to see what will happen. I guess I’m like Bond and like mine stirred, not shaken ;)

          Like

          Reply
  3. sonyaliraphotography

    They say things break in 3’s I guess in your case 4’s. I hate when the big stuff breaks and then the next thing and the next it is never at a good time when it happens. I hope ya’ll find some good deals on a few things. Sometimes this is a good time of year for that.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          It’s slowly beginning to warm up after a cold weekend, but it is sunny and beautiful again. 4 days of rain sounds awful. And following a few dreary days? Yuck. I hope you get some sunshine soon!

          Like

          Reply
  4. Tara

    Sorry about your computer woes. I use four flash drives for photos and writing. I also have a lot of writing attached and living in email drafts, too. Damn technology! It’s great when it works.

    Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have a bunch of drives that I back stuff up on, but my main photo drive got filled up, so…. Any, so far the week has slide down since the computer incident, so I guess there’s no place to go but up!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Corina

    I will try to get to your week’s posts. I was pretty much out of commission this week. First, babysitting the boys (and that Spencer doesn’t let me even open the laptop, let alone read or write a post) and when I babysit them there is nothing more important than watching them. Then my back pain came back and I haven’t been able to stand the pain long enough to open the laptop…until today and it is getting iffy now. I’m hoping I will be able to get through at least a few more blogs before the pain comes back entirely.

    Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Life does happen. I’m real sorry about the back pain! I hope it doesn’t bother you too much! The last time I had back pain I took Aleve (naproxen) and it worked much better than ibuprofen. I hope you have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Melissa @ Ever Growing Farm

    Oh man! When it rains, it pours, right?! I’m so sorry to hear about all of the breakage! It’s never fun to have to replace those *need items, especially when there are lists of things you *want to do. Alas, once it’s all fixed up and replaced, you shouldn’t have to do it again for quite some time :-)

    I hope you get your outside time! I know it always helps me feel better about life in general!

    Have a great week ahead, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It does seem like a lot of things always happen at the same time. Oh well, as you say, I shouldn’t have to worry about most of them again for a while.
      I did get out walking and kayaking. It was nice, if chilly.
      I hope your weekend is going well and that you have a great week ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Terri Webster Schrandt

    I was lucky to get in a good walk yesterday while it was sunny. Today, because of sun, the fog showed up (ground fog, not marine layer), so it just looks overcast and stays in the low 40s. In 2014, I replaced a laptop, a refrigerator, and a microwave. The washer is getting there, but my hubby has a gently used one waiting in the wings. Appliances seem to die every 7 years I’m told, although mine have lived longer. So sorry about your photos. You sound awfully calm about it. I would be gnashing my teeth for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Even though it never got above freezing the walks today were great!
      I do have a lot of the photos spread around, but they are mostly resized for the Internet. I can’t really do much with them except show them here, but I do have a few hundred of the best ones. Other than that… I do hope I can figure out a way to get them. If not, there isn’t much I can do. I’m bummed, of course….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. sherloque

          I don’t trust dropbox for some reason. I keep mine on several external hard drives and on various memory sticks. The best would be to get them printed on parchemin ha ha ha :-) that holds for over 2000 years… for some.

          Liked by 2 people

          Reply
          1. trentpmcd Post author

            I like the parchment idea ;) The problem with multiple external drives is if there is a fire or something – the drives need to be in different locations. I can do that because I have a cottage, so that is something I’m also thinking about. These days, though, most cloud solutions are pretty robust and secure, so I’ll look there.

            Like

            Reply
        2. trentpmcd Post author

          I was keeping mine on an external hard drive, but ran out of space (it was only 500 GB). I had two other external drives for music and writing, but didn’t use them. Yeah, I need to find a cloud solution. I’ll start pricing out how much 1 TB would cost and how much it will be when I go up from there…

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  8. bettylouise31

    Sorry about your computer problems. Trying toi access your photos is a huge task. I have backup on the ones I have been showing.
    Yes, I would love to take walk with you and see your adea. It is so different from where I have been.
    My stats have been down. In some ways I don’t care but I wonder why. I would probably reviews even if no one view them. As it is something I started to give something to do.
    My new slogat to show I have read your b!og is THINK POSITIVE. However, I have been forgetting to add it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Even though I didn’t walk by the ocean today, I am very close to it and am always aware of its presence – very different from Idaho on that score! Think Positive is a great slogan!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. Robin

    A walk sounds good. I walk in silence too, so you won’t have to worry about me chattering. :) Sorry about the computer and other big ticket items. That seems to be the way of things, going all at once.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      You also walk with a camera, which is a good reason to be silent – even if the silence is being lost in your thoughts, it also lets you approach birds or other animals to photograph.

      I hope you’re having a good weekend and really are enjoying a walk on this cool day.

      Like

      Reply
  10. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Good morning, Trent. Just a quick cup of hot cocoa with a splash of honey for me, please, and thank you!
    I won’t stay long, since you’re off on grand adventures today. Yea! I brought the last of my gifted Christmas Kringle from WI to share. This was my first Kringle, and is delicious, I hope you like it.
    Sorry I can’t join you on the walk today, but I hope you’re at the Cape because you also get to enjoy a long weekend (thank you MLK for your sacrifice to make us better humans). Wishes for a fabulous, exhilarating, fun weekend. Thanks for the chat! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I spend a lot of time down here, but part of it is MLK Day. I agree, thank you MLK! There is plenty of honey in the cottage so no problem putting a little in your cocoa. Thanks for dropping by and for sharing a little of the Christmas Kringle!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  11. thecoffeebeanbrain

    I remembered I love being out on a sunny, cold weather vacationing in Illinois. Having a broken computer when you’re not ready to buy one (and not saving some precious files) is certainly hard. When I was teaching two years ago, I lost a whole day of lecture because my laptop would not work the next day after using it the night before. I recalled hearing that whirring sound and how it became extremely hot for a while. I didn’t remember putting it off right before bed, too, so my bad. My back ups now include external hard drives and utilizing cloud spaces that comes with my some email accounts. Some pictures I’ve managed to store Flickr as they give you a big enough space for storage, you can even put it on private settings so your pictures can’t be accessed publicly. Thanks for coffee, Trent.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m going to have to rethink how I do backup, particularly of my image files. It’s just that I take so many photos! But I’ll do something, mostly like put some in cloud storage and perhaps get a new 3 TB external drive. Loosing data, though, can be very frustrating.
      Anyway, thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

          Trent, I’m not sure I have enough bourbon for us both for this conversation… lol ….
          You expressed beautifully a very stimulating topic. (I was smiling as I was listening over your shoulder). I enjoy deep philosophical questions. I think they’re fun, because there are no right or wrong answers, only discovery. I sense a warm, thoughtful, gentle man, who offers good cocoa! I hope your day is going well! : )

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. trentpmcd Post author

            The day is going pretty good. I took a long walk in the woods and kayaked for a bit, despite the wind and cold. I didn’t make it to the beach, but perhaps next time.

            I usually don’t get too detailed when I share my philosophy, at least not on line. But it is “fun” sometimes. I do, of course, express my philosophy, even the deepest on occasion, in the poetry that I post, but then that is open to interpretation.

            Thanks for the bourbon. Smoootthh ;) I hope you’re having a great weekend.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I guess if you’re going to ask questions like that I’ll have to break out the bourbon! A little philosophy in the morning (it’s still morning here)… Is there a special something in us that outlives our bodies? There does seem to be something in us humans that goes beyond just the meat and stuff. Most of my life is lived in the material world, the here and now, with thoughts to the past and hopes towards the future. I try to help my fellow passengers on this crazy journey called life. I may come across as cold, but that isn’t’ really who I am. Sure, posts like this are 100% self-centered, but I do think of all of those around me, even people on the far side of the planet, and try to stick a helping hand out to those in need. Is it because I have a soul? Is it just the idea of shared humanity? I think of all humans as my brothers and sisters and think that those who are willing to kill those who are different are completely soulless. Does that make my soul any more real? Anyway, I’ll stop for now and say that it is your turn ;)

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Express Yourself

