Not an Award Acceptance, a “Challenge” ;)

Award

I just received a new “Challenge”.  Well, that’s how I’m taking it anyway.  For you to understand what I mean, I will need to give you a bit of history.  (If you don’t want the history, just skip to the ** )

Even though I am ancient, I am too young to have seen any paper/snail-mail chain-letters, but I knew about them.  Everyone did.  However, I did see the age of chain-emails.  This was back in the early days when there was very little spam.  In fact, most people became quite irate if a single piece of unsolicited email hit their inbox.  Their privacy had been compromised!  And yet my inbox still filled up with junk in the form of chain letters.  I hated them!  They were irritating.  But 90% of the people I knew would forward them on regardless of how silly they were.  Finally the fad wore out.  I think after email was no longer quite the novelty that it was back in the early days and became a necessity (which it was from the beginning for me), people started to understand that chain-letters/emails were evil.  So I hadn’t seen a chain-letter in many years.

And then I started blogging.

Only these things are called “Awards”, not chain-letters.  But if you look at the mechanism, they are exactly the same.  Pretty early on I decided my blog was a “no-awards” blog.  I put up a page under my “About” declaring Trent’s World the Blog as a “No Awards Zone”.

I know, I know, I’m being very cynical, right?  A lot of people send out the awards for exactly the right reason (actually, so did the propagators of chain-emails, but that’s beside the point).  Yes, I get that.  I know that they are usually given with good intentions.  It is one way to say “I appreciate your blog”.  I get it.  And since I get it I don’t get all grumpy when I receive one (despite the tone of the last few paragraphs ;)).  I take them in the spirit that they were offered.

Therein lies the problem.  I don’t want to propagate chain-letters and yet I want to show my appreciation of people who “nominate” me for awards. My solution?  I don’t accept the award, but I often do turn it into a “Challenge”.  Blog Challenges are a fun way to get people to write about specific things and share ideas.

** So, ladyleemanila sent me a Challenge under the name of “Blogger Recognition Award” (see here for award details).  Thank you ladleemanila!

I don’t believe in rules, but here are the “rules” that I will ignore.  Well, “mostly ignore” as I will answer #4 and #5.

Rules:

  1.  Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2.  Write a post to show your award.
  3.  Attach the award to your post.
  4.  Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  5.  Give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers.
  6.  Select 15 other blogs you want to receive the award.
  7.  Notify your nominees and provide a nomination link to your award post.

A Brief History of the Blog starts when I finished; finished writing a book, that is.  I discovered that all authors need a blog.  (Since then I’ve found a few authors that don’t blog and still sell books, more than most of the bloggers I know).  So I did a little research and started here not having any idea what to do or what I’d say.  It would take a very large post to tell you how the blog has taken shape after that fateful moment that I clicked “Publish” that first time.   As The Dead said, what a long, strange trip it’s been.  I’ll spare the details and growing pains for now.

When I was just starting out I wish someone had taken my by the shirt collar (perhaps they didn’t because I wear turtlenecks) and shaken me a few times and pointed out how blogging works and what a blog really is.  Blogs are social media.  You can’t create an “online magazine” or other such foolish thing and expect people to read it unless you have a high profile name.  Don’t even try!  As a normal person you HAVE to treat it as social media.  That is a lot of work.  I spend almost 4 times the time doing the social media part than I do the writing part.  Not that reading what you all write is a bad thing, it is just time consuming.

So that was the challenge and my answer to it.  If you want to join in the fun go ahead, but I will not participate in a chain-letter and tell you to ;)  Thanks again, ladyleemanila!

11 thoughts on “Not an Award Acceptance, a “Challenge” ;)

  1. Pingback: If Were Having Coffee on the 14th of January, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. DailyMusings

    When I first started blogging I loved those awards- questions, getting to know new bloggers, but then they became burdensome and tiresome and I understood why “seasoned” bloggers no longer accepted them or posted “award free blog” on their headers. I remember chain letters as a kid- I can remember writing them and receiving them, or some evil and awful fate would befall us.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do see the plus side of awards, but they can be a pain. There are no dire warnings like the old chain letters, but it’s the same pyramid scheme – you send it to 15 people and each of them send it to 15 and… pretty soon it makes it around the virtual world and goes back for a second lap.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    2. Sarah Potter Writes

      I agree that they’re great fun at first and a good way to get to know other bloggers, but latterly I’ve said thank you and that I really appreciate the thought, but am working on a writing project that requires my full concentration. This is true all of the time, although as to whether the writing project gets my full attention, that’s another matter! I’m very easily distracted and don’t need awards to distract me further.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  3. Sarina

    Lol. My Blog too, is awards free. I used to say it’s like blog homework. Nowadays however since I don’t write blog posts as often, I don’t get awards -which is very well with me. I hate having to send 15 people chain mail as you put it.
    By the way I still get real chain e-mail (mostly ignore it all), so I guess you are just lucky. Actually did receive a real paper chain letter once, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think a lot of people do awards free blogs. My blog is eclectic enough that it’s not a huge deal, but I could never see trying to get someone with a very specific theme a blogger award – it would disrupt the flow. I might occasionally get chain-letter emails, but not like I used to. So, with the real paper one you received, did you send it along? ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is a pyramid. I send 15, those 15 each send 15, etc. until the world is filled with that award… I’ve actually run into a few people who dislike the awards even more than I do. But I do like the people who have given me the awards, so….

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

