if We Were Having Coffee on the 7th of January, 2017

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in out of the cold!  i’ll get you a steaming hot mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other warm beverage.  It is pretty frigid and will be worse tomorrow and next day, but then it will warm back up.  In the mean time, we are preparing for a storm.  You know that storm that wreaked havoc across the country shooting a diagonal from Washington to the Carolinas?  Now that it’s hit the Ocean it is heading up the coast directly at us.  At least I’m not on Cape Cod this weekend!  They’re going to get slammed (Blizzard and Gale conditions, over a foot of snow, etc.).  So, if I’m not on Cape Cod, where am I?  Many may recognize that beautious synthesizer in the image at the top of the page as being up in New Hampshire.

It was a pretty good week.  I started off kayaking on Saturday and Sunday.  Really.  And then driving from Cape Cod to New Hampshire Sunday (after kayaking).    It was hard to get back into the swing of things on Tuesday.  Real hard!  I felt out of it all day.  The week was hard, but a few major issues were solved (I hope!).

I spent most of my spare time working on my book.  I have sent it out to my last contact to do a low level edit.  I’ve been playing around with formatting, which is never fun.  Word will not let me do some of the things I want to do.  I think I’ll have to move it into Acrobat for most of it, but that means I’ll have to buy Acrobat.  It’s like $14 or $15 a month.  Is it worth it?  I’ll see.  One thing, I need the first page of the first story on an odd page.  Every time I put in a table of contents it forces it to an even page.  So I add or remove a blank page, rebuild the table of contents so it is correct and it forces it back to an even page by adding a blank page in.  I’m a person that hates “Wizards” in computer programs.  I want 100% control.  I still do a lot of work on the command line because it gives me control a Windows interface takes away.  Older versions of Word let me choose to do it myself, but i can’t find a way t take total control with this version.  Even when I build the table manually it forces that first page of the first story to an even page every time.  Do I sound frustrated?

Overall though, I am very happy with my progress on the book.  Hint: it won’t be long (which sounds like a Beatles’ song) before you see it.  Everything I do or say reminds me of a song.  Which goes back to one of my posts this week, but I’ll get to that later.

This was a very smiley week on my blog.  The Weekly Smile has been going on for a year!  Since the roots of the Weekly Smile was A Smile a Day I decided to post a new Smile every day for a week, Wednesday to Wednesday.  So, since my last Coffee Share I did Week 52 posts on Saturday (2016 – living life!), Sunday (kayaking on New year’s Day!), Monday (A year with the Weekly Smile) and Tuesday (Weekly Smile logo from early sensual idea to newly cleanup version for 2017).  Of course then Wednesday was The Weekly Smile 53, the first for the new year!  I did other posts besides Smile posts.  On Tuesday I posted a poem about reflection.  On Wednesday I posted a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneer (a little less G-Rated than my typical story).  On Thursday I put up a Throwback post about my first “real” digital camera, the Olympus E-10, with some samples of the best pictures I took with it the first year I had it (15 years ago!).  Going through the stories for my book I came across one were I had suggested a song.  I suddenly panicked.  I did research it last year and thought it was OK, but suddenly I was insure.  I put up a post asking what people thought.  Following a few links and then following links from there I feel much more comfortable with it.

As always there are a million things to do today.  I mean, I already had a hair cut (8 AM appointment) and have done a few chores around the house.  But there will be a day full of activity.  And some non-activity while I relax from the week :)  I’m about to get up and get myself another cup of coffee and can get you something to put in your travel mug.  Stay warm!  Thanks for stopping by!  If you have a coffee share, I’ll try to stop by for another chat.

I hope you have a great weekend and a great week ahead!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster .  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

 

 

21 thoughts on “if We Were Having Coffee on the 7th of January, 2017

  1. Nancy

    Can’t believe the Weekly Smile is a year old already! Seems like you were just kicking the idea around. Where in the world did you find a hair salon that opens at 8am? Not sure I would let anyone near me with sharp scissors that early in the morning! 😉 Have a great week and good luck with your book.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s funny, they open at 10 during the week and 8 on Saturday. Fine with me.

      It does seem amazing that it has already been a year with The Weekly Smile.

      Thanks! Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Corina

    I forgot. Are you going to go with Amazon self publishing for your book? If you are, you really should set it up in Amazon because, as I understand, other programs won’t transfer into it without a lot of changes. You can open a book project very easily. You are not charged for anything until you are ready to submit the project. At least that is what I have heard. You might want to check it out before spending money on any kind of software.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Corina. I’m going through Amazon’s Kindle Direct. They now have a beta for doing paperbacks as well as just Kindle. All of the literature I’ve read and all of the downloads imply everything needs to be properly formatted before it’s loaded. With the e-books, it has to be loaded as an htm/html file and then the convert it from there. They have an app that you can use to see how it will look on different devices (obvious it’s easy to see how it looks in a browser like IE or Firefox). It all works well there, but I’ll have to go into the html file and do a little tweaking – not a problem. For the paperback they want an Adobe Acrobat pdf file but will take a Word document and auto-convert what’s there once it is uploaded. There might be some room for tweaking, but the publishing guide I’ve been studying makes it sound like that it is very important that all of the major things are done before it is uploaded. The more I think about it the more I think doing the conversion to pdf myself before uploading instead of letting Amazon do it is for the best. The conversion from Word to html seemed great, but when I looked at it in some of the viewers it wasn’t quite what I expected. The main thing was the chapter headers were too big, that is the text size was, so I’ll go into the html and change all of the tags to or – very simple changes. The paperback is harder because I have to do all of the tweaking in Word and it won’t let me. The frustrating thing is I’ve done this stuff before in old versions of Word and it was super easy if you told Word you wanted 100% control. I can’t find out how to do that with the newer version – Microsoft thinks it knows best and has taken away most of the fine level control. Acrobat is made specifically for publishing and has all of those controls – it is NOT a word processing program like Word, it is a publishing program and so is designed from the ground up to make the things I’m struggling with easy. I will most likely go that way. I use it at work. I guess it is always best to use the tools designed for the job you want – if you have a hammer everything looks like a nail and if you have Word everything looks like a word processing issue.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Pamela Morse

    Winter kayaking is certainly a nordic kind of thing. I picture you breaking through ice, although I know you probably did not. Do you go in the ocean? I have resisted Acrobat also, and don’t think I will pay for it, although it has a few tricks I want sometimes. You know a lot more about formatting and editing than I, so I can only wish you luck with it all. Thanks for the coffee, Trent.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      No ice breaking while kayaking. It has been relatively warm on Cape Cod so the little brackish water pond I use hasn’t frozen yet. I stay off of the ocean this time of year. usually – I have been on it in late November. I’m playing around with different formatig ideas, but I may end up getting Acrobat anyway. We’ll see.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Mrs. Completely

    You’re a busy man, Trent, unlike The Viking and I. We’ve been busy napping and drinking lots of fruit juices in an attempt to rally from the Hanta Virus Junior dropped on us over the holidays. We’re nearly comatose most of the time lately. So glad your book is coming along well, even if Word is being a jerk. :o)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sorry you guys were sick. I hate being sick – I like to stay busy all of the time and don’t know how to slow down. I think anything Microsoft is a jerk, but that’s just me ;) If nothing else I can do a 7 day trial of Acrobat, format my book and then say I don’t want it…

      Have a great week! I hope you and the Viking are feeling better.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. bettylouise31

    I like to be in control of my writing. I hated Word with its templates. I always started from a blank page. Now software is being written for everyone the same. My problem with my pictures. I know the frustration.
    Storms arrive here by two ways. The last one came from the southwest up through northern California. The one todaycis hitting Pacific coast mainly in the Oregon area. It will arrive later today.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There are usually work arounds in Word to allow you more control, but there are still some things I can’t find and the”help” isn’t any help. Acrobat is aimed more at publishing anyway, so I should use it. It’s snowing now and we’ll get about 6 inches here, so not a terrible storm. It’s light and fluffy so not bad at all.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

