Throwback Thursday – E-10

2oceans-reflect-001-06-26-02

I started my exploration of digital photography with an Olympus 2020.  Yes, a whopping 2 megapixals!  It was a great camera, but I soon moved onto a pseudo-DSLR, the Olympus E-10.

e-10-1

The E-10 had the prism, shutter, etc. of an SLR but worked a little different.  One thing it did is “split” the light beam between the eyepiece and the sensor, so the light was actually reduced.  Not good back in the day when ISO 320 was considered a high ISO shot!. ISO 320?  Yes, because of the reduced light hitting the sensor, the E-10 used ISO 80 as its base, then ISO 160 and ISO 320.  In other words, the E-10 was a great good weather camera!

But it was built like a tank and could take any weather.  I climbed in the high mountains with it and had it banging against boulders with no issues.  And the lens was great!  The photos from the E-10 were as good as you could get straight out of a camera back then without spending amounts usually reserved for cars.

notre-dame-bw

The camera was only 4 megapixels, but it made great use of those four.  I made poster sized printouts that looked better, more detailed, than the same size prints I made with film.  The pictures were great.

air-bike

One issue was that it had a built on lens.  There were adapters you could use.  I had them all, the telephoto, the wide angle and the macro.  The lenses worked just fine.

george-pan

The E-10 was my primary camera for about 5 years.  Given that, every photo on this page was taken the first year that I had it.  That first year really got me into the nitty-gritty of photography.  I learned a huge amount and spent all of my free time taking pictures.  In many ways I miss my E-10 (but it was slow!!!).

hollis-barn

Here is a little gallery of some of my favorite photos from that first year, including those from above.  Click on a picture for more detailand slide show.

 

5 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – E-10

  1. Pingback: if We Were Having Coffee on the 7th of January, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It isn’t? ;) I haven’t had a chance to explore outside of the city very much. An excursion down the Loire Valley was the biggest part of my exploration. I do want to see more, but haven’t had a chance yet. Someday….

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

