Weekly Smile 52 (Part 7!!) #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

A year ago I started working on a logo for my new blogging project, The Weekly Smile.  My first idea was, well, I didn’t like it.  So I simplified and tried again.  There was just something intangible about the second one that left me feeling like perhaps it wasn’t quite right.  I was shooting for an old fashioned, Art Nouveau feel, but it seemed a little, well, I don’t know.  I liked it, and yet there was something.  So I posted it and asked about it.  This isn’t the first version I posted, but is a slightly edited version of it (it is the same drawing, but this isn’t as soft and “feminine”).

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Some people thought it looked a little too sexual (I won’t say more).  I thought maybe emphasizing the smile more (lips less) and getting rid of the second little smiley under it would make the drawing better and less adult themed, so I tried this instead:

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

People still thought it was too adult, but I think that is because they saw the first version (which won’t be shown in public again ;)  In private, maybe).  You know, once seen…  So I decided to go back to the drawing board (literally) and start again.  I decided to try something totally different, perhaps a calendar (weekly, get it?) inside of a large smile.  Yeah, that would work.  I was running out of time, so I came up with the idea, asked about it, got the thumbs up, colorized it (hand painted it in Photoshop) and posted it.  It’s at the top of the page, but here it is again:

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

There are times I’ve hated the rough appearance and times I thought the obviously handcrafted look was good.  Well, for the new year, the second for the Weekly Smile, I decided to put the X-Rated version again to clean it up a little.  It isn’t a lot better and still has that home made, hand drawn, not quite perfect quality to it, but it is better in many ways.

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

What do you think?

So that is my last smile for the Weekly Smile 52, thinking about the “controversy” of my original unused smile drawing (I still sometimes put in the final version of it) and coming up with a cleaner version of the “official” Weekly Smile logo!

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

— — — —

If you didn’t notice, I did a smile every day to celebrate the full year of The Weekly Smile!

See This Week’s Smile Part 1!
See This Weeks Smile Part 2!
See This Week’s Smile Part 3!
See This Week’s Smile Part 4!
See This Week’s Smile Part 5!
See This Week’s Smile Part 6! (A year with The Weekly Smile)

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 52 (Part 7!!) #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: if We Were Having Coffee on the 7th of January, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Weekly Smile 53 #weeklysmile | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

