Weekly Smile 52 – A Year with #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Back in 2015 a friend of mine had a small rant on Facebook about negative people.  She believed we should concentrate on the positive and the beautiful.  This is a photographer who sees beauty everywhere, including jumping spiders, a favorite subject of hers.  I wrote as a comment:

“There are days I go in search of the kind, compassionate, loving and beautiful. Despite what we sometimes see on the news, FB and elsewhere, there is much more beauty in the world than ugliness, much more kindness than hate or cruelty. Perhaps we should all have a goal to make at least one person smile every day.”

After writing that, I decided to put my money where my mouth (and smile) was and did a Smile a Day for the month of December 2015.This was a little harder than I expected!  yes, I do smile every day, ev3n the worst ones, but what do I write about?  So I decided to make it a weekly event, The Weekly Smile #weekltsmile.  In 2016 I posted at least one “Smile” every week.  Many weeks I posted two and a few weeks three.  Here is a link to all of the “Named Smiles“, over 90 of them.

This was created as an audience participation type thing – I put up and Inlinx linkup on every smile post and tried to get people to participate.  There are a handful who do post almost every week (Thank You!!) and a few others who post the occasional smile, but it hasn’t become very widespread.  There have been very few weeks with a lot of participation and several off weeks, like this week when only two other people joined me (though I filled the linkup with my daily posts ;) )  I’ll admit that there are times I’m a little depressed about it.  I think smiles need to be shared all over blogland!  But then, my idea is to make someone smile, not have a hugely popular blogging event.  I think I succeeded at least a little bit.

I have had a few people mention that they look forward to the Weekly Smile. Not many, but, hey! one is enough, isn’t it?  If I can make one person smile every week, I think I’ve accomplished my goal.

So for those people who have said they look forward to the Weekly Smile, I am going to continue it through 2017!  I’ll continue having the linkup so others can join if they wish, but it will be me sharing my smile, audience participation welcome, but not necessary ;)  I’m hoping that there are a lot of smiles in 2017!!

trent-hat-06a

So that is what made me smile this week, a full year of Weekly Smiles and the thought of continuing them for at least another year!

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

— — — —

See This Week’s Smile Part 1!
See This Weeks Smile Part 2!
See This Week’s Smile Part 3!
See This Week’s Smile Part 4!
See This Week’s Smile Part 5!

21 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 52 – A Year with #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: if We Were Having Coffee on the 7th of January, 2017 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Weekly Smile 52 (Part 7!!) #weeklysmile | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. charlypriest

    You look like Richard Gere, the question is where is Julia Roberts? (pretty woman)
    by the way this screwed up computer doesn´t let me see comments in the notifications that I put or they put in other blogs, i can only read the comments in my blog if I actually enter the post I posted, and a lot more glitches.
    Anyways Mr.Gere. Hope to start the weekly smile when I get a new computer which fortunately can be this week or the next. In the meantime I can just put up comments and not be able to respond in the other blogs that is since I don´t get the freaking notifications.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There wasn’t too much doubt that I’d continue, though during the year there were a few times… Glad you were able to join when you could and looking forward to more :)

      Like

      Reply
  4. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    I love both hats, because I just love hats in general. However, be sure you cover those beautiful blues eyes with 😎 when you’re outside; blue eyes are more sensitive to damage, and sunscreen that Caucasian skin.
    I, too, have both and actively try to take care of both.
    Thank you for keeping the Weekly Smile going. I love it and appreciate the extra time you devote to host it! Happy day! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks Deanna! It is good to know people like the posts. And the hats, it’s nice to know people like the hats ;) I do wear shades 😎 most of the time that I am out, but sometimes I miss – I am picky and have to have the best optics possible or I won’t wear them (my eyes get tired with cheap sunglasses). That can be expensive $$$ I also don’t use as much sunscreen as I should because it makes my skin itch and burn. I need to find a good all natural sunscreen, which I haven’t yet. My skin is very sensitive and I have to use only all natural non-petroleum, non-mineral oils. Shea butter is great. My dad has had some skin cancer issues so I know I need to be double careful.

      I did notice your beautiful blue eyes in that cool over-exposed photo you posted. I’m glad you are taking care of them. :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. sherloque

    aaah yeah! that hat is more fanciful and… sexy. How about a 3 day beard with it? What do American women think of it? by the way I’m not raving about this subject for single men but for those with partners. Do not let your partner be bored with you. Sport is great, sure, no doubt about that. Partnership can be great too if it’s kept “alive” and tense… (just talking to myself there, sorry). My smile for the week? don’t know, shall come back next week! :-))

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      When I bought the kayaking hat in the last picture, I was wearing this hat. The woman behind the counter asked me why in the world I would want that ugly thing when she loved the hat I was wearing. I asked her if she could imagine me kayaking in my “Blues Brothers” hat…. She said I had a point, but still…. Anyway, no 3-day beard, or not often – only when my partner is away – she hates it!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          There is a very wide variety of tastes here – when I’m home alone I do usually grow my beard out until she returns because i like it and I know some of the ladies do. But your right, the French taste is more sophisticated while Americans are more practical. But then, there is nothing practical about my “Blues Brothers” hat and I wear it every day! I enjoy the French sense of fashion when I’ve visited (I’ve been to your country 3 times) but there is no way I could imitate it! I’d look like an American trying to imitate French fashion, not like me :) And yes, we can be friends.

          Like

          Reply
          1. sherloque

            I see what you mean. What I was getting on though was not about fashion. How can I say it? On all media and in all stories women are always portrayed as being “sexy”, their deportment, their talk, their way to be “attractive”… as if… how can I explain? as if their whole behavior was about attracting males. On the other hand a lot of men do not bother to do anything to be attractive to women, as if us women were naturally attracted by you guys. I don’t want to write a thesis on this here! but do you see what I mean? Men in Hollywood films do look sexy, I guess, to attract audience in cinemas!!! but in real life guys show no interest in trying to attract women… blah blah blah… sorry about my long speech :-(

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I get what you mean. Women in the US have to be thin, wear makeup, wear nice clothes, etc while guys can be dumpy and disheveled. That is the stereotype, but not always true – I know a lot of women who wear what’s comfortable and don’t give a damn if they look nice or not and men who take great pride in appearances (though most of them are gay – another stereotype). I fall in between. Although I post pictures of me in my kayaking gear, I actually do care a bit about attracting women – I stay thin and fit for health reasons but also because it looks good. I don’t go out looking like a slob – I don’t wear sweats or sweatshirts unless i’m exercising, etc. I do try to make a nice appearance. Anyway, i get what you are saying, and yes, it is a bit different here.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
              1. sherloque

                oops… I’m not talking of stereotypes, Trent. Wish I could make myself understood better. Perhaps I’ll write a post in my own blog about this “problem”, i.e. the relationship between the genders… ah yes also another thing that bugs me is the way we have all forgotten in the English language to use “women” or “lady” and “man” or “gentleman”. Another issue but on the same line.

                Like

                Reply
                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  Yes, you should write a blog post about it. That reminds me, I haven’t been reading your blog :( It doesn’t show up in my reader (since not WP) and the emails get buried. I’ll have to go see what you’ve been writing lately!
                  I think a lot of what we are saying is, if not the same, along the same lines just from a different perspective. When I talk stereotypes, I’m actually talking about the real, widespread attitudes behind those stereotypes. I would like to see your take on it in more detail. And I’ll make sure I make it over to your blog.

                  Like

                  Reply
                  1. sherloque

                    It could be my fault if you don’t find my stuff as I’ve been moving about a lot… canceling my FB account then getting back in and finally, mark my word, DELETING it for good, I say for good, yes. So… back with my blogspot blogs that I enjoy very much. WordPress is definitely not my favorite as I feel trapped in it. For instance I haven’t found a way to comment on this blog of yours, here, as a blogspot user. I have to be a wordpress or a facebook user. Therefore I connected with my Sherloque wordpress identity again… just to be able to read your stuff!! How’s that, hey?!!!

                    Like

                    Reply

Express Yourself

