If We Were Having Coffee on new Year’s Eve, 2016!!! (And there was much rejoicing!)

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and grab a large mug of very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other warm beverage.  Actually, we’ll pour them into travel containers.  Don’t take off your coat or mittens!  We are heading to the beach.

If you didn’t recognize the picture at the top or catch the clue in the last sentence, I am down on Cape Cod, which is good because I missed the eight inches of snow I hear we received in New Hampshire.  I’ve been down here since Tuesday night and will return tomorrow morning.  It’s been a nice little break!

That is what this week has been about, taking a break.  I’ve relaxed and have done a lot of nothing, meaning walks in the woods and the beach, playing with the dogs, editing my short story book, writing a 7000 word story on Thursday and posting it on Friday (yes, it’s long for a blog post!), and other such things.  You can read about them on one of this week’s Weekly Smile posts.

One of the posts?  Yes!  Since this is week 52, that is one year into it, I’ve decided to do a post every day this week.  Maybe ;)  We’ll see on Monday and Tuesday how I feel.  But I do have at least two more planned.

Which brings us to blogging.  I did a small slowdown on the blog, at least as far as reading, but noticed everyone else had as well, so I didn’t get very far behind.  I did end up posting quite a bit.  I started Sunday with a Weekly Smile Reminder, which was more of a reflection on the season.   I skipped Monday.  On Tuesday I posted a poem and a “meme” about not sitting in front of the computer.  I posted a Weekly Smile on Wednesday.  I then posted a Weekly Smile on Thursday, as well as a Friday Fictioneer 100 word story.  On Friday I, surprise surprise, posted a Weekly Smile and then the 7000 word story I was talking about earlier.

As I said, as soon as I click “Publish”, I’m heading to the beach for a long walk.  It’s a little less windy today than yesterday, but also a little chillier.  It should still be nice.  And I’ll do my long walk in the woods this afternoon and I might get out on the kayak one last time this year – if there is little wind, why not?  So I have a busy day planned, or possibly not planned.  (Here is a picture from yesterday – I love patterns in the sand).

mayflower-beach

I’m glad you could join me for this nice walk!  Thanks for stopping by!  If you have a coffee share, I’ll try to stop by for another chat.

I hope you have a great weekend and a great week ahead!  Happy New Year!

he Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

38 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on new Year’s Eve, 2016!!! (And there was much rejoicing!)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks,it was very relaxing. I’m just not ready to get back to reality ;) I love the patterns in the sand and how every time I walk on the low tide beach they are completely different.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          It is nice to get away from it all, even though I have to bring it all with me (I work from there, etc.) It’s nice even when it is cold – the next time I visit I’ll have to dig the cottage out from a very large snowfall!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  It’s been warm and the snow is melting fast – I got down here last night, did a few minutes of shoveling but not much. Most of it is gone this morning, starting from the places I shoveled.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply
  1. Pamela Morse

    The sand picture is great, Trent. Where do you go on Cape Cod? 7000 words in a day is seriously impressive. I plan to write some fiction this year, inspired by the likes of you. Wish you the best, healthiest year. Thanks for the coffee.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My cottage is in Dennis Port, almost right on Swan Pond. This was taken at Mayflower Beach, which is at the other end of the town of Dennis. I think I’ve said before that I write fast. I don’t have many 7000 word days, but they happen.
      Thanks for stopping by – I hope you have a great 2017!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! The beach turned out to be windier than expected, but it was still a very nice walk. Happy New Year! I’m sure I’ll be by to visit soon as I’m about to start doing the Coffee Share rounds.

      Like

      Reply
    2. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m not sure my comment went through on your site. Anyway, here is what I said, just in case – I like your wishes for 2017 and really hope they do come true! I think there are more people who feel this way, but the people who hate and want to build walls around themselves are much more vocal. May the message of peace mutual respect for all people be heard loud and clear this coming year.
      Happy New year!

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

