If We Were Having Coffee on the 24th of December!

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice mug of super strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other morning appropriate beverage.  It is a relatively nice morning in that it didn’t get below freezing last night (!!), though it will never get very warm and it is supposed to rain today.  Anyway, we can take our beverages and sit in front of the Christmas tree as we chat.  This is the third year with an artificial tree, but I think I’m beginning to figure out how to decorate it so it looks nice.  Notice the kitty angels up top?

Kitty Angels

That is Bartelby and Claudius.  We volunteered a couple of rooms to a theater company years ago during the holidays.  One of the guests got us these decorations – they look a lot like the cats we had at that time.

Claudius (Used on the back of the cards)

Claudius (Used on the back of the cards)

Bartelby (used on the back of the cards)

Bartelby (used on the back of the cards)

If You haven’t guessed, we are up in New Hampshire this fine morning.  I’ll head down to the Cape (as we call Cape Cod) later in the week.

This last week has been interesting.  The work week was pretty busy with an average of five meetings a day, not including Friday.  A lot of emails, etc.  I’ll have a few days off, so that will be good.

A lot going on around the house.  I put up a post about my heat.  I’ll send you there to read it while I refill the coffee/tea/cocoa/whatever.

Back?

Anyway, last week I promised to post pictures of Grace/Gracie/Princess Grace.  So here is the first photo, done with my phone.

gracie-first-phone-photo

And here is the first photo taken with a camera:

Gracie

I spent some time on the blogs and read quite a bit.  I also posted more than usual, which is strange since I spent less time writing.  One thing you need to be aware of – I write very, very fast.  For instance, for the Friday Fictioneer, I typically look at the photo, open a page and write the story in my mind while typing it out.  From idea to post for the 100 word story is maybe 5 minutes.  A 1000 word story is usually about a three quarters of an hour from first idea until it is posted, give or take.  If I really wanted to I can often write several stories every day.  I’m not saying they’ll be good ;)  I actually sometimes hold myself back from posting more.

With that preamble, I started the week with a reminder for my Weekly Smile.  Later in the day on Sunday I posted a video with a very dark version of Jingle Bells.  On Monday I finally posted pictures of my hike last month.  I have talked about it quite a bit and had a few photos up, but now I put up a bunch.  On Tuesday I posted a poem about keeping compassion alive all year.  It was originally written f for Solveig to use in her Advent Calendar, but I liked it a lot and wanted it on my blog. On Wednesday I wrote my Weekly Smile post followed by a second one about the return of heat!  On Thursday I wrote a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers.  On Friday I posted about a community story.  Take a look at the post and participate if you can!  (Over the week I also wrote a few episodes for the story).  Later on Friday I posted a second Friday Fictioneers story.

Anyway, today is Christmas Eve, for those who celebrate such things.  I don’t have a lot planned.  I’ll be eating out (traditional Christmas Chinese food).  I ate out with friends last night and went out two other times in the last week, I need to start eating home cooked meals again soon!

I don’t mean to rush you out of the door, but I’m sure you have a lot to do today.  I know this conversation has been all about me, but if you have a coffee share, I’ll stop by and we can talk about you!

I hope you have a great weekend and a great week ahead!  Happy holidays!

he Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

— — — — — —

Oh, and for some holiday cheer.  OK, more like holiday depression ;) here is the dark Jingle Bells i talked about.  It was done with an analog modular synthesizer.

(Click here if you don’t see the video below)

36 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 24th of December!

  1. prior..

    Hi t – hopefully I am not too late to have coffee alongside the tree! I mean – it is usually up til after New Year’s right?
    So tea for me….
    And I would tell you how cute your cat
    Ornaments are-
    I would say I remember the other holiday cards with cat on back-
    And I would say – good idea for Christmas Chinese food….
    Sounds yum!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The Christmas Chinese food was yummy. The tree will be up for a few more days, but I’m on Cape Cod now so if you visit you won’t see it ;) I do love the cat ornaments – they always have a special place on the tree :). This year someone gave us a boxer (the dog) ornament so that will have to go up for all of our dogs past and present. I hope you enjoyed your tea!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Rowena

    Merry Christmas, Trent. The cat photos are incredibly cute.
    I can also write incredibly quickly and often which I call creative overload. I have to be quite careful to achieve some kind of balance or I’m unable to manage tasks requiring scheduling and the admin part of the brain.
    My cousin did a theatrical prop making course and made fake hands etc He stuck a hand at the top of his parents’ Christmas tree. Stay tuned. I’ll be posting a photo.
    Only a few days left now to sort out my goals and resolutions for the New Year. Some have already been made on my behalf thanks to the kids!
    xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Merry Christmas, Rowena. I hope you had a great day. The hand on top of the tree sounds interesting – I hope it wasn’t too gruesome…
      I usually don’t do resolutions but have some goals. More a time of reflection… I’m not surprised your kids set some resolutions for you, that’s what kids do ;)
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Angelica Kidd

    Merry Christmas to you, Trent! Your kitty is too adorable! 😍 I’m also the same way when it comes to typing, the ideas come faster than my fingers can move sometimes but then I just end up with a jumbled mess. 😂 I hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow and stay warm!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. bettylouise31

    i t takes me fo rever to write anything. My thoughts move faster than my fingers1 I like the Christmas angels and Kato says hi to Princess Grace. He got cards from two of his Cat Channel friends. That was really sonething to back to a very cold house. I am glad you were able to heat thouse up without broken pipes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My mind also goes quicker than my fingers and I do make plenty of typos when I’m writing like that. But over all, the words just flow.
      We have three cats now – Albert is in my lap as I’m typing, which does slow me down ;)

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  5. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Good morning. I’m sorry I’m running late-confession – I slept in! Darn, my cocoa’s probably cold, but hopefully you can warm it while I start the Tamale meet cooking for tomorrow’s Christmas chaos.
    How awesome it would be to write so freely. It’s like brain and heart surgery every time I try to put my thoughts and feelings in writing. Maybe it will get better with time and practice.
    Smile and love with thankfulness over these special days.
    Thank you hugs! Enjoy a beautiful day! : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s never too late and I can make some fresh hot cocoa without a problem. Tamales at Christmas sounds great! I have another blogging friend who has that as a tradition. She’s of Mexican heritage and so had it passed down to her by her family.
      I don’t know why, but words often just flow and the stories write themselves.
      I hope you have a great day day and weekend! Hugs in return. Wishing you and your family a joyous Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. fullgrownnerd

    Merry, merry Christmas to a wonderful blog friend!!! I hope you have an amazing holiday! :D

    (We’ll be having Chinese food for our Christmas celebration with Grace next week…it is our way to have Chinese take out whenever we do our “big” Christmas celebration.) :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Merry Christmas! Chinese food has been a big tradition even before the movie a Christmas Story came out… I’ll be stopping by the “Nerd’s home” in a bit to visit. Thanks for stopping by here!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. pamelascanepa

    I love the kitty angels! Lovely pictures! I am imagining the cooler climate in New Hampshire, as I am grounded her in Jacksonville, Fl, where it’s 65 degrees currently, and our only worry is fog. Merry Christmas, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! the kitty angels are cute. This has been a cold December, and I know it has been cool all up and down the East Coast – I’m sure you had a little colder weather than usual in Florida. Having a night that stays above freezing is pretty good. Even though it isn’t very far south of us, it is much warmer on Cape Cod where we have a 4-season cottage. It’ll be nice to get away from the ice and snow!
      Have a great Christmas!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Pamela Morse

    Happy holiday Trent. Chinese on Christmas might be a thing for us too if PF Chang’s stays open we might do take out. Dark Jingle Bells is heavy, dude. Makes me feel cold and isolated in a snow storm. Good thing I am not Santa..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Chinese on Christmas or New years is funny around here – it is so easy to get a seat but take out is nearly impossible, you have to call days in advance. I’m sorry to say, but I laughed pretty much the entire time I was recording dark Jingle Bells ;) Yes, Santa might not be happy with it.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

