Looking for Writers!

Small pine

Last week I posted a story for Friday Fictioneers, Henry.  Frankie Perussault read it and thought it would make a good “audience participation” story.  Hmm, that’s not the correct thing to call it….  How about communal story?

Have you ever sat down with a group of people and written a story?  When I was in college we would sometimes do it like this:  At a party a group of us would sit down someplace a little quieter.  If it was an outside party, around the campfire was always a favorite.  One person would start a story.  After a while they’d pass it off to the next.  Most of the times I did it the order would be predetermined, usually by the order we were seated, but there were other ways.  The last person could pick someone, or it could be a roll of the dice or other random method.  Anyway, so another person would continue.  And so on, each person adding their personal touch.

Most of the times I’ve participated you’d have a few interesting interactions.  Some people would have a long range story in mind and always try to push it in that direction.  With a couple of people each fighting for their story, well, it could be not what any one expected….  Other people would purposefully throw curve balls.  In fact, it seemed that most of the people would do that, lead the story in one direction and then put in a surprise, sometimes a seemingly unsolvable situation (“The wings ripped off of the aircraft as it plunged straight down to certain destruction!  Next,….”).

A story could end up very cool or very stupid depending on who was participating, how many people were purposefully trying to disrupt the flow and how much alcohol was consumed.

Some people actually do this where they want to build a good story and actually avoid alcohol when writing!  Really.  This more serious type of story (serious but still fun) is what Frankie had in mind.  She wrote another installment and so I did a third.  Since it was hidden in the comments of the story Henry, Frankie thought it might be good to get it out into the open.  She started a new blog with the story and a way to add new chapters.  And so it continues to grow.

This is an open invitation

Go check out the story so far (read from bottom to top).  Come up with a good next installment and then go to the contact page and submit it!  Try to keep each section below 250 words, closer to 100 if possible.  If it is longer, well, most likely not an issue!

Some details – Friday Fictioneers is run by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who also provided the prompt for the original story, Henry (here is her post with it).  Frankie reached out to Rochelle and asked if we could use the image for this little project.  Rochelle agreed as long as we give her credit for the photo.  So we are using Rochelle’s photo (Thanks!)  (The photo at the top of this post is mine).

Frankie Perussault lives in France and currently has a French language online novel.  She does have an English language blog, but hasn’t been keeping it up to date.  So for her recent English language writing, I guess you’ll have to look at this shared story!

What are you waiting for?  Go check out “A Snow Storm and a Wedding“!

14 thoughts on “Looking for Writers!

  1. prior..

    This is such a great idea – I will have to pass (and likely I am too late anyway) but how fun this is.
    I love this in real life and we call it the “perpetual story” – my niece and I went back and forth on our long D.C. drive earlier this month – and we had a turtle theme emerge. It was such a bonding event and something we will cherish!
    I also recorded about thirty minutes of it….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      You are never to late for the “perpetual story” (good title). I don’t think anybody else has participated yet :( I will do more posts on it later to try to get more people involved… But as with the word “perpetual”, this should go on for a long, long time….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 24th of December! | Trent's World (the Blog)

      1. trentpmcd Post author

        Just about to tell you when I saw this. Currently I’m letting Frankie do the heavy lifting of going through the submissions and adding them in so i don’t know what the turnaround time is for it, but I’m looking forward to seeing what you added!

        Like

        Reply
  3. Corina

    I too have done this and I used to have my students do it too. Today is a travel day of I can get myself together so I won’t get to look at it till late tonight or tomorrow but I’ll take a look.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. sherloque

        By the way I’ve sent a couple of messages to your gmail address. It might have been sorted as spam. And by the way I hate Christmas and New Year and these terribly hyper festivities! (if I may say so…)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I don’t keep close tabs on that gmail account because so much comes in. I’ll send you a note from the one I use (I don’t want to post it here) so you can actually reach me.
          I can understand about the holidays. I know a lot of people who feel the same. I take them pretty low key and try to enjoy them as much as possible, but don’t really participate the way most people do.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Express Yourself

