The Weekly Smile 51 Part II #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Earlier today I posted a Weekly Smile that might be called a “Weakly Smile” as I said there wasn’t a lot to smile about.  One non-smile that I didn’t mention was my house’s heat.  Yesterday morning it was -2 F (almost-20 C) outside when I got up.  The house was very cold inside too.  Frigid.  I looked at the thermostat and saw no numbers.  Not a good sign, but i had to go to work.  When I returned home from work it was still very cold inside.  I discovered that the thermostat’s batteries were dead.  I replaced them and it was 47 F/ 8 C.  Yes, that is inside the house.  And two space heaters had been on most of the day.  I have no idea how long the heat had been off.  I guess for a few days.  I turned on all the space heaters I could dig up.  The house very, very slowly warmed.   Much too slowly.

One thing you have to know is that I have forced hot water heat.  So I went around testing registers and touching pipes where I could.  At first only found ice cold ones.  The furnace was working.  OK, I soon found some hot registers, about a third of the total.  I checked pipes in the basement again and found that of the two return pipes, one was cold.  Obviously that pipe had frozen.  The heat must have been off for a very long time for the pipes to freeze!

The heat has been cracked up all day.  I’ve had space heaters pointed at the registers to warm them up.  I put some in the crawl space to warm it up.  All morning and early afternoon the pipes were still cold.  But that recently changed.  Finally, about 23 hours after I discovered the problem, I have heat!  All of the registers are now hot.  I’ll let the house warm up to much warmer than normal temps to be sure every corner of the house is warm then I’ll let the temps drop to normal.

So my BIG smile for the day is a warm house!  Now check out my earlier smile too!

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

17 thoughts on “The Weekly Smile 51 Part II #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 24th of December! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: One fine day – Ladyleemanila

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We had a very warm autumn up until December, and then it went the other way and it has been much colder than usual. We get cold like this in in the middle of winter so I know how to deal with it, but… Anyway, thanks! It’s nice to not have to worry about the house any more! (At least not the heat in the house).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! The upstairs was actually pretty warm, but it was noticeably chilly… This is spoken by someone who usually keeps his house just a few degrees above absolute zero and often walks in well below freezing temps without a jacket ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I don’t use air conditioner except at the cottage on Cape Cod, but I would rather have the cold than the heat. Actually, I’d rather it be late September/early October all year! I have a philosophy that the closer you live at the outside temperature, the easier it is to adjust when you go out into it. The times I get really hot are when I leave a place that has the air conditioning set at 65 and the times I get cold are when i leave places that have the heat set at 75.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    *Giggle* … I’m so sorry to chuckle in your misery, but to hear you tell the story is quite humorous. (Perhaps I also have a slightly dark sense of humor). I am happy you are warming up toasty and smiling now. Have an enjoyable evening with a renewed appreciation for warmth. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yeah, yeah, smiling at other’s misfortunes ;) The problem wasn’t being cold as much as the idea of the heater pipes under the house being frozen. I love to walk, but I don’t want my car to be broken type of thing…. So yes, nice and warm and enjoying life. Have a great evening!

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply
  4. Pingback: The Weekly Smile 51 #weeklysmile | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

