I Want Your Smiles! Reminder Week 50! #weeklysmile

 

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I was born on Halloween.  I don’t know if the date of our birth helps shape our personality, but I do have a very dark sense of humor.  Yes, I always come across as light and all, but I have that dark side, particularly where music is concerned.

This morning I decided to record a version of Jingle Bells in a very minor key.  I incorporated Chopin’s funeral march into it for good measure.  So I’ve been trying to get these very dark synth sounds to give it a chilling effect, including those deep basses that sound more like seismic events than music, you know, like only a synthesizer can create (Back in the early days people used to destroy recording equipment because it wasn’t built to handle that type of bass….)  So the whole house was shaking with this dark, morbid “holiday” music.  Anyway, after a while I decided to stop – I didn’t plan it well enough so I most likely won’t post it.  I left my “studio” I went and watched the people out on the street.

Did I ever mention that I live next door to a church?  No?  Anyway, I wonder what all of those good church-goers thought about the loud, dark, nasty take on a usually cheerful Christmas song?  At least I didn’t pick a religious song to mangle!  Anyway, the Halloween side sometimes comes out on Christmas (sounds like a good idea for a movie.  Nah ;) )

(Edit – I later decided to post the music.  See here)

Anyway, I chuckled to myself over my dark music.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

6 thoughts on “I Want Your Smiles! Reminder Week 50! #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 24th of December! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Corina

    I had to laugh at your observation that your birthday has something to do with your dark humor. My ex used to say that, because I was born on Christmas, I thought I was Santa Claus and gave everyone gifts year round!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Dark Jingle Bells | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

