Dark Jingle Bells

Earlier today I posted about recording a dark version of Jungle Bells.  I said I wasn’t going to post it, but I changed my mind :)  I’ve had zero views in about 3 hours, so I think it’s safe that nobody is going to see it anyway, so this isn’t a big risk…  The big bass sound I talked about in the first post is hard to hear in the video – making it into a video takes out all of the heft.  But it should stillbe dark.  and i hope fun!

Click here if you don’t see the video
https://youtu.be/cwdr7IRg4Ys

I hope you enjoyed that bit of analog modular synthesizer madness….

 

12 thoughts on “Dark Jingle Bells

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 24th of December! | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. sherloque

      Same here. I really enjoyed it. It made me think of the old festivities around the winter solstice. In the dawn of humanity they were scared that the light would not return. It does feel that way still and your music fits that mood.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. trentpmcd Post author

        Thanks! Actually, I have to say that my favorite Christmas music is usually in a minor key, or more often closer to the old Aeolian or Dorian modes. There is that twinge of darkness yet also of celebration. Where I tried to make this a little darker was the slow tempo and hesitant voice. But perhaps it does fit in that solstice celebration.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Pingback: I Want Your Smiles! Reminder Week 50! #weeklysmile | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! With hope like that, who needs despair ;) Since I played the whole thing with a smile, sometimes near laughter, I guess it shows through and you can’t take the darkness too seriously.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

