If We Were Having Coffee on the 17th of December!

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in, brush the snow off.  You might leave your hat and gloves on because i keep the house pretty cool to conserve energy (because I’m cheap ;) )  Let me get you a large mug of very strong French Roast or a steaming cuppa tea.  I even have hot cocoa if you need it.  And you will need something warm!  It is currently about 15 F/ – 8 C out.  This is actually warmer than it was all day yesterday!  It was -4 F/ -20 C out yesterday morning and never got above 15 F.  Can you say cold?  I thought you could.  It is snowing today, perhaps as much as 7 inches/ 18 cm.  On Monday we had 4 or 5 inches (12 cm), but a lot of it is gone.  Or was until it picked up again.  And tomorrow it is going to be about 55 F/13 C and raining!  Yeah an almost 60 F/ 35 C raise in temperature in two days!

If you haven’t guessed from the picture of the Moog synthesizer at the top or the talk about the weather, I’m in lovely New Hampshire today.  It is a very beautiful state, so lovely does fit, but when the temps dip below 0 F I would rather be elsewhere!  Funny thing, though.  Yesterday, after the wind died down, I walk out when it was10 F/ -12 C without a jacket and it felt warm!  The sun was shining, there was no breeze and my wool sweater (and of course turtleneck ;) ) keep me nice and toasty.  It was the wind that made it so cold.  And it was very, very windy at the coldest part of the day.  Yesterday, New Hampshire saw the second coldest temperatures in the world!  And if you count in the sustained wind speeds of over 75 mph/ 120 kph (gusts well over 100 mph/160 mph), you can imagine that the wind chill was the coldest on the planet at the time.  This was on Mt. Washington.  Here is a photo I took of Mt. Washington about a month ago from the top of Mt. Lafayette.  It doesn’t look big here, but believe me, it is a huge mountain with a vertical rise from base to top of over 4000 ft/1200 m.  (It’s the mountain in the distance.)

Mt. Washington

Thinking of that, I hope to post pictures from my hike last month on Monday!

This week was very busy.  Let me just say that “things were broken”.  I worked an 11 hour day and a couple of 10 hour days.  Doesn’t seem like much, but they were long….  And there is still a huge amount of work to do.  I actually do like what I do and was only a little stressed, but wow, I hope I don’t have many more weeks like this!

In my personal life there wasn’t much happening.  This was due to the fact that I’ve been spending all of my time at work ;)  But I’ve been trying to relax and stuff like that.  Oh, there is Princess Grace, our new cat.  You can read about her on my Smile this week.  I will post pictures soon!  One piece of celebration, yesterday was the local Lions Club Christmas/Holiday party.  So a nice time.

Blogging seemed slow.  Actually, it was very odd up and down, but over all down from last week.  I also noticed some odd things happening and so knew a change was coming.  And the change did come.  I hate the change.  It already looked like this on my phone, which is fine, but it doesn’t work on a computer screen!  Anyway, the less said about the change the better.

I tried to post every day this week.  It wasn’t easy with my schedule, but I made it.  OK, so there were two reblogs, but…  I started Sunday with my typical Smile Reminder.  On Monday I did a reblog about those things that we need with every cell in our bodies just two minutes after learning they exist (This was posted exactly three years previously and was one of my very first posts!)  On Tuesday I posted a poem about the Self-Appointed Expert.  I wasn’t talk about anybody in politics,  but someone pointed out that it fits…  Wednesday was my Weekly Smile!!  On Thursday I posted a 100 word Friday Fictioneer story.  On Friday a story I wrote based on my childhood was posted by Solveig as part of her advent calendar (check out all of them!), so I reblogged it.  Yes, two reblogs and a 100 word story that I wrote and posted in less than 10 minutes: I posted every day but put very little work into it!  Not that I had time….

Today is going to be spent relaxing/recuperating form the week.  I also have to do some winterizing (it usually doesn’t get cold like this until January, and I’m a little behind, so…).  I need to finish going over hike photos and I hope to spend some time playing/recording music.  And then there will be snow removal and walking dogs and taking care of all of the cats (Albert is in my lap now), including Gracie.  So a busy but relaxing day.

Anyway, it has been all about me, and mostly complaining.  Well, I don’t really mind the snow and cold much, even if it is costly and messy…  I’d like to know what you’ve been up to this week.  Any holiday plans?  If you host a coffee share, I’ll try to stop by and enjoy a cup and let it be all about you !

I don’t mean to rush you out!   Take care and have a great week!  We’ll talk again soon….

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

26 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 17th of December!

  1. amiewrites74

    My husband was winterizing our house this weekend too. These cold temps are brutal. He tends to turn the heat up and I tend to sneak it back down and run the space heaters. We play that game all winter. Stay warm!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Corina

    We’ve been in the teens and have had more snow. In fact, it is snowing lightly right now. We’ll remain like this until Monday and then we should warm up enough for the snow and ice to begin the melting process. With luck, the roads will be clear enough for me to drive to Seattle on Friday for Christmas at my son’s. Crossing my fingers because if the roads are not ice free/snow free, I won’t go. I stay home and everyone will be gone. I don’t look forward to Christmas/my birthday alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do hope the roads are clear! Home alone doesn’t sound fun. Tomorrow is going to be warm, which will help the roads, but it’s going to get cold again. Weird winter,and it’s just begun!

      I hope you do have a good week and can travel!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Rhio

    You’d like my new place, it’s super energy efficient, and super insulated, so it’s always warm in here. I haven’t had to put my heating on once yet since I moved in, in September and it’s been minus numbers a fair few times.
    I’m so cheap so you probably understand how happy that makes me. I’ve saved about £100 on energy since I moved in.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I live in a big, old, drafty house that is impossible to heat. I do spend a lot of time winterizing it, but it is ultra inefficient. Some day I’ll downsize and really look into something much more efficient! It sounds like you found a great place for so many reasons.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Shilpa Garg

    Brrrrr….. it is cold at your place and I certainly need that strong French Roast! It’s not so cold here in Kuwait city but as you mentioned it’s the strong winds that make it tough. Would love to see your Princess Grace. You are putting in long hours at work!! Hope you have a less grueling time at work in the week ahead. Cheers :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think the long hours at work are over. I will be taking a week off at the end of the year and relaxing quite a bit. I’ll try to post some pictures of Princess Grace next week on the coffee share. I took a few with my phone, but none of them are very good.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Robin

    Thanks so much for the tea! It was cold here, too, but is warming up (and raining) today. The wind really does make it feel so much colder. I miss the snows of NE Ohio (where I used to live), but I have the beach to make up for it. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I grew up in northern Ohio, but we were too far west on the lake to get that heavy lake effect snow you got in northeast Ohio. Here, in NH,though, we get quiet a bit. Right now it’s in the 20s and we’ll see the rain tomorrow. I have both the snow and the beach – I’m going to spend most of the week between Christmas and New Year’s at our cottage on Cape Cod.

      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Serendipitous Web Life. : )

    Good morning. My appreciation for the cocoa, I hope it’s okay I added a bit of honey. Delicious, thank you! I also snuck behind your back and turned the heat up just a tiny bit for our chat. ; )
    I rarely shovel anymore, but I love it more than running on the dreadful treadmill, and the cold air is refreshing. Consider it good exercise and healthy. Enjoy a cozy, wool sweater day. : )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There is a lot of honey in the house, so no problem. I just turned the heat back down but turned on a space heater to warm the room. I do consider shoveling, and even snow blowing, a good form of exercise and I do find the cold air refreshing. i mostly don’t like it if i have to be somewhere at a certain time or if it starts to rain while I’m shoveling (a lot of coastal storms/Nor’ Easters pull the warmer air up behind them).
      I hope you have a good weekend and week ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Pamela Morse

    I thought snow shoveling was so much fun when I was about 5 years old in Pittsburgh. I had my own mini shovel, and always wondered why my dad grumbled so much about it…now I get it. ..too much work…never know how much you will have to do….At least you have the beauty of the snow that goes well with the season. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I actually enjoy getting out into the snow as long as I don’t have any pressure. If I have to be somewhere at a specific time (like work) I hate shoveling…. I still complain about it, of course, even when I’m secretly enjoying myself ;)

      Like

      Reply
  8. Kathleen Howell

    Thanks for the coffee! We’ve had single digits here in Metro Detroit this past week and my phone tells me it’s 25 F right now. Maybe I’ll put on shorts! :-)

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A friend of mine from the Cleveland area (I grew up a bit west of Cleveland on “The Lake”) posted a picture on Facebook of him going out to the grill on his porch wearing shorts. Yep, that’s about right… Thanks for stopping by and stay warm!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. thecoffeebeanbrain

    I’m not a fan of the cold but I had a lovely ime in Chicago one winter in 2012, although I did not experience the kind of temps you are describing here. We’ve been having rainy afternoons and nights mostly, nothing much, just a good excuse to stay in and get warm. :) Thanks for hot chocolate!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I actually don’t mind the cold itself, though I do grow tired of it, but it is all of the other inconveniences that it brings. Chicago can get brutally cold – I’m sure it was this week as the whole northern half of the country experienced it (I just looked it up – Chicago is forecasting -13 F this week coming up!). Any excuse to stay in and get warm is a good excuse ;) Thanks for stopping by! Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  10. pamelascanepa

    Brrrr. Sounds chilly! Good thing you have the wool sweater. I haven’t in cold climates since I was just a kid. By the way, I feel the need to recuperate from my week as well, yet that won’t happen this weekend. :p Busy times. I shouldn’t complain, though! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is cold, but, in my opinion, that’s to be expected in NH! Sorry you have a need to recuperate and sorrier still that you won’t get a chance this weekend. I hope next week is better! have a nice weekend and a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  11. fullgrownnerd

    We have also had magical and wacky weather! Yesterday had a low in the teens and never got above freezing (which is quite cold for my part of the world), but tomorrow will be almost 70…and then we’re supposed to have freezing rain and a high in the 30s on Monday. I can be happy with just about any sort of weather, but some consistency would be nice. ;) Stay warm and enjoy that snow, you lucky duck! :) (I’m also wondering what temperature you keep it inside the house…we keep our home at 68, and most people think we’re crazy for not going warmer. It just costs so bloomin’ much to heat, and it’s not like we’re going to freeze to death at 68 degrees.) ;)

    I hope you have lots of resting time this weekend to recover from the crazy work week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I just spent an hour moving snow – the storm isn’t even close to being done, but I like to get out and play in the snow ;) Yeah, your weather does sound as crazy as ours. I have the house go down to 61 at night and have the warmest part of the evening at 65. I always have a turtleneck and wool sweater on, so I am never cold. We have a huge old house that is ultra inefficient so I still spend more a year on heat than all other utilities combined, and not by a small margin! Almost double. (all others = TV, internet, landline phone, cell phones, electric, water and sewer).
      have a great weekend and a nice wek ahead!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Express Yourself

