Henry

horses-in-snow

PHOTO PROMPT © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Nope, we didn’t expect nottin’.  The cold roared in and the snow with it.  Couldn’t see worth a darn, but I knew it’d be deadly to hunker down.

So there I was, fightin’ the storm and Henry.  He always was stubborn and wouldn’t go where I was leadin’.  Finally I dropped the reins.

“Get us home, Henry,” I said.

Ole Henry shook his head, felt the freedom and turned in what I knew was the wrong direction.

I was accepting my fate when suddenly I could make out the farm through the lashing snow.

Shoulda figured Henry wouldn’t miss dinner.

— — — —

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  Read more or join in by following the InLinkz “linky“.

43 thoughts on “Henry

  1. Pingback: Looking for Writers! | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I tried to build the tension so the “punchline” would be more effective, but once people have read the story they don’t really think about that angle. Thanks for noticing!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 17th of December! | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. I usually have a great sense of direction, but have had those “Doesn’t this look familiar?” moments ;) It is always best to trust animal instinct.

      Like

      Reply
  3. sherloque

    my follow up… “When I got out this morning to give some hay to my horses I noted there was one extra one, and blow me, I recognized Henry, old Trent’s horse with his gear all askew still on him. Will have to hear what happened last night. Trent had gone to a wedding if I recall what he’d said at the pub last week.” … anyone else for a follow up ???

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. sherloque

        No, come on, I often do that with my grand-kids. One of us starts a story and drops out all of a sudden saying “your turn”… in the end it makes fabulous stories. So,we could do this here. You started a great plot. Let’s see where it can go! Anyone can join. So… Trent returned late from a wedding fighting a snow storm riding home… and then… and who is Trent anyway… an old farmer with a horse called Henry… come on! any ideas???

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
          1. sherloque

            Not a “game”. You’re quite talented apparently. You could write some music on this story. Maybe do a short video… So… here’s more of my follow-up.
            “At the wedding that afternoon Trent had got into a brawl. Bruised all over, hurt and wobbling he had managed to get onto his horse and get back home. His mate Doug had been hurt more than him but the groom, Doug’s son, was alright. During the church ceremony when the parson pronounced the phrase about if anyone is against this marriage let them come up and say so now, a stout young fellow came up the aisle in long strides and grabbed the bride by the arm. “She’s mine!” he said in a loud voice.

            Mary lived on the next farm down from Trent, on the north side of the creek. It had rained a lot before the snow storm and she wondered if she could drive across the creek that morning.”

            NEXT ????

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I say “game” because we used to do it as a party game. Depending on the people and the amount of alcohol consumed it could be very good, funny, or scary ;) I’ll try to add an installment later – it’s a very busy work day.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
            2. trentpmcd Post author

              I opened an eye and immediately closed it in the glare of the sun. My head was throbbin’ and my thoughts fuzzy. The weddin’ and fightin’ came back. Figured must ‘ave been the Broken Shed gang. They’d been getting’ bolder by the day, but to kidnap a respectable girl at her own weddin’! ‘Course Becky looked happy to go wit’ them. Don’t blame ‘er as Mike was as useless a cuss as they come. But Doug is my business partner, so I had to defend my own. Not that it did much good.
              I opened my eye just slit and rolled outa bed. My wet clothes were bunched on the floor. I musta been outa it last night. But good ole Henry got me home in one piece.
              I went out into the hall, headin’ to the bath to freshen up when I noticed I wasn’t in my own home. Where was I? I felt the eyes on my back and turned. Mary from down yonder, over the hill and across the creek was blushing as she watched me from under her eye lashes. I looked down and noticed I wasn’t wearin’ a stitch of clothing.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
              1. sherloque

                ah ha !!!! It seems I hadn’t been notified about this “comment” :-) I’d like to start a new WordPress blog under the title: “When Snow Is Falling” inviting anybody to add their bits on the story. Would you agree on that?

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
                    1. trentpmcd Post author

                      Thanks for setting it up! I’ll look at it more later. Unfortunately we can’t use that photo – it was put up only to be used as a prompt for the “Friday Fictioneer” stories.

                      Like

Express Yourself

