Weekly Smile 50 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Wow, week 50 already!  How time flies.

A week and a half  ago or so a friend passed away.  I, know, not a way to start a smile.  Don’t worry,the smile is coming.  One thing she left was a cat.  The cat had no place to go, so, we have a new cat.  She came to stay last Saturday.

Grace Kelly, who I call Princes Grace or Gracie depending on mood and time of day (“Say goodnight, Gracie.” – yes, I’m too young to remember that line so I’m sure the millennials are scratching their heads over it).  Gracie is a beautiful, long hair petite cat.  i think she is calico, but I’m not great with those things.  She is very sweet and attention starved.  Currently she is semi-sequestered from the other furry family members, but they can all see each other.  She has everything she needs and can escape (she did once) but for now is happy staying away from the dogs.  As soon as she seems OK with the other cats, and vice-versa, we’ll let her have free reign of the house.  And I’m sure Princess Grace will reign, unless Prince Albert has a say in it ;)  Of course Joséphine tells us that an Empress is higher up the scale than Prince (or King even) or Princess and that she will rule.  She is tiny and so has a Napoleon Complex (pun very much intended).  So far the cat royalty integration is going smoothly if somewhat slowly (a bit of hissing still).

Don’t worry, pictures will come soon!

Taking in a poor orphaned cat is my smile for the week.  And I’m sure she will provide many smiles to come.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

25 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 50 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Ice — #WeeklySmile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  2. Pingback: Weekly Smile #50 | Ute smile

  3. Pingback: Dinner for 6 ÷ 2(1+2) = ?   Weekly Smile – Serendipitous Web Life

  4. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 17th of December! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  5. Pingback: Salmon, Sekt, Surprises – Three Things Thursday – Ladyleemanila

  6. DailyMusings

    I am so sorry about your friend Trent, but you are such a good friend to give Princess Grace a loving home. A reminder for you as you said of your friend which I would think would also bring a smile (through tears maybe) but a smile .

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  7. Miriam

    I’m so sorry about your friend Trent but glad that a feline princes has made you smile .
    Smiles for me this week came from simple pleasures, my dog doing tricks, my lamb causing havoc but still making me smile. Have a good week Trent 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  8. Corina

    My daughter brought her cats to my house yesterday while she was having work done at her house. We locked them up in the bathroom. When she came to get them they had knocked everything into the sink. Toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, soap, hair clips, towels, you name it and it was in the sink. We laughed at the “cat damage” which looked a bit like an earthquake had hit!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. nonsmokingladybug

        I have two feral cats who live in my workshop. They showed up one winter and decided to stay. They even tolerate the dogs and surprisingly, leave my furniture and the fabric alone.

        I call them Emperors, because somehow they rule now -not sure how it happened. :-)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Cats always end up ruling ;) Not a lot people or dogs can do about it. Our cats and dogs get along for the most part, but the dogs often don’t understand why the cats don’t want to play rough the way they do….

          Like

          Reply
  9. sherloque

    So your cat is called Joséphine with an acute accent on the e …ha ha!!! :-) They’ve just named a modern looking new square in my town by the name of her husband (I don’t like the guy!). No, but that’s not what made me smile. I’m not a furry animal fan either, my apologies to Joséphine. What prompted a happy smile on my face this Wednesday is the lunch I had with my 14 year old pretty granddaughter at a newly opened Vietnamese restaurant. The handsome young Vietnamese at the counter said he was from Hue and gave a Xmas lolly to my girl…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Actually, Joséphine was a half joke, we usually just use Josephine or plain Josie. I just used the French spelling to make her sound more like the “empresses”. I’ll go along with Beethoven and say I totally stopped liking the guy when he called himself “Emperor” ;)
      Your smile is a good one. Friendly flirting is always smile worthy.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  10. Deborah the Closet Monster

    Aw. I’m sorry about your friend, but so glad Princess Grace has a new loving home!

    What’s made me smile? Last night, I was swinging Littler up and down by his feet. As if his giggles weren’t sweet enough, Li’l D soon handed me a newsletter describing–as a news event-the swinging. It was illustrated with a crayon drawing … about all of which, ♡♡♡

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

