If We Were Having Coffee on the Tenth of December

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of very strong dark roast.  It’s some odd name coffee, not French Roast as usual, but it is good.  If not strong coffee (I like it just this side of espresso) then I can get you a cuppa tea, some hot cocoa or other hot beverage.  You’ll want it!  It is frigid and will not get above freezing today!  Yes, it is December but it feels like mid January.  And where is it so cold?  If You didn’t recognize the photo or the description of it being cold, we are in New Hampshire today.

What a week!  It snowed twice.  It wasn’t a lot either time, but enough that I had to shovel.  It has also been cold, but last night the temperature took a nose dive and we won’t see above freezing for a few days.  On the other hand, the forecast a few days ago was for much colder than it is actually going to be – they said a low of 5 F (-15 C) but is only going to get down to about 13 F (-10 C).  Also the 8 inches (20 cm) of snow forecast for Monday now looks closer to 1 – 3 inches (3 – 8 cm).  So I can’t complain as it was supposed to be much worse!

This was an awful work week.  It started off that I fixed a high visibility issue (seen by millions), the second fix in as many months, but from that high it rapidly crashed.  We had a couple of high visibility outages (internal, but everyone below the president noticed.  OK, exaggeration, I should have said everyone below the secretary noticed).  Yeah.  On Thursday my “Service” (the level above my division) had a big all-hands meeting and the outage was brought up (the first outage) and words about resolutions, but I was busy IMing with others and and it was far from resolved….  So I spent Friday in a large group brainstorming as things happened.  And it will continue on Monday…  And there were other two hour meetings were it felt like I was being grilled, both like talked to and put over a fire.  And then there are projects that have to be done by 12/31 that, well, I have no idea how I’ll do it….  OK, enough complaining.  Unfortunately I can’t say, “At least no one died this week”.  It wasn’t work related (a friend, not a coworker), but, yeah, there was that too…  Not a great week….

OK, but as Monty Python says, always look on the bright side of life! ;)

I did relax by blogging and such.  I tried to read a lot of your posts, but sorry if I didn’t have time or energy to comment!  I also put up quite a few posts.  I started on Sunday with a Weekly Smile Reminder.  On Monday I had a slight rant about how small communities spread news.  On Tuesday I punted and rebloged a post about the December light – it was ironic because I had the idea after seeing the most gorgeous, heart warming view of December light and reposted a poem that was looking at the depressing side of it ;)  On Wednesday I posted my Weekly Smile.  Check it out!  On Thursday I posted a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers and on Friday I posted a very short dark sci-fi story.

Last weekend I talked about how busy was going to be.  Well, this weekend is supposed to be busier.  I said “supposed to be” because I will take some time out to do absolutely nothing!  I went out this morning and finally picked up filters for the humidifiers, so no more itchy skin (I hope) and lightning bolts every time I touch something (sure, I can pretend it’s magic and not static).  So there is that.  And then there is getting the snowblower out and ready in case they change their minds and we end up getting that 8 inches of snow.  Those pesky meteorologists do that sometimes ;)  I still have a lot of winterizing to do, even though it is a little late, it has to be done before it’s like this every day of every week, it.e., January.  And all of those other things.  I still have a last pass at editing of my short story collection – I am done with any rewrites, this is all word usage, grammar, etc.  And I still haven’t started recording on that music project I’ve been planning since summer!  And dogs need to be walked (as do I ;) ).  And preparing for Christmas continues.

Anyway, I don’t mean to rush you out!  I know it has been mostly about me, but if you have a coffee share post, I’ll try to stop by in the next few days!  Take care and have a great week!  We’ll talk again soon….

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

 

42 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the Tenth of December

  1. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    I’ve a real believer in the Power of Vent. I’m not sure whether that sounds like a line from an air-con slogan or vacuum cleaner ad but it works for me.
    I’ve been doing a lot of venting lately with the dark stuff I’ve been writing about or inspired by my time in Paris back in 1992. I don’t know if my mental state is worse than I thought, but I’ve really enjoyed writing this dark stuff and playing with the shadows and macabre images. I’ve also put much of that to rest and feel better about what happened.
    Speaking about smiles, I’ve been researching the Mona Lisa as part of my Paris story and she has such a fascinating story to tell. Shame she can’t speak but that smile…
    Hope this week goes better for you. Your week sounds totally mad at work and I’m sorry about losing your friend. Geoff work in IT at a university and it’s crazy too. Enrollments starting up and huge traffic like can obviously overpower the system. Of course, they want all hands on deck. Shame they allowed so many voluntary redundancies without thinking things through. Well, it would be nice to think that way but @##$ always flows downhill. At least, he gets paid overtime.
    I’m visiting a dear friend tomorrow who is in hospital after her third back op in about 2 years. It’s very hard going. So, I’m not only feeling our problems are minor but that when the going’s good, you need to give others a lift. BTW, that will also be including my husband.
    Hope you have a better week!
    xx Ro

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Venting on the blog is pretty good. And I do keep a completely professional demeanor while working (of course I was teleworking so nobody would know what I actually -looked- like ;) ) Anyway, everyone knows there’s going to be an outage today as we troubleshoot, so hopefully it won’t be as bead.
      I may have missed some of your Paris posts, but I have enjoyed what I’ve seen. It looks like you are having fun researching it, even if it sometimes gets frustrating.
      I hope your friend is recovering well. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Angelica Kidd

    I hope you stay warm Trent and that the new filters help the humidifier relieve the itchiness! 😦 And now I feel horrid for complaining over here about my “freezing” 50-60 degree Texas “freeze”… Sending warm vibes your way!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      When it cold like this the humidity just drops to nothing. Besides itchy, it’s not really very healthy. I guess pretty much 2/3 or more of the country is having worse than usual cold. If you’re not use to it, 50-60 can be “cold” (I would like 50 right now ;) ).

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Corina

    I’m glad your snow storm has been downgraded. Ours was too. The one last week. We were supposed to get a lot more but what we got was enough. The ice that followed was worse. And made worse by the fact that people here just aren’t ready for it. The city doesn’t have the right equipment so everything shuts down. Shopping, public transportation, schools, restaurants, etc. And then there’s the fact that people here don’t know how to drive in such conditions so it makes it much worse.

    I hope your work week isn’t too terrible this coming week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They changed the forecast to less accumulation, but more ice… I can see how bad it can be in places that don’t get much snow or ice, like when Atlanta was shut down with a 1/2 inch of snow.
      I’m going in with the attitude that next week will be better. It can’t be much worse!
      have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pamela Morse

    Better you than me with that snowblower…I would be dangerous. I do have the wood stove cranked up, but you know Tucson is not exactly brutal in the winter. Two hour meetings sound brutal as well. I wish you the best with those deadline projects. Cheers, Trent, and thanks for the tea. I have already consumed plenty of coffee, real and digital, this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The snowblower is a necessity around here. When you have three foot of new snow, a little shovel only gets you so far…. My job has become much more meeting oriented than technical, which is OK some of the time, but sometimes it is brutal. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      Reply
  5. Shilpa Garg

    Winters have arrived here too but they are certainly not as harsh as it at your place.
    “Take some time out to do absolutely nothing!” sounds like a great plan and I wish to do the same too! Have a great week, Trent!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      You are in Kuwait now? I know the middle-east gets cold, but the image of burning hot desert sticks in my mind.
      I have done a bit of absolutely nothing and hope to do a bit more today, but I also got a lot accomplished, and hope I get a lot done again today.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yeah, the entire eastern 2/3 of the country is cold this weekend and the eastern seaboard really bad. I’ll get you a piping hot cuppa to warm you up.
      I haven’t touched musical instruments yet this weekend (well, touched, and I did play on the piano for 5 minutes). Not sure when I’ll get to recording… Doing photos today.
      I’ll try to do a bit more nada ;) Have a great weekend!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think the entire east coast, no the entire eastern 2/3 of the continent, is having cold weather. Not sure if it’s another polar vortex thing or what, but i wish it’d go away!

      Thanks, things should get resolved… (I hope ;) )

      Have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. bettylouise31

    Your weather sounds much like Ours. It has been pouring rain most of the day. Roads will be icy in the morning. A couple of good friends pass this week. Both were wildly and may they RIP. Hope your work problems ease up.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Today the high was 24 F and it was very, very windy. So it was cold out! I’m sorry about your friends. It seems like a lot of people pass when it gets closer to the holidays. My work problems will ease up, but it’s nice to vent.

      Like

      Reply
  7. qwietpleez

    I do love a cup of good, strong coffee . . . thank you ☕️️ I grew up with cold weather, Alaska weather, sometimes I miss it, where I live Know, flowers bloom all year. I just stumbled on your Weekly Smile Reminder a couple of days ago, love that. Thanks for the cup and the chat 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do like four seasons so I’m not sure about flowers blooming all year, but I also know I don’t want to spend winter in Alaska! I like sunlight, hours and hours of sunlight ;) I hope you get a chance to join in the Weekly Smile sometime! Thanks for stopping by for coffee and a chat!

      Like

      Reply
  8. Zee

    It’s not complaining, let’s call it venting/conversing virtually to your fellow blogger friends about your week ;)

    I know you aren’t a big fan of snow, but if you have been deprived of it all your life like me, you’d take it over the blazing hot sun any day, hehe ! 🙈 I’m sorry about the loss of your friend Trent, i hope you are doing well ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yep, “venting”! It was a long week and it’s going to be a very busy month. But, really, I can’t complain. I do love my job. And I have a job, which is always something to be thankful for!

      I actually like snow, to a certain extent. I used to ski quite a bit, something I haven’t done in the last handful of years. There are some issues of snow, the biggest one is that it is a lot of work to clear, which isn’t always bad, but when you have to be doing something else and are in a time crunch… And driving is, well, fun ;) The cold is bad mostly because my house is so expensive to heat. So that’s a big complaint for me ;) I do like cooler weather than hot! I am not a hot weather person at all! I don’t need it so it doesn’t get above freezing for days, but I don’t need it where it doesn’t get below 30 C for days either! (I like cool nights – I can’t sleep in the heat) And less often I see 40 C the better!

      Thanks for stopping by and for your well wishes about my friend. ❤️ I wasn’t close to her, but some of the people around me were and that’s what hurts the most.

      Have a great weekend, Zee! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Zee

        Haha well let’s just say at least your driving skills are polished during winters 😂 might get a chance to star in one of those next “Fast & Furious” movies 😂

        And I know central heating can be very costly ! Maybe you guys can use the simple heaters in the first month of winters and then switch to central heating when it gets too cold to bear. Maybe you already do it, hehe. That was just a thought 😁

        Hey maybe you can dust off your ski-skills this time around too, huh 😉😉

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          “Fast and Furious” isn’t the best way to deal with a lot of snow when driving ;) Maybe a lot of furious at other drivers, though.
          I do us a lot small space heaters for small rooms and keep the house relatively cool. It helps, but still pretty bad. Don’t want to have to wear a coat when in the house ;)
          Maybe I’ll try to get back on the skis again this year. We’ll see….. It’s mostly time.

          Liked by 2 people

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Yes, safe skiing ;) As I said in my hike post, I usually don’t go near cliffs unless I’m wearing skis. A straight drop of 100 meters? I have my skis on – no problem! (BTW – it’s cold today – down to -20 C last night!)

              Liked by 2 people

              Reply
                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  It’s snow right now, but not much on the ground. We’ve had a few snowfalls, I think this is the forth. Monday we got about 10 or 12 cm, but a lot of it went away. Today we may get another 10 or 15 cm, but it is going to warm up ( it is -8 C now and slowly warming) and will actually rain tomorrow! Messy, messy. Some years we get huge amounts of snow. Maybe as much as 4 or 5 m over the course of the winter, some winters even worse. And we’ve gotten 1 m + in a single snow fall – a lot of snow to shovel at one time ;) (I looked at my phone and there was not a single winter emoji! They were all things like swimming, sunbathing, palm trees, etc. I want a new phone! ;) So I came back to my computer so I can type faster….)

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply

Express Yourself

