Weekly Smile 49 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Every year a group in our town does a gift tree.  These days it is much more gift than tree, but originally the names (pseudonyms) and ideas were hung on a Christmas tree and people could grab “ornaments” of the names off of the tree.  What they do is find families that are down on their luck, find out what the kids want/need for Christmas and put it out to the community to help.  A name (actually a pseudonym so no real people are exposed) is written on a card with the gift idea.  This way all kids can have gifts for Christmas.

Typically our Lions Club sponsors a few families.  We distribute the cards with gift ideas and buy grocery store cards and gasoline cards for the parents.  This year most of the kids had gift cards as their gift choice.  I get it, in a way.  I have no idea what 8 year old Suzy wants to wear and she will most likely hate the sweater I get for her.  A gift card?  win-win.  I don’t have to stress and she doesn’t have to wear that awful thing I bought.  But gift cards are boring!

As the names were being passed around, one jumped out at me, a 10 year old boy who wants a craft or science set/kit.  I nabbed that one! (along with a few gift card ones)  I mean, that is a very cool kid that wants something creative and educational.  And if it was his parents who wrote it down?  Great parents!  These are people who might be unsure of their next meal, but they are thinking of their kid’s future.  I did a little research and found something that I think would be cool.  I hope the kid thinks so too ;)

That was smile this week, a kid who might not have much, and yet puts stimulating his mind and creativity as a priority.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!


–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

29 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 49 #weeklysmile

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Janice. The site became “Smiley” because I decided to run a “Weekly Smile”, but other than that it is very eclectic. I stop by sometime and take a look – I tried to visit quite a few sites that participated in Donna’s blog party, but might have missed quite a few.
      Thanks for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: The Haircut–#WeeklySmile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  2. Pingback: True Gentleman…The Weekly Smile Blog – Serendipitous Web Life

  3. Pingback: #WeeklySmile 49 | Jottings and Writings

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The gift giving here is strictly anonymous. I don’t know who the kid is and never will and the kid doesn’t know who I am and never will. It’s best that way 🙂
      Several years ago I saw a girl wearing a sweater I gave as one of these anonymous gifts. It was hard not to stare or say something! Actually, that sweater looked better on the rack than on her, which was where I got the idea of me buying “little Suzy” a sweater she hates. (I don’t know if the girl liked or hated it, but it was warm!)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Zee

        Oooh wow. That is such an awesome way to do it, anonymously helping people has its own charm :) I’m sure as long as it kept her warm and looked good on her, she liked it too ;)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the Tenth of December | Trent's World (the Blog)

  5. Pingback: Weekly Smile #49 The cat in the…. | Ute smile

  6. Pingback: SMILE (Seven Days of Art: Day FOUR) Dianne Dengel sketch and Oprah piece – priorhouse blog

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I was not letting that one get away! I’m just surprised someone else didn’t grab it before the stack got to me. It is a great idea, spreading happiness during a time of year that can be hard on people who have very little of their own :)

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  7. Camille de Fleurville

    I do not know if I shall have enough time to blog, but this smile : My Girls are coming out from hospital on 16th. I must be fine but the experience seems to have been good and they will be welcome if I am too tired again. I am going to visit them tomorrow afternoon and we shall see with the Sister if and how hey can offer tea to the penshioners in their corridor (and the nurses). I see them again on Friday. A big, big,big smile!!!! This is worth all other Xmases to be able to be all three together.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The gift tree idea is great idea. Most towns have an organization that does it every year, and most of the other organizations help out, pulling together to make the best holiday possible for everyone.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Corina

    Great smile. When my kids were growing up, I would take then to the mall and let them pick an angel from the Salvation Army Angel Tree. They each would always choose someone of their age and gender. Then we would go shop for the gifts and take them back. Sometimes we would also go to the bookstore and choose a child to buy a book for too. It was fun and I think it helped my kids to learn about giving and the fullness that it brings to the giver’s heart.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      That is a cool way to get your kids into the spirit of giving. Buying for someone of their own age and gender would make it more personal. Doing the gift card thing, that most of the kids wanted this year, would make it dull for someone doing the type of thing you’re talking about.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  9. Pingback: Weekly Smile 49 #weeklysmile – Ladyleemanila

Express Yourself

