Winter’s Shadow

Yesterday, after a small snowfall, I walked to the Post office. There are forested hills overlooking my village. The fresh, new fallen snow was glowing in the soft, golden twilight making the hills look like a painting. It was gorgeous. I wanted to write a poem, but don’t have time. I looked for a similar idea, and found one from almost exactly two years ago that was the exact opposite ;) But here it is anyway….

Trent's World (the Blog)

Swabn Pond - Yes that's Ice

The cold golden rays
Of December’s feeble sun
Casts long shadows
On the frozen ground
Longer still
Are the stark shadows
You cast on my frozen heart
May you return
Like the Spring sun
To melt the frost away
May the sun shine
Once again
Through the windows of my soul

View original post

8 thoughts on “Winter’s Shadow

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the Tenth of December | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. sherloque

    I don’t know if I should comment here at all about this poem. It’s a lovely poem. Are you longing for the return of a partner who left? If that is the case, DON’T!!! My own experience with my ex husband back in the 70s allows me to advise you to look forward in life, not back. We parted 2 or 3 times. I was the one wanting to leave. I came back 3 times. And I regret these years of useless hesitant decisions.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Don’t worry, besides being written two years ago it was semi-fictionalized. I was writing a poem about the winter light and it was just too boring, so I used a bit about someone I was really missing, over-dramatized it a bit (or a lot), and made a better poem ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

