Blocked Ray

woman portrait

Ray hadn’t noticed that the sun had gone down, didn’t notice that it was now dark outside and in.  The glow of a million people kept his lonely face company, blotting out the world as he wrote from his sixteenth floor apartment.  She was in his mind, as always, as he typed out the words he hoped she’d read.

No matter what John Donne had written those 400 years ago, no matter how many people are around you, every person is still isolated within thier skull, or so it seemed to Ray.  He felt the more interconnections he had on his late night chat sessions the more disconnected he really was.  He pounded on his keyboard, night after night, talking, chatting, blogging and forum hopping, yet he was still more alone forever, perpetually hunting for that special bound.  In his mind, she was it.  But she had to see it for herself.  That’s what he was typing, the proof she needed.

He typed furious passage after furious passage, coded message he believed none but her would understand.  He felt that they had one mind, that they understood each other in a way no others could imagine.

Finished with his magnum opus, the great love poem that explained the details of his heart, he clicked publish so all of the world could see, so that she could see.

Ray could be utterly patient, but this was not the time.  He had just put his soul on the line, or on-line, which was in this case the same thing.  He had to know her reaction.  He checked the blogs, the tweets, the images, everything, all social media imaginable.  No sign of her.  Finally he went back to her Facebook page to study her picture.

That was when he noticed the new relationship status, “engaged”. He saw his pictures, the unknown other, all over.  He saw the congratulatory remarks, the “I always knew you were meant for each other” comments.

Looking out of his sixteenth floor window, across the huge city, over the horizon and over the rainbow where he always imagined she was waiting, he only noticed the cold, hard rain.

13 thoughts on “Blocked Ray

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I was in a dark mood on Friday and the ending seemed to fit it… Yep, the cold hard rain does match that mood, doesn’t it? Today the world is white – we are having our first snowfall. not much, maybe a couple of cm or so, but it is still pretty.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Rowena

    I enjoyed this Trent but I did wonder that he didn’t know she was involved with someone else and how he could so badly misread the situation. Or, was she stringing him along? I remember feeling like that many times when I was single and it’s dreadful. I’ve been reflecting on that a lot lately with revisiting Paris. Indeed, it was only today I remembered I followed a local band called Paris Dumper a few years after I got back. It was name quite obviously after being dumped in Paris. So, I definitely wasn’t the only one.
    After going underground during Winter with chest bugs and watching out for germs, I realised I’d cut myself off a lot locally and was turning more to online friends. This is a tricky dilemma. However, with having the kids it’s quite important to keep in touch with things around us. Now, that I’m even just doing the simple things like doing the shopping, my local world has opened up like a flower and I know this has also been good for my well-being…especially as I’m a people-orrientated extrovert.
    You definitely had me thinking with this, which I always see as the mark of a good story.
    xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve seen a lot of online flirtations and can see how someone could be swept into one and not really look. People see what they want to see. In this story i was thinking it was more one sided – they had a little flirtation going on and he was thinking much more than innocent online fun. But yeah, he would be a bit naive. And this is so unoriginal – as i wrot it I thought about a song I knew from my childhood that at the end of the song he bought her an engagement ring without realizing she had been wearing one…

      Anyway, glad i made you think with this sad little story!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the Third of December! | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yep, poor guy. I sometimes wonder how many “Rays” there are out there in cyberspace? And I wonder how many forget to look on the other side of their doors instead of the other side of that portal called “The Internet”.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. jhosack87

    I loved this. It’s funny, as we write entries like this, we get more and more excited with where the story is going. I really enjoyed this piece because I was on the edge of my seat to see where it was going to go. If you’re anything like me, you were on the edge of you seat as you were writing it.

    Thanks for sharing! If you interested in anything like this I have a couple. I’ll just put one up!

    https://jthosackjr.com/2016/11/28/daily-prompt-vigor/

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! This wasn’t quite as “edge of my seat” writing that some of them are – I had the theme and the end before I began so I just needed to fill in the middle. Yes, I was trying to get the tension as I wrote.
      I’ll try to take a look at your post in a bit.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. jhosack87

        Sometimes I just write “willy-nilly.” I really need to have an end in sight. I’m thinking of starting my first novel in sections. An end would definitely help, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I do that a lot, just write and see what happens. At some point I do have to set up and ending, even if it is different by the time I get there. Occasionally, like here, I do have the goal in sight before i start.

          Like

          Reply

Express Yourself

