Weekly Smile 48 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Yesterday I was talking to a colleague.  It’s hard to say what her professional relationship is to mine without another very long post.  OK, real quick: I’m in the organization that handles all IT except for things that are related to The Operations.  If we were a manufacturer (which we’re not), I’d say IT is all of the servers, desktops, websites,etc. that people use for administrative, support, public interaction, etc. while Operations are the computers and servers (and possibly web sites) that actually run the manufacturing equipment.  So we belong to completely different organizations, but there is a little overlap in our functions.

She asked me a question and I answered with a person’s name.  OK, that is the same one she trusts to do that work.  So we went through a few other things and ended up with the same people.  We both told stories about how we’ve learned from experience to make sure we send tickets to those individuals even though others can do the exact same thing.

I work with a lot of very competent people and, really, even the “not-so-good” experience people are competent.  Some people I work with are unbelievably good.  They are very knowledgeable and helpful.  It’s nice to know who these people are when I need something done properly, right now and without having to explain exactly what I’m looking for.  I just think it is a little funny to find that my “go to” people are the same ones that are the “go to” people from someone in a completely different organization!  It shows the high level of these people.

So that’s my smile for the week, those colleagues that we rely on to make our work lives easier.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

13 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 48 #weeklysmile

  1. sherloque

    Reading your exchange of thoughts here makes me feel good. I thought America had gone down the drain but you two save the day. I recently took ten days off my dear computer. And guess what? I have never felt so happy and smiling in ages. Quite truly do we really need to know about all the bad news in the world? I think it’s a large part of our national/international depression. I really like your idea of a weekly smile. Perhaps we could also have a weekly or monthly “get rid of internet” kind of stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I sometimes take short breaks away from the news and/or social media – it does help! The problem with the news here is they sensationalize it, focusing in on things they think will “sell”. News used to be telling people what is going on. Now it is a way to make a lot of money or spread your very narrow ideological viewpoint. So it is mostly bad news.

      Yes, racism in America is on the rise, as are other nationalist tendencies, but most people still care about their neighbors. And, as I’m sure you’ve seen, America is hugely divided. Half of the country is still “left leaning”, meaning we are more people focused, fighting against racism, Islamophobia, etc. So we’re not all lost. Yet ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    2. trentpmcd Post author

      OK, when I read your comment I thought you were looking at my Week 29 Smile, the one about gift giving ;) I’m not going to change my response, but I was coming at it from a very different angle!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Still Pink–#WeeklySmile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  3. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the Third of December! | Trent's World (the Blog)

  4. Pingback: Hello December and The Weekly Smile #48 | Ute smile

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sorry you can’t find any smiles in with the tears. I’ll be honest, this morning when I was trying to find something to write up, most of what came up was bad: emergency run to the dentist yesterday, my injury from last week starting to hurt, all of the political crap and nazi stuff coming up, another terror attack and the enviable backlash,etc., etc. But sometimes it is good to sit down and think, what was there that I can smile about. I’m not dead yet ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
          1. camilledefleurville

            Political contingencies do not arise from nothing: those we have today are similar to the nationalisms that were born in the 19th c and perdured until the end of WWII. Then there were the wars of decolonisation, then the unnamed and “forgotten” wares (Africa, Central-Asia, Middle-East, Near-East, Caucasus, Nation-States former satellites of the USSR, the end of the Wall of Berlin (and the arrival of Eastern countries in the EU), etc, etc. And the financial krach of 2008. Everything is ready to go back spirally round (not totally round – perhaps worse). Individuals are in bad individual situations added to a global bad situation. We shall have to grow fields of smiles as in Ukraine or in agricultural USA: our small patches will not be sufficient. This is Peter Rabbit speaking, I say! :)

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              There is the big picture of things looking bleak – ultra nationalism and extremism of all types. There are a lot of geopolitical issues darkening the mood, and then more local issues, like here (US) the new president is causing a lot of stress. But beyond that, I know three people who have lost jobs in recent days. In fact, I think I know more people out of work now than when the recession was at its worst. And I know others who are sick or injured. It just seems like a lot of people I know have had personal tragedies, both great and small, in recent days. But then, as i say, we need to acknowledge the bad, fight against it if we can, and try to keep our attitudes as high as possible – I have found life is almost as much about the attitude in which we face it as what actually happens.

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
  5. Pingback: Photo Blogging Challenge (November 2016): Thanks – Ladyleemanila

Express Yourself

