If Were Having Coffee on the 26th of November

Beatles and Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of strong French Vienna Roast (I know, I haven’t had much French Roast lately), a cuppa tea or other warm beverage.  It is cool and grey out there with a few showers off and on.  You’ll want/need something warm!  And where are we?  Many of you will recognize those Fabulous Fab Four mugs as living on Cape Cod.  Yes, I spent Thanksgiving just a few miles from where that mythic first T-Day took place.

My week since the last coffee share started off on the top of a mountain.  OK, it didn’t actually start there, it started at home in the dark, but Saturday was about “big mountain” hiking and I left you on the mountain at the end of my last coffee share.  I’ve put up one post about Saturday’s hike and have mentioned it a few times in other posts.  And there will be more ;)  Sunday had a little more light hiking, but from there on out I tried to take it easy for my leg to heal (for the swelling to go down) from my fall.  I only worked Monday and Tuesday, but both days were insanely busy.  I have a huge stack of work to catch up on when I return!

My week (Tuesday night until now) down on “the Cape” has been nice.  Mostly I’ve been relaxing.  I’ve read quite a bit and have just finished a major editing run of my short story book.  I’ll go through it two more times before I have someone double check it for grammar, word usage, typos, etc.  It is getting closer!  Besides that, some walks in the woods and taking care of puppies and relaxing.

I’ve stayed up with the blog for the most part, but it is very slow – the slowest week of the year since most Americans are too busy celebrating Thanksgiving to blog.  I put up a number of posts, including two smile reminders, one talking about a short hike on Friday and the second after I finished up the hike on Sunday, seeing the third waterfall.  And then, third post in a row, I talked a little bit more about the hike(s) on Friday and Sunday ;)  I know I was stretching it, but I did want to say more than I said in the two smile reminders.  It’s a great walk!  So Tuesday I decided to go a bit darker and wrote a poem equating the November darkness with a darkness of the heart.  Wednesday was, of course, my Weekly Smile post, this one about my big hike on Saturday.  Thursday I put up a Thanksgiving post, mentioning a few of the big things that I am thankful and/or grateful for – family, health, being able to provide healthy food and living surrounded by beauty (nature).  On Friday I paused my editing to talk about editing and doing drafts of my stories.

Today should be another quiet day.  I’ll read, write and edit and other such things.  I’ll also try to stop by and have coffee with my friends here! So if you have a coffee post, expect a visitor.

Thanks for stopping by!  I know, this has been all about me, but if you have a coffee post,as i just said I’ll stop by and we can talk about you :)  See you soon!

I hope you are having a great weekend and have a great week!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. (links to come!)

40 thoughts on “If Were Having Coffee on the 26th of November

  1. prior..

    Hey T
    Vienna roast is a nice change….
    At home we have been trying wegman’s kona blend this week – give it a B.

    And glad your short story book is getting closer to be ready! How exciting

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yep, mixing it up with the coffee a little. I think we’ve talked about it before, but no Wegman’s up here> Kona, like the Hawaiian coffee? Sounds good.
      I want to have the book out by Christmas,but we’ll see.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. prior..

        That is a good goal T-
        You can do it —-
        And yes – we’ve mentioned the wegman’s thing ;)
        Oh and the kona blend is supposed to be Hawaiian Kona – but being a blend I suspect it is 20% kona – but it is pretty good (give it a 7 out of ten)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
      2. prior..

        And I was just talking with Someone about the time it takes for things.
        Sometimes no matter what we do to push to make a deadline – some writing projects will be done “in their own” time…
        But I did hear someone advise that deadlines are tricky because sometimes they make someone work faster – like if someone gives them-self 60 days – they might take 60 days – and if they give a deadline of 21 days – they might hustle more to get it done… –

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I get it, but I’m mostly there (my original deadline was the end of August ;) )The big thing I have now is a third party doing low level editing, finishing up the cover and then figuring out the publishing thing on Amazon, so not pushing it too much, I’m just dependent on other people.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
              1. prior..

                well just back and forth to see family in VA – but I am feeling the winding down of the month and don’t have any more posts coming in November (reached my limit and need a small pause – lol) and so maybe that is what I am feeling when I say have a nice rest of November – :)

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  I’ll be honest – when I replied to you my brain was in December ;) What! The month just started and you’re dropping out for the rest of it?! Oh well, my brain is almost back on track ;)

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply
                  1. prior..

                    oh got it – hah – and my brain still feels like it is the day after thanksgiving T – not sure what happened to the last weekend – zoomed on by – maybe we both need a little more of that Vienna coffee

                    Liked by 1 person

                    Reply
  2. Corina

    Isn’t it great to just sit and take it easy once in awhile? I’m having one of those slow days when I can do what I want because everyone is still out of town. Enjoy your quite, peaceful weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      In ways it is nice to do nothing, in other ways it drives me crazy – I like to be doing! But I’ve adjusted – it’ll just be hard getting back to work.

      I hope you enjoyed your slow day. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. bettylouise31

    Sorry hearing about you leg. I hope it heals quickly and there are not more problems. WordPress and Amazon don’t like each other. I spent a lot of time writing it only to see it change. I keep needing to looks for things that will make me 😃 smile.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! Still some swelling and stiffness, but it doesn’t hurt.

      I don’t use the WP on my Fire, I use the browser. It works a lot better for me. Still not great – I usually only write posts on my computer, but much better than the app. I only use my mobile in an emergency ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Nancy

    Glad to hear you are keeping busy. I missed the “Mountain” post so I will have to go back and catch up and hopefully find out what happened to your leg? Hoping that heals quickly! Enjoy the rest of the week and thanks for the coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I always try to stay busy ;) I talked about the hike a little in my smile post, but said a little more about falling off of a cliff on my Thanksgiving post (not much). I’ll have a post with far more details next week…
      I hope you’re having a great weekend! Thanks for joining me for coffee! I know you usually do a coffee share, so I should be by later.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Vidya Sury

    What can I say? I am mesmerised by your mugs. I would even go so far as to say I covet them. Sigh. You seem to have packed in quite a bit over the last week! Loving the #weekendcoffeeshare — it is like meeting a lot of friends with easy conversation. So enjoyable! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The weekend coffee shares are great – as you said, meeting a lot of friends on line for easy conversation. I’ve really liked participating.
      When I bought the cottage here on Cape Cod a local store had the Beatles mugs on sale. I picked up all of them they had – I think they’re great!
      I always try to stay busy, and was very busy last weekend. The last few days were very relaxing, mostly reading and writing and such.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Just doing a quick look at your site, do you keep any of your English language blogs up to date? The latest seems to be Threefold Twenty, but even that is a few months old, from what I see.

      Like

      Reply
      1. sherloque

        …well…it depends on my allegiance! having a double identity means I oscillate between being a true anglophone to being a true francophone. With the latest American politics and what with the Brexit in England, I kind of veered to be French!!! does that make sense?

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I can understand why you’re staying more towards the French this year! Nationalism seems to be one of the big stories over the last few years, and it seems the English speaking countries (bar Canada) have been bitten by that bug worse than others. Yeah, American politics have been a mess this year….

          Like

          Reply
  6. Pamela Morse

    Trent, I am curious to know where on “the Cape” we are. I have only visited once, staying in Falmouth, but traveling around a bit. I went to search my ancestors, and found it to be really interesting. I have a lot of ancestors from Sandwich, which I turned out to like very much. I am an art glass fan and a history buff, so Sandwich has it all for me. Happy holidays, Trent.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m in Dennis Port. When we first started coming down here we spent a lot of time in Sandwich. To me it always seemed like a more “typical New England town” than most of the Cape. Through the years we’ve stayed many place, but now that we are in Dennis I enjoy it – I’m just off of a brackish water pond so can be in a kayak in 5 minutes, I’m less than 5 minutes from a great place for a long walk and then 5 minutes from the closest beach and 15 minutes from one of the prettiest beaches on the Cape. So we like it here.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      “Quiet” is a relative term ;) Actually, the last few days have mostly involved sitting and reading or writing. Typically when I’m here (Cape Cod), I spend all of my time outside doing things, even when it is cold and rainy.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. sherloque

    As I was “exploring” possible wordpress blogs my eye caught your invitation to coffee… so I came in and enjoyed the nice coffee smell! What’s a French roast actually??? I’m French and coffee beans in France are usually black from being over roasted, I mean, like burnt. So I usually look for Dutch coffee… it goes to show that grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The coffee shares are a lot of fun. It gives me an excuse to talk about some of the personal details in my life I usually gloss over in every day posts. When the link to main coffee share is up you might want to stop by and see others.
      “French Roast” is just that, burnt coffee ;) I make it very strong (for an American) and enjoy the big, bold taste. The “Vienna Roast” I’m enjoying today is silky smooth and not bitter at all, even though it is a dark coffee. I like it, but in ways I don’t feel like I’m drinking “real” coffee since I’m so used to the over-roasted flavour of the “French Roast”.
      I’m glad you could stop by for coffee! Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

