Weekly Smile 47 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

If you’ve been reading my blog at all over the last few days I’m sure you realized that my brother came up from Philadelphia to go hiking.  I had a few posts about our short hike(s) on a trail that is just a few miles from my house.  I haven’t said much about Saturday.  That’s about to change :)

We got up bright and early (or actually still very dark and early) Saturday morning and drove up to New Hampshire’s White Mountains.  Specifically we went up to the Franconia Notch area and did the loop around Mt. Layfayette.  The loop is about 8.9 miles (14.3 km).  The top of Lafayette is around 3000 feet (915 m) above the trail head and the total climb (since there are several peaks in the loop) is about 3900 feet (1190 m).  It is not an easy trail, but it is a fun one.

layfayette-0001

Second view of Lafayette – that’s still a couple of thousand feet up there! (The mountain to the right is Mt. Lincoln – it is smaller, but closer so looks bigger).

We went up the Old Bridle Path trail, by the Green Leaf Hut to the summit, along Franconia Ridge and then down the Falling Water Trail.  The Old Bridle Path trail is not as steep as Falling Water and has a lot of great views.  It also takes you straight to the top of Layfayette, the biggest peak on the ridge.  If you go up Falling Water, it is steeper (good (less chance of falling) and bad (think about it ;) )) and gets you to the ridge line much quicker, but you are in the shadows when you pass the gorgeous waterfalls.  I like going up both ways.  Either way, this is my favorite hike bar none.

back-out-shane-0001

My brother hiking up. We are still near the bottom(!). This is looking south out of the “high mountains” towards the bulk of New Hampshire (and home). Do you see the little rainbow?

The weather was gorgeous.  It was very warm for mid November and there were a lot of hikers, perhaps the most I’ve ever sen on that mountain, everyone coming out for one last climb before winter. Overall it was a great hike.  Oh, there was a mishap or two (like falling off of a cliff….) but I’ll save those for non-smile occasions ;)  With stops, lunch, rests, recoveries, etc,. included, we did the hike in about 7 hours.  Not my fastest time, but why race when surrounded by such beauty?

I’ll most likely write more about the mountain and the hike another time after I’ve had a chance to go through all of the photos.  I obviously took quiet a few :)  But this is enough for a smile post :)

lafayette-001

A phone photo of Lafayette from the ridge trail, taken from near Mt. Lincoln.

It is always nice to visit with my brother.  So that part was, of course, very good.  But was doubly nice to do this hike, one I haven’t done in years.

So that was my smile for this week, doing a “big mountain” hike with my brother.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

–-

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

17 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 47 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Hiking Mt. Lafayette in November | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: The Fall | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Pingback: If Were Having Coffee on the 26th of November | Trent's World (the Blog)

  4. Pingback: Weekly Smile #47 | Ute smile

  5. Pingback: Weekly Smile 47 #weeklysmile – ladyleemanila

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is great hike! I haven’t done it in a few years and wasn’t sure how doable it would be this late in the year, but I’m glad I decided to go. Knowing you’re up here in NH and are into hiking I figured you’d know it well :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. charlypriest

        It is rough, but I got to have the smile if not I could go to hell already, but Charly is not going to hell, neither heaven but some ways in between.
        And I do appreciate your comment, by the way I know you know the “French guy” that she wrote…. Kruti,
        she even told me as it was a surprise to her that you knew, come on, i talk volume, quite transperent am I.
        Stay Frosty sir, and next year….I got my shit together so I might go to that part of your country

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I was surprised that Kruti was surprised that I knew the character was based on you. You do talk about yourself and anybody paying attention should be able to catch it.

          This corner of my country, New England, is great. Obviously this is a huge country so there are great contrasts between the deserts, plains, mountains, etc., and I like it all, but as far as living, this is my favorite area. (except the winters…)

          Like

          Reply
          1. charlypriest

            That´s what I told her, I´m not all that a mystery of a guy so no wonder you picked it up.

            New England….yes sir, I remember the winters there. Although the city of Boston looked quite beautiful when it snowed. Although I didn´t live there I was just passing by, I guess there is a difference there.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply

Express Yourself

