If We Were Having Coffee on the Nineteenth of November, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hi!  It’s funny to see you up here.  Are you enjoying your hike?  Great view, huh?  A little chilly, but not terrible.  Let’s take a short rest, take out our water bottles and chat!

I see the confusion in your eyes.  Looking at the picture up top you say, “A-ha!  Hew Hampshire!” but then you meet me on a trail.  Well, this is New Hampshire, just a lot farther north than usual.  Actually, we are in the White Mountains, hiking up Mt. Lafayette (Google it).  I’ll be honest, though, I actually wrote this post early Friday morning and set it to post on Saturday.  Sneaky, huh?

My brother flew in yesterday (actually, he’s not here yet, since I’m writing this early Friday, remember?) from Philly.  One of his main reasons for coming up here was to do some big mountain hiking.  We are talking well over 3000 ft (1000 meter) vertical in this hike, so yes, there are big mountains in NH (did you Google it, like I asked?).  So, right before I left to pick him up at the airport I turned off my computer.  i don’t plan on turning it back on until he is gone, which is Sunday evening.

This has been a very busy week.  Work was, well, there is a huge amount going on!  A lot of meetings and such.  Paper work.  new things.  A lot is happening.  I got a couple of “atta boy”s and also some “what’s happening here?”s.  Yesterday I worked an extra two hours to attend a meeting.  I didn’t run the meeting, but I was the “guest of honor” (hot seat?).  Oh well, the life of a program manager….

My non-work life was also very busy, but truthfully, I can’t remember most of it!  I do remember getting back from Cape Cod on Sunday all relaxed and then quickly becoming not-relaxed ;)  A lot of taking care of the dogs and keeping the house standing.  Other stuff like that.

Blogging has been good.  As a stats nerd I have to say the week went well, very well.  I did post a lot.  On Sunday I put up my usual reminder for my Smile.  On Monday I posted a collection of autumn photos from both New Hampshire and Cape Cod.  On Tuesday I posted a poem about Humanity.  On Wednesday I posted my Weekly Smile!  Also on Wednesday i posted a 100 word Friday Fictioneer story.  I started Thursday with a reblogging of one of my very first posts that was about blogging (sort of).  I then put up a review of the book, Possibilities by Herbie Hancock (with Lisa Dickey).  On Friday I posted a short story, which may actually be the beginning of a much longer work (novel?).  Also on Friday I wrote this, but didn’t post it.  Remember? ;)

So, that rest break was long enough.  The days are short and we need to make it to the top and back down before it gets dark (I do have flashlights and extra clothes just in case).  But it was nice chatting with you!

I always tell you that I will come visit you for coffee if you are having coffee at your place.  I can’t make that promise this week.  I will try, but my guess is I won’t be able to make it over.  Sorry, we’ll have to meet up later.

I hope you are having a great weekend and have a great week!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. (I will try to stop by and make the links hot at some point, but for now just go to PTM to find the Coffee Share)

13 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the Nineteenth of November, 2016

  1. Pamela Morse

    I am happy you and your brother got this perfect time of year to go hiking. Total unplug from the device world and plug into nature is rewarding. I prefer some snow to ice on the trails, but you can’t always get what you want. Cheers, Trent.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have hiked this mountain on October first and hit a lot of snow. Yesterday? OK, there was a lot of ice on the trails in a few small locations, but it was very warm! It was sad seeing the ski resorts with no snow on the slopes when usually they’d be open since Halloween.
      I hope you have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Well, almost Monday ;) It was a great weekend full of hiking, the “big mountains” being fantastic. I’m taking a vacation for most of next week (Thanksgiving), just relaxing on Cape Cod.

      I hope you had a great weekend and you have a great week ahead – I’m assuming you’ll be spending the holiday with your family.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

