My Bass

bjc3b6rn-14

PHOTO PROMPT © Björn Rudberg

The sun’s coming up and I’m getting down, the heartbeat of the city.  Jeweled lights, flaring stars of the street outside, blaze through the nicotine stained windows.  Ned, his lip nearly blown after eight hours above high C, exploring where only angels, and Dizzy, dare tread, has put on the Harmon mute and has put on his Miles’ suite, and is growling low and mean. Bev, starting the night like Bird, has moved a little more Dexter-eous, gone from Bopicity to cool-city.  The piano’s a choir and the brushes on the drums are soft.  I make love to my bass.

— — —

(Read it out loud ;) )

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by © Björn Rudberg.  Read more or join in by following the InLinkz “linky“.

19 thoughts on “My Bass

  1. patriciaruthsusan

    I also first thought “Bass” but then thought “What do I know?” so wrote about a cello. You were deep into–what I think if I’m not wrong– classical jazz music in this piece. I love Dixieland jazz. Good writing, Trent.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! A cello is part of the violin family and looks like a big violin while a bass has more rounded “shoulders”. I listen to a lot of jazz (actually a lot of music) from Dixieland to today’s music, but my favorite is small ensemble jazz from the late 50s to the mid 60s. This is trying to get a feel for that era.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the Nineteenth of November, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    It’s been interesting reading through all the responses to this prompt. This is the first time I’ve been a part of Friday Fictioneers. All the different perspectives are fascinating. I really enjoyed reading your take. Some have evidently been written by musicians like yours (and mine…sort of) and I could almost put myself into this scene even though it’s not something I’ve experienced for a very long time. There used to be a jazz venue in Sydney called Soup Plus and you walked down a long flight of stairs into what must have been a basement. Lots of smoking back then. That was in the late 80s.
    Well written and atmospheric, Trent. Well done.
    Hope you have a good weekend and I look forward to coffee.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Friday Fictioneers is fun, particularly seeing everyone’s different take on the same picture. The musician in my cringes with this one, though, that everyone wrote about cellos ;) That’s a bass!
      Thanks! This was a lot of fun to write. Although I’ve seen a bit of live small ensemble jazz, the description here is more from what I know about those late night into early morning jams in places like NY.
      Coffee will be odd this weekend – I’m going to write it now and have it scheduled to be posted as I’ll be unavailable most of the day today up until Monday. Have a great weekend!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Exactly. A jazz musician must have an individual style, but they need to learn from those that came before to develop that style. And since jazz is so individualistic, you can’t learn just from reading music, you have to get to know the sound of it.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

