Autumn in New England

Bells Neck

I really didn’t have a lot of time for photography this Autumn, but I was able to get the camera out a couple of times and I took a lot of phone pictures.  Although I shared some of the phone pictures before, I redid them in Photoshop.  In some ways I like the Instagram versions better, but I’ll leave these up as a contrast.  Like this picture out of my Kitchen window up in Wilton, New Hampshire.

Out of my window

Did you recognize it?  It has been posted before, an early November scene of grey and the last glowing embers of autumn.

I spent a lot of time on Cape Cod over the last month and a half, as people who have read my “Coffee Share” posts know.  One cool thing I saw in early October was an osprey carrying a huge fish.  Here is my favorite picture of it.

Osprey and Fish

Unfortunately the bird stayed between me and the sun so all of the pictures are closer to silhouettes than portraits.  I couldn’t pick out a second favorite, so I made a bit of collage with some of them.  Remember, this is a bird with a six foot (two meter) wing span.  Now think of how big the fish is…

Osprey Collage

I thought the pictures of the islands in Swan Pond, taken at dawn, were cool.  Besides the cormorants, if you look closely at this one, you can see a Great Blue Heron on the island.

Island Swan Pond

Well, I’ll let you scroll through the rest.  Remember, if you click on a photo you can bring it up for a closer look and then use the arrows to scroll through them.  I hope you enjoy this bit of New England (Dennis,/Dennis Port, MA on Cape Cod and Wilton, New Hampshire) in October and November!

23 thoughts on “Autumn in New England

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! This is a beautiful area of the country and a lot of fun to photograph. The sea coast is just so varied, no just incredibly large, but there’s an almost infinite variety in the coast, water, etc.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the Nineteenth of November, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. prior..

    oh the fish in the claw (talon?) is amazing – and such an original shot T.

    I also loved the collage – the small images give us a chance to have an overview look and then we can soak up larger ones when we click.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  3. Joanne Sisco

    The season of autumn just begs to be photographed. Your photos say why. Scenery that is already beautiful takes on an entirely new glow. Literally, it seems. I never get tired of beautiful autumn colours.

    My favourite photo is the one you called ‘out of my window’ with the white house in the bottom left. I’m assuming that called a Widow’s Peak on top.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I love the light and colors of Autumn. There is a golden glow unlike any other time of the year. I think Widow’s Peak is the term, but I usually just say cupola. One of the Manson girls lived in that house in the early 1960s – pretty scary….

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  4. ladydawn

    My favorite is the one looking out over the church and into the clouds. You were able to catch the light that makes the colors in the fall so very beautiful, and why it is my favorite time of year.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Autumn is my favorite time of year for so many reasons. The colors, of course, come close to the top of the list. But I think you’re looking at the library (brick building), not the church, which isn’t in any of these shots.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I like photos too. I go through times when I take more than others, but I do like to take them – it makes me actually look at what’s around me. BTW, I really loved the pictures of Mt. Hood you’ve posted recently!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! We are starting to see some of the cold weather that is typical for mid to late November, but so far I can’t complain. And, as far as color goes, New England is the best place to be in the autumn ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I love having the cottage on the Cape and being able to see it year round. Autumn is great because, as you said, it is still beautiful but there are far fewer people. I even did some kayaking over the weekend, though the water is much colder than it was just three weeks ago.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

