If We Were Having Coffee on the Twelfth of November

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a large mug of a nice, strong French Sumatra Roast, a cuppa tea or other warm beverage.  It is not frigid (it’s above freezing), but it is cool and will not get very warm today.  And that wind is just cutting.  And where am I?  Many of you may recognize those mugs at the top as “living” down on Cape Cod.

What a week, right?  For the second time this century the US candidate that won the popular vote lost the electoral vote.  The first time, with George W Bush, it was upsetting for some people.  This one was very unexpected and has very much upset a lot of people, much more than “W’s” win.  But there is so, so much more than that.  I know life long Democrats who hated Hillary with a passion and are celebrating her defeat.  And then the Republican party is in total disarray, with some of the biggest names having actually endorsed Hillary!  It has been proven that people on Facebook read and shared more fake news articles about the election than real ones.  I saw it quite a few times and made the mistake at first to point out that the article was a joke, that you had to read the  whole/entire article, not just the first paragraph to understand it wasn’t real.   Have you ever lost Facebook “friends” for pointing out such things?  And talking to friends who supported each candidate, their version of reality are so radically different, their takes on the outcomes so far apart, I can’t believe they are all in the same universe.   And there is hatred and anger and fear in all corners.  I have no clue what is going to happen, if our country is going to rip itself to shreds or actually find a way to heal.  I am not young and I have not seen anything that even comes close to this in my whole life.  Those who aren’t gloating or protesting are holding our breathes and hoping for the best.

OK, too much about US politics!

I had a day off yesterday and was able to get out on the kayak (it was warm, but too windy! I ended up very wet), go for a long walk on the very windy beach (the walk was great but the water was frigid!) and take a long walk in the woods (very nice).  I also read and worked on my blog.

Yesterday I also started what I hope is the very last draft of my book of short stories.  Yes, I think this will be draft five or six; I lost count.  I want to get it out before Christmas.

Work was busy.  I have to start doing some organizing and figuring out how to do more with less.  This is not a cliche.  Every year the budget is cut, and yet every year we are expected to do more.  It’s not as if we were lazy do-nothings before!  This year I have no choice except to cut a lot of services.  It can’t be helped.  Remember, services = people….

I’ve also been busy doing work around the house.  I’ve been raking leaves (both houses!), winterizing, cleaning and organizing, etc.  That’s one reason I love having these little mini-vacations to Cape Cod every couple of weeks, even if I have to do work around that (this) house too.

Blogging has been odd.  Again ;)  Oh, the life of a stats nerd!  My numbers have been good, and yet the new posts are getting less views than I’ve had since early 2015.  The large majority of my views are search engine related.  Odd.

Thinking of blogging, a little over two months ago I hit 1000 “real” followers (those who actually clicked the follow button),  a little over a week ago I posted my 100th post (a Weekly Smile post!) and yesterday I had my three year blog anniversary (blogiversary).  So many milestones in such a short period of time!  So there are good things on the stats nerd side of the house!  Not to mention that my Weekly Smile has hit week #45!

I posted a huge amount over the last week.  On Sunday I posted a very rare political rant about the unprecedented negative election season.  You’ll be happy to know that I stayed nonpartisan.  Later on Sunday I posted a reminder for the Weekly Smile 44.  On Monday I posted photos that I took in early September on cape Cod.  On Tuesday I posted a short poem telling people to vote!  On Wednesday I posted my Weekly Smile, to prove it could be done ;) I started Thursday with a love poem (to make up for the political poem on Tuesday) and later put up a short story for Friday Fictioneers.  I really liked Thursday’s story, so on Friday I took that 100 word bit of flash fiction and turned it into a 2000 word story!  Later, when Word Press congratulated me for my three years, I put up my Three Year Blog-Anniversary post.  Besides this, I updated one of my fiction pages and my poetry page.  A lot of posting!

Even though today is cold and windy, it is sunny and I am on The Cape!  That means I will be spending a lot of time outside.  I also have a lot of other things indoors to do.  So what I’m saying is that no matter how much I enjoy your company, I will have to get moving soon.  I mean, it has been great having you over for a chat!  I’m sorry that it’s been all about me, but if you host a coffee chat I’ll stop by and it can be all about you :)  Thanks for stopping by and I’ll see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

31 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the Twelfth of November

  1. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    I’ve been watching on the Australian sidelines as the US Election results and their aftermath have appeared on TV. Initially, I thought it was the end of the world but he seemed quite subdued in his acceptance speech and I felt a glimmer of hope. Could he possibly step in line. I hope he takes his responsibilities seriously.
    I’ve written a bit about the election results here and have included a link through to a post which looks at the results through the writings of Leonard Cohen. https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2016/11/12/rumi-me-the-us-election/
    Take care and I hope things look up in the weeks ahead.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We’ll just have to wait and see how he behaves. Maybe he will realize the implications. I think nobody understands what it means to be president until they are actually sitting in that office.

      I’m sure your weekend is long over, so I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        That’s a great point, Trent and I think it describes the seeming “transformation” I’ve seen in him. That he has a deep respect for the office and he’s behaving himself. It could well be that there was a lot of theatre in his campaign and he’ll settle down. As much as part of me is inclined to press the panic button, I do think he deserves a chance to put himself forward as President before I worry too much.
        From reading Corina’s post, you get those bad eggs and they’re not necessarily Trump supporters or people he would endorse but they take advantage of the uncertainty and fear and let loose. I thought what happened in POrtland was actually a good news story because it shows that goodness triumphed and good people stepped out and overcame the bad.
        Sorry for talking in terms of good and bad but it’s Monday morning and my brain is fried. I’m going to have a nap shortly.
        Hope you have a great week.
        xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I do hope he settles down, but first he needs to make it clear that he doesn’t endorse extremism. A friend was at an anti-Trump rally and neo-nazis were very visible, in other words, they feel emboldened. i hope that’s not a sign for things to come….

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Rowena

            The neo-Nazi element really concerns me and I am also concerned about the checks and balances within the US political systems which could limit his power. I’ve never really looked into it before and not living in the US, haven’t had to study it at school. I did a year of government at uni but spent many of the lectures drinking coffee instead. There was a tall, dark and handsome engineer I was keen on.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  2. Maggie C

    HI, Trent. Congratulations on your blog milestones. I don’t follow my stats; I’m just glad I have a few someones coming to check my blog. I read an interesting article with photos of Trump’s visit to the White House. As the article points out, Trump looked unhappy and in some photos even terrified. Sometimes we have to be careful what we ask for. Or what we run for.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Until he was actually the Republican nominee I always thought he was some day going to turn to a TV camera, smile, and say, “Ha! I got you! You actually thought I wanted to be president!” Maybe that was his plan and he never got a chance to do that surprise ending… I do hope he is better than many of us fear.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rosemary Carlson

        I keep hoping things will settle down as everyone processes that Trump did, indeed, get elected. BUT, if he starts radically changing policies that affect people – Medicare, Social Security, etc. – I honestly don’t know what in the world will happen.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I agree. Of course he is a president, not a dictator, and all of that stuff has to go through congress, but the Republicans have both houses and the Tea Partiers, though in the minority, have the power, so it is possible something like that could happen.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              No, it isn’t. There has to be checks and balances and someone asking “Are you sure?” before major decisions are made. I am not looking forward to seeing who the new Supreme Court Justice will be :(

              Like

              Reply
  3. bettylouise31

    Congratulations on your achievements. I agree with you about your stats. Mine make no sense. I feel WordPress is not very accurate. Thank you for your thoughts on the political situation. One thing I am thankful Obama has control of the arm forces now. This morning an event occurred here when two police officers and their K-9 Dog were shot. The shoter is probably dead, The K-9 is recovering, one officer critical, the other recovering. It doesn’t appear to be connected to the election. It brought home the the situation to be me. The location is near here and very close to wereI grow up. Pray for PEACE.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      In some ways violence in this country is down, but what violence there is seems to be that type of senseless shooting, random violence and violence against authority, the stuff that makes headlines and makes us all wonder what’s going on with the world. Yes, pray for peace!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Shilpa Garg

    Congratulations on your blogging milestones, Trent! Wishing you many many more.
    The election results have shocked and disheartened most of us. I believe that we people are very resilient and always find a way to bounce back from negativity and tough times. Best wishes to all you and have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Solveig

    Congratulations! I have been absent from blog reading and well writing too so that must be having an impact on your stats.
    I am sorry for the election results, I was in shock and disbelief, but after a surprise brexit vote, I was worried that there would be a repeat at the US elections…
    have a great weekend!

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have missed you, and even if it wasn’t really a major hit int he stats, I did miss those that came from France! I hope you are doing alright.

      I think most of the English speaking world has gone crazy, with the exception of Canada. I hope the rest of the world doesn’t follow us down this path….

      Thanks for stopping by! I hope you have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. nonsmokingladybug

    Congratulations on all your milestone achievements, I know they mean a lot to you.

    Like you, I am worried about the future of this country and I am worried about my future and our retirement -if there will be one. For the first time, in 34 years I don’t feel at home here in the country that I chose to be my home. I am not easily scared, I have seen a lot all over the world, but what’s going on here right now is scaring me. We are so deeply divided, I don’t see unity at the horizon.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There is a lot of uncertainty and a lot of reasons to be frightened. I think the leaders (i.e., the Donald) need to come out strongly against the hate that is becoming even more prominent after the election. Hopefully he will tell people that violence against minorities is not acceptable. We’ll see….

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          His believably is pretty low, but someone has to tell people that it is not OK to attack blacks and gays, which has been happening. The racists and bigots think that his victory means they they have been given the greenlight to attack people they hate, and only he has the ability to say, “No, I do not condone this” and then make sure those people are prosecuted.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. nonsmokingladybug

            The KKK will have a parade to honor Trump’s election, this is as low as it can get. Trump is a racist and so is Pence. Pence’s believes on gays are from the middle ages. I admire your optimism and I hope everything and everybody will proof me wrong.

            Liked by 2 people

            Reply
  7. Norm 2.0

    Congrats on all the milestones Trent. As for the political situation, well I have my opinions, but then doesn’t everybody right now?
    As your neighbors and best friends, Canada is very worried about you guys right now. Hopefully everyone there can take a deep breath and stop looking at those who hold differing opinions as they enemy.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks!

      Yes, everyone has their opinions. I try not to get too political on my blog so that I’ve even mentioned it is a huge thing! I can understand why Canada would be worried, and that’s not including the immigration problem you might face if people’s worst fears come true ;) I do think people need to take a deep breath and try to make peace,but I also think the leaders need to stand up and say we can’t be ruled by hate and that we need to make sure that the rights of minorities are protected. Just saying that will help…

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  8. Corina

    Good morning, Trent. Congrats on all of your milestones with the blog. I had gotten in a habit of checking my stats every day (yeah, I caught it from you) but this week it hasn’t mattered much. I hope your weekend is great! Ours is supposed to be a very wet one.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sorry that my stats-nerd disease is contagious ;) I can understand not looking at the stats this week – a lot of other things on your mind! I hope you have a good weekend and can get some sleep.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

