Politics :(

Eagle

Eagle

Before I say anything more, I just have to say, go out and vote!  If you live in the US, vote this Tuesday.  If you live elsewhere, vote in your elections.  It is the one time normal, common people have any voice at all.  Vote!

OK, back to the post….

When I set up my blog I made a promise to myself that I would keep politics 100% out of the blog.  I can talk about the way I think and feel and people can guess where I am politically, but I will never say I am for a certain party or candidate.  Believe me, it has been really hard to keep quiet this year!

I live in New Hampshire, which, if you follow US politics at all, you may know is one of the centers of US presidential politics.  It seems weird that such a small state is so important, but it is.  I have told you that I’ve seen, shaken hands with, and had words (not many) with governors of different states (past, present and (at the time) future), US Senators (past present and (at the time) future), US congresspeople (past, present and (at the time) future) and US Presidents (past, present and (at the time) future).  That’s not mentioning Cabinet members and local politicians.  I have seen and talked to politicians of both parties.  I have followed very closely each race.

I have never seen anything like this year.  Never.  Not close.  And not in a good way.

If I wrote what I wanted to write it would take dozens of posts.  Hundreds.  And then, being who I am, I would fact check it all and put in thousands of references.  And yet, it would not do any good.  You’d still believe what you want to believe.

One thing this election cycle has proven is that people are so, so much more governed by their emotions than any facts you can throw at them.  If a fact doesn’t match a person’s world view, it is biased.  There has been so much about fear, anger and hate.  Those are the major themes of this election.  And yet, if you point it out to people, they get mad (anger) at you and justify their prejudices (hate) without acknowledging that they are prejudices, and then go on to say how big of a disaster it will be if the opponent wins (fear).  It is scary to watch, but what happens after the election, no matter who wins, is what really scares me.

We live in a very very divided country and this election has spit it apart even more than it already was.  The divisions are beginning to look uncrossable.  There are people, a lot of people, who are calling for armed revolution if their candidate doesn’t win.  We, as a country, have to find a way to bridge that gap!  But we aren’t we are doing the exact opposite and running as fast as we can in opposite directions, putting up the barricades.

I have never seen politics this ugly in my life, not close.  Ugly.  Ugly.  Ugly.  And very scary.  Listening to fellow citizens spewing hate is scary.

OK, I wrote and deleted the whole thing five different times. I want to go on a tirade.  I want to scream from the top of a building.  But it will accomplish less than zilch – it will bite me in the butt.  I have said too much already, but it isn’t enough!  The madness has to stop.

I can’t wait for the election to be over and I hope all of my fears are unfounded.  Since I have never heard or seen anything as ugly as this, have never in the past heard literal calls to arms, I just have so little faith that there won’t be at least some issues continuing after the election.

So, there it is, my truncated, half stifled tirade.  I kept my promise and did not endorse a candidate.  I didn’t say the things I think need to be said…  There was no substance here, but substance seems more up for attack than option anyway.  So, a nothing tirade at that.   Wake me up on Wednesday!

Anyway, I will finish as I started – Go out and Vote!!

 

12 thoughts on “Politics :(

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the Twelfth of November | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Blog Woman!!!

    All completely understandable, and very well said, Trent. We, outsiders see all of this as much as the U.S. citizens and I’m sure we’re experiencing the same intensity of disbelief and outrage. I try to remain philosophical, in the sense that the U.S. is undergoing a major transformation and like all transformations, the housecleaning looks awfully messy before all the junk gets swept away.

    Glad I was able to catch this one. It’s been several weeks since I’ve been able to sit and enjoy some blogs. Hope all is well for you, outside of the political arena.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sure the view from around the world is interesting (in a bad way) and your view from the front lines in Canada must be very scary. It seems like a lot of the English speaking world has been having a meltdown and you have been lucky to not see it as bad as the UK, the US and Australia. Hopefully airing our dirty laundry does make it that much more imperative to clean it.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Corina

    It really has been more than difficult to keep my mouth shut about the issues and candidates this time around. I think this is one of those times where people cannot be swayed from their opinions, even when they are shown facts and figures. Frustrating to say the least. And I think you are right. It won’t be over come Tuesday. It’s going to be around for awhile. 😓. The fact that it had bright it so much bigotry and hatred is a wake up call.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I guess taking an optimist view, a lot of this bigotry and hatred has existed for a while, but now that it is back out in the open again maybe we can do something about it. When it’s hidden, there’s not as much as you can do. Yes, that’s the ultra-optimist view of the world… I’m not betting on it, but then, I don’t think it will be quite as bad as we sometimes fear.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I wish I could vote early. In fact, I wish that everyone in the US had a chance to vote early – one day doesn’t cut it. We may be in for some scary times, but hopefully we’ll hit bottom soon and start back to something a little more normal.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      waiting to see “what” wins ;) I get it. I wish NH had early voting. In fact, I think all states should, since some have such a hard time getting to the polling stations on that one day.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

