If We Were Having Coffee on the 5th of November, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in out of the late fall cold and I’ll get you a large mug of very strong French Roast or a cuppa tea or other morning appropriate beverage.  The sun is coming up November late (the clocks change tomorrow, so it will be dark so much earlier), but the air is crisp and clear, making al of the muted colors stand out.  The fireworks are long gone and we are left with the burning embers of autumn, the oranges against the dark greens, the brick reds and dirty yellows, the browns and beiges.  It is still beautiful, but in a more mutated way.  The wind still calls my name, telling me I need to go out and enjoy the last of natures colors before everything is coated in white.  Oh, and where do the trees still glow with the very last of autumn’s fire?  Some of you may recognize that synthesizer in the picture at the top as being in New Hampshire.  Oh, here is a picture i took with my phone out of my kitchen window yesterday.  It’s the same view as the last two weeks, just a different angle across towards the police station instead of down towards the library.

window-november-4

It has been an odd week all around.  Some good and some bad.  I haven’t gotten out as much as I’d like, but I did some.  I continued winterizing, but got a bit behind.  I read a book and did a review of the series (see below for link)  Yes, that’s a problem for me; once i get into a book nothing else gets done.  I played with my electronic music instruments quite a bit.  I bought myself a piece of equipment for my birthday and rearranged my studio, which always inspires the creative juices.  Of course there is exercise including running a couple of times, and massage to take care of those muscles I exercised.  And then there was more music ;)

Thinking of music, when Windows 10 installed on computer I was having major issues.  I finally figured out that it was iTunes crashing my computer.  So I uninstalled it, read a lot of things on the Internet on how to get it to work.  But it never worked.  I went through the registry and deleted every mention of “Apple” and “iTunes” (DO NOT try this at home!), I deleted every music folder (the library itself was on an external hard drive), and every thing I could think of.  No dice.  So a little over a week ago I decided to try again.  And not only did it work, but it picked up my library with lists, play count and everything else.  I have no clue where the files were that had this info.  So I have music on my computer again!  And I synced my iPod again.  I even added more music!

Work was busy.  I finished a project, or at least a huge milestone in a project, on Wednesday.  There is still a little cleanup, but when we are talking hundreds of apps, tens of thousands of pages and millions of daily users, that handful of issues is a relief.  There are other things coming up and then a huge amount of organizational work on the horizon, but this is the weekend!  I don’t have to worry about any of it.

I tried to spend a little more time reading blogs this week, but I’m not close to the level I was.  Word Press has rewarded me.  It is funny, my views go up and down more on how much I reead than how much I post, yet most of the blogs I read don’t do tit-for-tat reading.  Right now about 60% of my views are older posts, many from search engines, others random people picking them up.  The numbers of views per new post didn’t really change much, but when I wasn’t reading I’d get zero views through search engines or random people.  Zero.  Anyway, so since I’m reading more my stats are almost back to normal.

I did quite a bit of posting this week.  I started with a reminder for last week’s smile (one about my Halloween birthday).  On Monday I had a post about a new music video to an old piece of music I’d recently put on Youtube.  On Tuesday was a poem about the feeling of isolation we all get.  Wednesday was my Weekly Smile, which was also my 1000th post!  Thursday was a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers and then, later, a book(s) review of the Radch Series. On Friday I posted a short story, a dark psychological thriller.

As i said, the trees and stones are all calling my name, yet I have a million and one things I still need to do around the house.  In other words, I’ll be busy, so I will just be popping in and out of WP today and tomorrow.   I don’t want to be rude and push you towrds the door, or anything…  It has been great having you for a chat!  I know it’s been all about me, but if you host a coffee chat I’ll stop by and it can be all about you :)  Thanks for stopping by and I’ll see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

29 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 5th of November, 2016

  1. Nancy

    Sounds like a productive sort of week. Make sure to listen to those winds and get in all the outdoor time you can while you still can! I don’t know why but the photos of your town reminded me of the setting in an old Alfred Hitchcock movie, “The Trouble With Harry.” Have you ever heard of it? It’s one of my favorites and it takes place in and around a small New England town. Thanks for the coffee (and for giving me the boot. I have lots to do myself! 😊)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, I love “The Trouble With Harry”. It’s been years since I’ve seen it. These little New England towns all look the same ;) Actually, my village is not as far off the beaten track as the one in that movie! Once upon a time a train from Boston used to come up here and let people off to play in the snow (the three-town toboggan run was famous), but there are a lot of starving artists here – some of the old mill buildings were converted into artist studios.
      I did make it outside a bit, but mostly raking leaves and playing with (and walking) the dogs.

      I hope you had a great weekend and have a good week ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Thanks for coffee. Glad to hear you have music again. Life would be tough without it. And a new toy with which to be creative. You are lucky that you are creative in so many different ways – writing, and music. Lovely colours in your photo. Perhaps stats are back up because it is getting cold as well as all the things you mentioned. Well done on your work milestone and hope you have a successful weekend finishing off your winterising. Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The problem with being a stats nerd is I try to make sense of it all knowing that there most likely is no underlying pattern. Oh well, I shouldn’t bother, but I do. So far the weekend of doing various chores, like winterizing and raking leaves, is going well. I do like having a lot of creative outlets, it’s just that there is never enough time for them! At least I never have to be bored.
      Thanks for stopping by for coffee! I hope you have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

        I find the stats fascinating as well and at one point contemplated doing my masters thesis researching the stats by having a number of different blog sites each using a different strategy and trying to analyse what it actually is. I set up the second site and I couldn’t keep up with the writing for two, let alone the multiple I was proposing. I just go with the flow now but it is hard to stop looking.
        Have a good week Trent.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          That would make a great thesis! I’m much better about them now then I used to be, but I still try to figure out why things are happening. Sometimes there seems to be a trend or pattern, and then it goes out the window. Oh well, people are random ;)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. Rowena

    Hi Trent, thanks very much for the cup of tea and Autumn colours to go with it.
    Knowing your love of music, I thought I’d share my experience of taking my daughter to her audition this afternoon. She attends a dance school and was auditioning for Dance Team for the first time. She had to dance for a minute, sing for a minute and then we both had to have an interview. In some ways, it was very low key but because it’s at her dance school, it’s quite different to auditioning for a show and not getting selected. You don’t go back there again. She had so much invested in this audition to the point that she was shaking, was almost being sick and couldn’t speak. She tried to back out of it this afternoon too but I wouldn’t let her. If she withdrew, it would only reinforce the negative emotions but if she went through with it, she’d be building up resilience and gaining strength for next time. I know the teachers really well and they’re very supportive and so I knew she was in a very safe environment for having a go.
    She has received a call back and I was told that when she sang, her teacher was teary and very moved. I wouldn’t know. I really tried to hear her singing through the walls but she sings in her room at home.
    My daughter is pretty shy but loves the performing arts. The irony is that I’m very outgoing but I have the health problems which hold me back.
    Do you find that a lot of musicians are more on the introverted shy side? I’d never considered it until a few years ago. My cousin is a cellist and she’s been acutely shy but has come out of her shell a bit. I feel that sensitivity could well enable them to feel the nuances in the music better. Any thoughts?
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think a lot of musicians, and artists in general, are introverts. We live so much in our head all of the time. Of course there are great extrovert artists and musicians, or at least those how seem to be very extroverted, but I think most are Introverts. Technically you don’t have tho be shy to be an introvert or even an introvert to be shy, but I see a lot of creative people who are also a little on the shy side. Me? I’m very much on the shy side! Which is one reason i like playing music in my “studio” and writing – I do it in my own little world.
      Anyway, from that one teacher’s feedback it sounds like your daughter did very well at her tryouts. I hope she gets a spot on the team!
      Nice having you for coffee and tea. Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I got out a little, but mostly did chores all day. Some, like raking leaves, were outdoor chores, so a little bit of both. We are still in a major drought, but this fall has been a little wetter than usual and we had ran last night, but today is bright and gorgeous again. I guess living in the Pacific Northwest it’s good that you like rain ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Corina

        It’s sort of half sunny and half cloudy today. The weather report says only 10% chance of rain for the rest of the day so not bad. I wish I felt better so I could go out for a short hike but today I feel crummy and feverish. :(

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      They say you have to read to write, but I’m like you, when I’m writing I don’t have time to read!
      I’m glad you could stop by and join me for coffee!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Shilpa Garg

    The view from your kitchen window is picturesque.
    It’s the same with me regarding books. If a book appeals to me, I just cant stop till I finish reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I often get so caught up in a book’s universe that I just don’t want to leave… When I was a kid I could afford to spend all of my free time reading, but i can’t any more.
      That is one of the things I like about this house, the view out over the village. In the Autumn it’s great, with the bright leaves lasting from late September through mid November.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Pamela Morse

    The trees are golden and the hour is golden in that photo. You can’t get any more golden than that..a flame out before winter hits. I too have switched from a huge library frequent user to a digital print reader..life is change. I still read some books, but nothing like my previous habits.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do love the golden light of autumn. And it’s great to be able to just sit and look out of the window and see the leaves changing. Or stand, in the case of this window… I still occasionally binge on books, but yeah, not even close to what I once did.

      Like

      Reply
  6. brittabottle

    What’s funny is I went on my stats page for the first time in weeks a few days ago…and I’ve been getting a lot of views for how little I’ve been posting lately. I also haven’t been reading many blogs at all. I don’t understand it at all, but I suppose I wont complain. Beautiful picture from your window, Trent. We’ve had a few very fine fall days in DC of late, including today. Trying to soak it all on while it’s here! A lot is happening in my life right now and this week has been a very introspective one. I would say I’m going through a massive period of personal change right now… And I really have no idea what that means completely, but I’m sure time will tell.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Often the stats don’t make sense, and I know I shouldn’t pay attention to them, but I am a stats nerd…

      This hasn’t been the most beautiful autumn ever, but it has been nice. Most of my pictures,though, have been phone photos out of the window. Have you been able to get away to rural Virginia or Maryland? I’ve never been there in the fall, but I know there are gorgeous places not too far from the city.

      I did see on your last post that you are going through one of those times. I have to be honest and say that one reason I like your blog is that the internal journey you write about is often very similar to what I felt at your age. You are much more organized, but other than that, it’s similar. Writing also helped me make sense of it all, but in truth, often it is topsy-turvey and there is no sense to be made form it all. You just have to sit back and live. Though writing is always a great release! And time will tell. I could never have imagined I’d end up were I am. And I’m not going to even try to guess where I’ll be in ten years.

      Anyway, I hope you’re having a great weekend!

      Like

      Reply
  7. Colline

    I am exactly the same when it comes to reading a book. If it is good, the world passes by until I am done. Which is why when I have deadlines, I avoid any novels!
    Sounds like you had a busy week and a fruitful one. Computers and their applications remain a mystery to me – I can never understand why they work one day and not the next. Glad your issue worked out well.
    Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m a computer professional/nerd, so I think I do much better than the average person. Which, of course, makes my wonder how bad other people have it!

      As i said on another comment, there have been times in my life that I stopped reading books because I couldn’t afford to just take a few days out of my life! i still read plenty, just not books.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There have been periods in my life where I stopped reading books because I didn’t have time – I had plenty of time to read, which I filled from other sources (magazines, Internet, etc.), but couldn’t block out half a day for a few days!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

