If We Were Having Coffee on the 29th of October, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a large mug of very strong French Roast or a cappa tea or some other warm, breakfast appropriate beverage.  It is a little nippy outside, but still above freezing.  It has been cold and rainy the last two days, so it is still damp out there, but I think it should be better.  And where are we?  Some long time readers may see the picture at the top and and know we are in Co Mayo, Ireland New Hampshire.  (You weren’t supposed to read the mug, just know where it is ;) )

As I said, it was a weird week weather wise.  We had a frost, I think our first for the year, but it wasn’t that crisp, thick frost we’ll soon be seeing.  The leaves were past peak, yet still pretty.  Today it looks pretty ragged out my window.  There are patches of color, still a lot of green (the oak trees are still green, as are, of course, all of the pine), some bare limbs and bits that just look fuzzy and grey in the distance.  It is still pretty in it’s way and I will take every opportunity to get out into it.  However, despite being stuck inside the last two days, I have a huge amount of winterizing to do, such as wrapping the windows. (That post was around this time last year).  There is a ton of outside work, like raking leaves, but I often wait until I’m sure most of them are down, and there are a lot of oak trees in my back yard.  The picture below is from earlier this week.  No, it is not the same picture as last week, but obviously the same view out of my window.  Pretty, yes?

morning-10-26-2016

Work was busy, perhaps more than most weeks.  There are a lot of unresolved issues that have to be cleared very soon.  But this is the weekend, so I’m going to sit back and sip on my coffee and not think about them.

As with last week I’ve been reading a lot.  I hate reading because once I start something, everything else is pushed out the window…. Oh well, I’ll still try to find time to do other stuff.

Which brings up blogging.  The first week of my “blogging slowdown” was the deepest.  Since then I’ve slowly increased my reading and greatly increased my posting.  I am posting at least as much as i was before the slowdown, and have been for a couple of weeks, but Word Press does reward those who spend time reading and commenting on other people’s posts so my views are still under half of what they were just before the slowdown and one third what they were over the winter.  Well, I just don’t have time to read any more than i currently am, and am already starting to spent too much time again, so I guess I’ll just get used to lower numbers again.  (Don’t give me that look – this is mostly me gently poking fun at my stats obsessed self ;  I really don’t take it that seriously)

So I said I posted a lot, right?  I started Monday talking about trying to get some pictures of seals off the coast of Cape Cod.  I waded in almost up to my waist and felt I was right on top of them, but my phone failed to capture seals.   Tuesday was a poem about a child’s love of keeping various live critters caged and how some people never outgrow it, and even keep people “caged”.  Also on Tuesday i celebrated wearing my first turtleneck of the season!  I even included a selfie of me wearing it, a picture taken just for this post.  Wednesday started out with my Weekly Smile about my parents returning from 2 1/2 weeks overseas.  Later, I reposted a call for help from fellow blogger and indie author Linda Hill.  Thursday I did a throwback post about an adventure I had as a teen “doing” the local bar scene (Double Pepsi.  On the rocks!).  On Friday I posted a short story about a very scary encounter.  Or is it?  Later on Friday I posted a Smile about the Smiles, just stating that last week’s Smile, week 42, had a bigger turnout than any other smile in at least six months!  This week isn’t close yet, but there is still time!

One thing I want to bring up about this week’s short story.  I wanted to write a scary, chilling, horror, or whatever story for Halloween, but the story had different ideas.  Last year I posted six stories as a lead up to Halloween and one just after.  And that doesn’t include reposts of older stories.  I had at least one story posted every day the week leading up to Halloween.  In fact, I posted three of them on October 30!   In 2014 I had a horror story on the two Fridays before Halloween.  This year?  Nothing.  Except the near miss on Friday.  I’m getting boring :(

Anyway, on that note, I have a ton to do today.  I am running out and doing shopping for winterizing materials and such first thing.  And then, as I said, I need to try to get.  And then there is the actual winterizing.  It has been great having you for a chat!  I know it’s been all about me, but if you host a coffee chat I’ll stop by and it can be all about you :)  Thanks for stopping by and I’ll see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

 

34 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 29th of October, 2016

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I was boring and didn’t do anything this year :( It’s actually been a few years since I had a good costume. I’ll have to come up with something for next year. I’ll start thinking now. And that view out of my window, I agree! I sometimes actually stand at the window and watch the world go by. In fact, the first short story I wrote had a few scenes at that window – the story was awful, but the bug bit me and I’ve been writing ever since – so yes, the window is inspiration too ;)

      Like

      Reply
  1. Tara

    It’s nice to take the weekend and leave work thoughts behind. Mine has been similar and I spent these two days ignoring all of it. Ahhhhhh. Pretty autumn photos help. Thanks for sharing.
    Have a great week!
    Tara

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Tara, I somehow missed your comment! The whole purpose of weekends is to leave work behind and just relax. Or do work on the house ;) I hope your week has been going well and you have a great weekend coming up.!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A lot of nasty weather. Actually, I’m not longer near the Great Lakes – I grew up in the Cleveland area, very close to Lake Erie (it is a lake town, but we lived a couple of miles away), but am now in New Hampshire. Still, I think the whole eastern half of the continent got it’s fair share of rain. Good for us being in a drought, but tough for being outside!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Kathleen Howell

    Love the view! We’ve got winterizing to look forward to also, I have just a few drafty windows that need the plastic. Our maples haven’t even begun to drop their leaves, so there will probably be snow before we can rake. :-) Horror stories?? Where?? I’d love to read them.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think fall is a little late everywhere this year. We lost a lot of leaves during the few days of rain we have, but there are still splashes of maple and other things out there. Most of the windows in my house are leaky and I have a lot of windows….
      Most of the horror stories are pretty mild, but you can find them by going to the “writing” menu and then either the “fiction” page, which will give short descriptions of the stories, or another level down to “Fiction – No Description”. You can start by finding the ones around Halloween last year…
      I hope you have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Heartafire

    Never having the winterizing experience it is interesting and a little exciting to imagine this process. Thank you for bringing me along and the coffee. It was fun

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s one of the joys of owning a very old, very big house in northern New England. Maybe not as exciting once you’ve done it a few times… On the other hand, it starts getting you in the mood for snow, and we often get a lot of that! Thanks for joining me for coffee! I hope you have a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I use a clear plastic film, so I can still see out of them. This year, for the first time, I am putting a heavy “heat shield” on the lower half of a handful of the windows before I put the plastic over – I need to get some light in!

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Pamela Morse

    Winterize is a daunting task when you live up there…I just need to swap out some closed toed shoes and some warmer clothing. The leaf raking alone makes me feel tired of the whole seasonal joys of living. But when I see the picture I do see the positive side of it all..it looks like it almost can’t be natural with all that color. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The problem is that I live in a large, old house which is very inefficient. I won’t tell you how many windows it has…. I recently swapped most of my clothing, though I only took out a few sweaters. At the end of November I’ll pull out the rest.
      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s a huge chore and 7yes, very necessary. I spend more per year on heat than the mortgage (including interest), taxes, insurance, etc. combined and it would double if I didn’t do windows.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply

Express Yourself

