Caged

Butterfly

As a child I would keep
Some beauty I would find
A snake or a frog
A bug or butterfly
In a jar
Or a cage
In my room, by my bed
I would hope it would like
The new home I had provided
I hoped it would adapt
To its new environs
I came to learn
To watch beauty from afar
To see these creatures
In their native homes
To let them live their own lives
Why is the desire
So deeply ingrained
To cage that beauty
Capture that wild
Whether creature
Or Human?
Sometimes it is best
To watch beauty from afar

5 thoughts on “Caged

  1. Zee

    “Sometimes it is best to watch beauty from afar” does this also means grass is always greener on the other side and all that glitters is not Gold? That you might start to see the ‘not so beautiful’ part of it ? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Zee. I don’t know how I missed your comment here before. Right, all that is gold doesn’t glitter and the other side is always… wait,that’s wrong ;)

      Sometimes when we try to keep the beauty for ourselves, we ruin it and so it is no longer beautiful. A wild flower is much more beautiful in it’s natural setting than plucked and placed in a vase in my house. We try to collect beauty, but end up taking it away. So I “hunt” with my camera. And what about people? Is it good or evil to try to tie a beautiful soul to ourselves? The only answer is that you must make sure that the other soul always has a choice, that if that caged bird of a soul wants to be free, you must open that cage and let them go, or, better yet, never put it in the cage to begin with. I’ve lost most of the thoughts I had when I wrote this, but that was the idea – letting people go if they need to go, while welcoming them with compassion and honesty when they first arrive. To be sure not to try to cage people, no matter how innocently you do it. Something like that ;)

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 29th of October, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

