Seal Hunting ;)

beach

On Saturday I went out to my favorite beach, Chapin Beach in Dennis.  It was very foggy and sprinkling a bit, so I decided not to bring my camera.  I hadn’t really been paying too much attention to the tides so was happy to find it was approaching low tide – there would be huge expanses of sand to explore.

When I was out at the waters edge, listening to the gently surf and looking across the foggy expanses of sea water, I heard an eerie sound.  It happened again from some dark dots in the water.  I walked over and recognized a seal bark.  Then I saw them, I counted over twenty, most in a large group, some swimming farther away, some coming and going.  They were very close in.

So, without a camera all I had was my phone.  I’ve said this many times, my phone camera stinks for taking pictures of “things”.  It’s great for ultra-wide angle panoramas, but a close up?  Once I saw a snake and decided to get a picture to see if it was poisonous.  I’m glad it wasn’t, because I’d be dead: I had to get less than 10 cm from it to get a picture.  The hawk pictures I took this summer?  They were all horrid unless i was less than two meters from the bird, even then they weren’t good unless I stuck my hand within a meter of that nasty beak.  So, armed with only that, what was I to do?

I had on Tevas (water sandals) and shorts.  I hiked my shorts up as tight as I could get them (I’m glad it was too foggy for the one or two people on the beach to see what I was doing as I know my back-end was a little exposed….)  I waded out until, well, I got my shorts wet even hiked up that high….  And I reached my free hand out to take pictures.

OK, a few things.  yes, I’m talking New England in late October.  But the water was surprisingly warm!  And I could see the seals so clearly – I could see their eyes, nostrils and even whiskers.  I was that close!  I could hear them breathing!  Wild!  And, yeah, I could see people, but they were quite a ways away, hopefully not laughing at my exposed bum getting wet.

So, how did the pictures turn out?  The below picture, perhaps the best, was rotated and cropped a little.  Great, huh?

seals

OK, I officially hate my phone’s camera!  And look at the picture at the top – I was about as far away from shore as I was from the seals….  (that picture was very out of alignment and had to be rotated and cropped even more than the others)

Here’s another!  Cropped more than the other seal picture.

seals-2

WooHoo!  Isn’t that great?!?  If you don’t hear sarcasm, look again at the picture ;)

So, when it is finally time to replace my phone (it is over two years old but, other than the camera, works great and keep a charge better than most new phones), I will have to ask about the camera and make sure it can do something other than panoramas.  But then, this one does panoramas so well!

Chapin Beach

9 thoughts on “Seal Hunting ;)

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 29th of October, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Zee

    Even though seal pictures might not be great but still the serenity you captured is beautiful. There is eeriness and mysteriousness to the those photos that I like. Plus the paranorma is stunning!!😍 so I wouldn’t give away that phone just yet 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      As i said, the panoramas from this phone are great – so I will keep it. Maybe I can find a clip on lens…. but then, I might as well carry my real camera!
      I agree that the photos are atmospheric, which is one reason I didn’t feel bad posting them. Being out there in quiet fog, the gentle waves lapping at my feet, the distant barking of the seals was like souls in another universe peeking through into our world. Very eerie!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Zee

        Oh I bet ! I was lost in the way you described the experience so I’m sure it was much more magical in real life. I’ve always had Mobile Camera to my rescue and to capture Moments like these. What a blessing, hehe! 😁

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yes, I was carried away by the magic moment… or was it the almost warm but a little cool water hitting my almost bare behind? ;) Never mind… I want the camera on my mobile to be as good and as flexible as my dslr!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Holding it up to my ear might look funny. I’m also not a very good texter, I’m sure I’d be rotten if my “phone” weighed two kilos ;) (The dslr isn’t -that- heavy, but it isn’t light!) On the other hand, I’d always have the tools needed to get a good picture!

              Like

              Reply
  3. Mrs. Completely

    My phone camera sucks as well. Who knew when I got the phone that I would use it less for talking and more for taking pictures and holding my music? How could I have known that I would want to check Facebook or Twitter on it? I’m not a kid – I’m a sensible woman with grown children and never thought I would need to be connected to stuff because of my Blog.

    So, now I need to justify replacing a phone that is still perfectly good. I will add to the world’s consumerism. Fossil fuels will be necessary to make my new phone. I’ll recycle my old phone but that doesn’t really make me feel good about getting new one. And when I do get a new phone will it become useless after 4 years because it won’t do things that I will need it to do because technology marches onward?

    My inner demons continue the wrestling match. I’m not sure who is going to win.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I get it. The mass-consumerism bug often bites me and I have to have the latest and greatest, ignoring what effects that really has on the world. That’s one reason I’m going to try to keep my phone until it dies, awful camera or not. And yes, those stupid phones do draw you in, even if you’re not a kid. I occasionally purposefully forget it just so I have a few minutes of freedom….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

