If We Were Having Coffee on the 22nd of October, 2016

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice mug of very strong Sumatra (ha!  I got you, not French Roast today) or a cuppa tea or some other morning appropriate beverage.  It’s a weird morning.  Unseasonably warm and very foggy. I can’t really tell what the day will bring weather-wise.  I’m hoping nice, since it’s Saturday.  And where am I?  By the image at the top some of you may be able to guess that I’m on Cape Cod.

It was a weird week, good and bad.  I’ve talked about our Penny Sale, both as a mention in last week’s coffee share and as my Smile for the week.  I don’t even remember Sunday ;)  No alcohol involved, just living and recovering from the day working.  I did a lot of reading and beta-reading.  I also did some writing – I recently finished another pass through my short story book.  I still haven’t talked to one important beta-reader to do a final pass before low level editing begins.

Work was, well, up and down.  A few major set backs on some projects, but some hope for the future.  Yeah, there’s a reason for PMs to exist: we keep things running smoothly or pick up the pieces when they no longer run smoothly.  We’ll see.  A lot out there to do still.

I’m not back into the swing of things blogging, but I did read more and post more.  Funny, my posts are still getting about 1/4 of the views they were getting back through the summer.  usually October is a very good month.  Still, we’ll see if it picks up if/when I start reading full time again….

I missed my Sunday Smile reminder, so my first post was Monday where I asked if it really matters if I take pictures of the amazing fall foliage.  I sort of answered that on Thursday with a post of fall foliage phone photos as a smile part  2.  I did post my Weekly Smile about the Penny Sale, but almost immediately followed it with a repost from Sue Vincent (read it :) ), that’s why I had a smile part 2.  I posted two poems this week, one on Tuesday about the good side of the Internet/Blogging community, and one on Friday evening about putting emotional trust in your (boring) friends instead of someone filling your head with fantasy (nothing wrong with fantasy!  I deal in dreams, but also have to talk reality on occasion).  On Friday I also posted a story that’s a little grittier than usual for me, but with what I hope will be a nice twist.  I also put up a new page, a list of all of the weekly smiles.

window-2

If the weather cooperates I will be spending as much time out of doors today as possible.  It is still grey and damp, but yesterday started that way and quickly burned off.  We’ll see.

Thanks for joining me for coffee!  I hope you had a great week and I’ll see you soon.   If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)  Anyway, thanks again for stopping by and I hope to see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

41 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 22nd of October, 2016

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! When I read this comment I had forgotten I had posted the autumn picture and thought you must really like the mugs ;) As far as mugs go, my other Cape Cod picture is a stack of Beatles mugs.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      A great friend, despite being a bad beta-reader ;) Actually, my sister is one whose opinions I really, really want. despite being a sister, she will tell me what she thinks. And she hasn’t finished :( So don’t feel bad. Depending on when my sister finishes, I will start the next and final draft in about two weeks, give or take. So you still have time! I have done one draft since I sent you that one, so if you haven’t started or are not very far into it, let me know and I’ll send you the latest.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Zee

        Haha oh I deserve the “bad beta reader” tag, absolutely ! 😝 and I’m glad at least your sister is with me lol but I’m sure she’s the more experienced one who’s gonna make your book awesome😉 you can send me the new draft if you want I’m not very far into the book yet. So that’d be great ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  1. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    Thanks for the coffee and the Mars Bar Slice which is currently parked beside my mouse half-eaten. Yum!
    I love the photo of the Autumn colours and I’ll check out a few of your other posts. Like Irene, we don’t get much in the way of Autumn colours here and I was intrigued to see, when I looked up the temperatures in New Hampshire awhile back, that your weather reports on the changing of the Autumn leaves. I loved that. In my town there are about 3 deciduous trees which change colour.
    Although it was a bit wet and windy on the weekend, the weather was perfect this morning and I finally took the dogs for a walk along the beach. They both went swimming and Lady arrived home looking like dog schnitzel.
    Both dogs are currently baking out in the sun…a pair of hedonists!!
    Hope you have a good week!
    xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The colors are very gorgeous around here. I complain about winter, but in ways it’s worth having it to get the other three seasons. On Saturday I went out into the ocean up to my waist – the water was still that warm! And one of the dogs swam (the other is afraid of the water). Later the weather turned very cool. Sunny but cold.
      I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pamela Morse

    Thanks for the coffee, Trent. For a guy who is taking time off you sure did a lot of blogging this week. Congratulations on your productivity and variety. Hope our time outside i all that fall glory worked out for you. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sorry, I somehow missed this. Thanks for joining me for coffee! My time off blogging has come down to spending much less time reading blogs than before. I usually spend about 20X more time reading than writing, but I don’t have time for it. because i did enjoy being outside ;) Hope you’ve had a good week!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Great photo with lovely colours. We don’t get that here in our subtropical climate. We have had an unseasonably cold miserable day today so somehow I think your weather and ours has got mixed up. It actually sounds as though you have had a busy week – sounds productive to me. Hope your numbers start to pick up soon.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Busy and productive. Yes, autumn here is great! It is by far my favorite season. Yesterday we had a bit of a cold snap and it’s back to normal or below normal temperatures, but at least today it is sunny again.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It didn’t get very nice today, but I spent time outside anyway. I went to the beach twice and the water was actually warm – I waded in almost to my waist. And then there was walking in the woods and such. I hope you’re able to get out!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Corina

    I missed a couple of your posts this week because I didn’t get much blogging time and when I did read, it was on my phone so all I can do it like and tweet. Commenting is getting really hard for me on my phone (vision issues and my fingers are gaining weight! :) ). I will try to go back and read some of them this weekend. I think I will have time. Crossing fingers.

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I hate leaving comments with my phone so always wait until I can do them on a computer. Anyway, if you get to the posts, great! But if not, don’t worry – none of us can read everything. I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Marje @ Kyrosmagica

    It’s been a while since I did we were having coffee post Trent, would love to join in sometime… Did intend to write my latest post as a coffee one but then decided it had to be headlined in a different way. Have a lovely weekend and week ahead. :)

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do like joining in the coffee posts. It’s always nice to be a little informal and catch up with all of the other bloggers that join in. You should try to when you have a chance! I hope you have a great rest of the weekend and a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    2. trentpmcd Post author

      Oh, and BTW, for some reason your comment was in spam :( I’m not sure why it was there – I occasionally check because some legitimate comments get sent there, like yours. Anyway, if people aren’t responding to you on other blogs, WP may have marked you for some reason.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

