Mundane Stones

I love the beach...

The poet wants to give you gossamer wings
Beautiful frill work
To let you fly and soar through the air
Head in the clouds
Trust rather the mundane stones of friends
They can be stacked for better view
They can be trusted
To be with you
For the flimsy film of wing
Will rip under the weight of reality
Crashing you to the dirt
Leaving you broken
And lower than before
While the foundation of friends
Will be there forever
And when you add the stony steadfastness
To help others
A tower can be built
Higher than the flight
Of the most beautiful butterfly
Trust not the gossamer wings of poets
Trust rather the mundane stones of friends

 

11 thoughts on “Mundane Stones

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I’m glad you liked it :) I had inspiration…. ;)

      Just a quick aside: as I said elsewhere, and as you know, I am a dreamer and I like dealing in dreams. I like to see the world through the yes of a poet. I want to fly on those gossamer wings, I really do! But I do have that realist side, and I do think we all need to look at the everyday around us, at those very stones, and see their worth, and write beautiful words about them, because, really, after the dreams, that is what makes the world :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Zee

        Oh I absolutely agree Trent. Sometimes we are so lost running after those dreams- a poet is always a dreamer after all. Thinking of ways, situations and feelings that might not fit real life too well. It’s beautiful sure, but you can’t rely on it forever. Once in a while you have to step down from the high “gossamer wings” (as you called it) and take a dip into reality. Once in awhile, but it’s necessary ;)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Yeah, your last sentence and a half captures it “take a dip into reality. Once in awhile, but it’s necessary” Most of the time, though, I’ll keep my head in the clouds and a dream in my heart :)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  1. Rowena

    That’s beautiful even if it is misguided. Whose side are you on? The poet or the rock’s? I read another coffee post talking about a guy being “vanilla”. No vanilla here! Not a lot of stability or rock like structures although I’m incredibly loyal.
    xx Ro

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It depends. Most of the times I deal in dreams and poetry, but sometimes… This was inspired by someone else’s post, a poem about being hurt by the poet promising the moon while those family and friends who know the person best are always there no matter what. So when I was putting a comment down, it came to mind as this poem.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 22nd of October, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

Express Yourself

