I Shared a Laugh

earth

I shared a laugh
With a neighbor
A thousand miles away
I chatted amicably
With a friend
Across the sea
I wrote a silly verse
For a special one
Who lives around the world
The boundaries
State, national, cultural and religious
Melt away
Leaving only our shared humanity

I saw a sign
Of hate
In my town
I heard exclusion
From someone
In my state
I read about calls to violence
To all who are different
From my fellow countrymen
How can those so close to me
Be so far apart?

I shared a laugh
With friends
Near and far
I hope tomorrow
It won’t be a cry

17 thoughts on “I Shared a Laugh

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. One of the great things about blogging is that it does tear down the barriers. Sure, some use it to throw up their own, but that’s only because the walls exist in those poor people’s minds and they can’t see beyond themselves.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sure you can relate, one who reaches across contested borders and sees the world without boundaries. <3 I think there are more of us than those who hate, they just speak louder. Someday our voices will be heard too!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I agree, there are so many out in the blogosphere, at least the corner that corner that I visit, who do reach out across those borders and don’t see any boundaries. We can’t see those political lines from space, now can we? They exist only in small minds :)

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Very much today’s times! Most of the people in my country are living in fear of any one outside of our country because some politicians and some TV stations get power by keeping these people in fear. The think love of country means hate of un-country. And we saw it in Britain and Australia. And I know it happens everywhere, like the division you live with between Pakistan and India and others were people are artificially divided. Just look at the poor Kurds – they are a single group of people split between several countries and hated by people in all just because they want unity for their people. And the list goes on… But then, there are so many good people out there! Those are the ones we must think about when we are down!

              Like

              Reply
            2. trentpmcd Post author

              Oh yes, one more short thought – in my own small way I’ll be fighting for that better world where we can all see eye to eye with that might weapon called the pen! OK, the computer keyboard ;)

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 22nd of October, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Karen Van Benschoten

    I now have friends here and beyond our boundaries, and have shared a laugh with many of them, usually because I can see what they’re saying, in my own thoughts and actions. I do believe I have more friends that live outside the boundaries of my state/country, than I have right here where I live. It really feels good when I run into someone (online) that I can identify with, or who understands me, not just my diagnoses.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      One of the good things about the blogging and the Internet in general, is we can chose who we want to hang out with, we are not limited by geography. It does make it easier to find those who understand. Of course it also makes it easier for people to build walls around their ideas and insulate themselves in ways that aren’t health or good, though I think the benefits outweigh the issues.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

