If We Were Having Coffee on the 15th of October, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice big mug of very strong French Roast or a cuppa tea or other warm beverage.  You may want it as it is chilly this morning.  I think this is the coldest it has been since last winter.  In fact, we hit the freezing mark, though we still haven’t had a hard frost.  The day will be sunny and a little on the cool side, though it is going to warm up quite a bit this week.  Tuesday may up to 79 F/26 C!  Yes, that’s warm for New Hampshire in mid to late October!  In case you didn’t realize where I am this weekend by looking at the picture at the top of the page, that last sentence gave it away.  I’m in New Hampshire.

It was a nice week.  As typical it was on the busy side.  Besides work being busy, it seems like there was something going on every night.  And, of course, just living.

Today is a big day, in ways.  I belong to the local Lions Club and today is our Penny Sale, our biggest fund raiser.  I’ll be working on that pretty much from noon until 10 or 11 at night.  It’s a long day and tiring.  So all of the stuff I have to do today will have to be done this morning.

My blogging break is going OK.  I have been reading the blogs a little more than I was at the beginning and posted a little more, but I’m not up to my full schedule.  And I still cringe when I look at the stats ;)  A post now gets less than 1/4 of the views and likes that a post three weeks ago would get.  It’s funny since the last two years October was the month that my stats would bounce back after their summer low.  This year October is about where they were during the summer of 2014.  Oh well, I knew this would happen going into the break.  And though I cringe, the stats aren’t making me hurry up to end the break.  Unfortunately I haven’t done 1/10 of the non-blogging stuff I have planned….

This week I started on Monday by reblogging a tribute from Idiot Writer to fellow blogger (or at least commenter and guest poster) Paul Curran.  I posted a poem about the special light of October on Tuesday.  On Wednesday I posted my Weekly Smile for week 41.  On Thursday I posted a little love story about Moon and Ocean.  It is very different from my usual style.

Anyway, I hate to be rude but I need to get up and do a few things around the house before I head out to help set up for the Penny sale.

That’s it for me this week!  How was your week? I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)  Anyway, thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.  (I’ll make the links hot later.  In the mean time, you can try PTM to see if the main post is up yet)

19 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 15th of October, 2016

  1. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    All the best with the blogging break and the fundraiser. I’ve had a few low days on the stats recently as I’ve been doing my family history research and they did hurt. I’d been getting away with it for a bit and then down they went.
    Take care and good luck with getting other projects sorted.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Fundraiser was good and blogging break is going on great, though I’m not getting as much done as I’d like! I did see a couple of family history posts from you. You just have to post what you like :)

      Like

      Reply
  2. Corina

    I hope the Penny Sale went well. I certainly know busy and breaks from blogging. I’m trying to get more blogging done. This week was better than past weeks but not great. We’ll see what the coming week brings.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The Penny Sale went well. No final numbers, but there were a lot of people there. That is one thing with a blogging break (or slowdown) – it can be difficult to get back into the swing of things!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Rosemary Carlson

    One more short comment. Writers have to have life experience. Reading, traveling, working in their communities, etc. You can’t do it all at the same time. Breaks are necessary. Yes, your stats will come back especially as you use those experiences in your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Breaks are needed, as is doing things and experiencing life. I try to stay well-rounded, but occasionally I find that I’m spending far too much time doing one thing, and lately it has been blogging. So a break is needed.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think everyone needs a break, or at least a slow down, on occasion. I know with me the blog starts taking more time incrementally and suddenly I turn around and that’s all I’m doing. So a bit of something else is nice. I’m a stats nerd, but I take it in stride – they are what they are…
      The fund raiser seemed to go well. We’ll have a count in a few days.
      have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

        I understand where you are totally as I’m the same. Stats fascinate me and when I first started I did a graph that analysed why people visited and it was interesting in those early days. Now I barely have time to reply to those who comment and hardly ever get around to visit people which makes me feel bad. I found my slow down has been good as it has stopped me obssessing.
        Glad the fund raiser went well. Hope your week is also good.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The event went well so we’ll find out soon how successful the fund raising part went. It’s a huge community even with hundreds of people showing up, so a lot of work.
      I hope your weekend is going well and that you have a great week.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I always keep moving. I’m hoping that during my slow down I’ll be able to hit some of these projects that have been on the back burner for a while. We’ll see…

      Like

      Reply
  4. thecoffeebeanbrain

    Thanks for coffee. I sometimes have to take short blogging breaks to read some posts and bloggers I’ve been meaning to visit. Works well for me as I get some inspiration or two from their published posts and of course, I always love connecting and commenting to their stories. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think we all need to take a break on occasion. One of my problems is I often spent too much time reading blogs that that is all I do – read blogs. So just reading a few of my favorites and some random ones after that instead of trying to to hit everything is restful. Connecting is one of the best parts of blogging, but even that has to occasionally slow down :)

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

