If We Were Having Coffee on the First of October

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Quick, come in out of the rain!  Here’s a nice steaming mug of strong French Roast, though you can have a cuppa tea if you’d rather.  Yuck, it’s nasty out there!  It has been wet and cool all week, not the typical crystal blue sky of early/mid Autumn.  Oh well, there is a severe drought and we need the rain.  Where are we?  Yes, I forgot to mention, we are on Cape Cod, though I think the wet cool weather extends to “home” in New Hampshire.  I know the severe drought does!

It’s been an odd week over all.  Work was busy, but it has been mostly administrative types of things.  Today is the first day of the New Year.  The New Fiscal year, that is.  A lot of people (managers) are looking back over the last year for lessons learned, there is a new much smaller budget, etc.  Things are different and some of the things effect my group and my team, so busy looking at that.  Plus, of course, the normal day to day business.  Anyway, it’s all good, just busy in a different way.

Most of the week was the same as always, though a bit on the damp side.  There is playing with dogs, exercising, writing, reading, playing music (i.e., playing instruments), blogging and other such stuff.  A few things different, of course, was the trip into Boston last Saturday.  I wrote a post about seeing most of the Western European Foreign Ministers stop off at the restaurant that I was sitting in.  The first car had the US Secretary of State, John Kerry, a local man (in Boston).  Besides that post, I also did a throwback post about another run in with Secret Service and John Kerry.

Which, of course, brings us to blogging.  I did a lot of blogging this week, but not as much as last.  And as the past few weeks have gone by, I did almost no reading on Monday and Tuesday – just too busy!  Besides the posts mentioned above, I did my Weekly Smile reminder on Sunday and a new Smile on Wednesday.  Check out this week’s Smile!  I posted a poem on Tuesday and a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers on Wednesday.  At the end of the week I posted a short story.  In some ways the story was a risky one.  If you started it and didn’t reach the end, please finish it!  You may be surprised!  The story is very short, but it begins in a very dark place….

My laptop down here on Cape Cod has been acting up.  Every time I’ve gone onto Word Press this morning it has crashed.  I’m now doing a virus scan as I write this in word.  I wrote the first two paragraphs over two hours ago!  I hope I get this posted without a hitch.  It’s fu… sorry, freaking frustrating!

That’s about it for this week.  I’m sitting here, listening to the rain on the window, fighting my computer and reading.

That’s it for me this week!  How was your week? I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)  Anyway, thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before

25 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the First of October

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’d love to send over some cool rain, but I think some would complain since we are still considered in a severe drought. But the rain did stop today, so maybe it did go off to find you ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m glad the rain found you after that long, perilous journey! It is kinda like that story, though there is an ingredient missing here that was in the story ;) As you know, it always rains when… Oh never mind, I’ll just get in trouble if I say more….
          I’m glad the rains came! I hope it is cooling down.

          Like

          Reply
  1. bettylouise31

    The way I’m going this morning I may not many coffee blogs done. I had a lot of pro writing my coffee share on WordPress. They seem to be working on the pictures libraries again that slow me down. Than I got lost in a favorite author from a the eightys. Have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I can understand. After I posted I started a book. The problem with books is that you rad them. OK, the problem is that I read them and do nothing else! So I haven’t really read anybody’s coffee posts yet this weekend. I hope to get some in tonight. If so, I’ll see you again soon!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. eloisedesousa

    Hi Trent, it been a crazy busy week at school and i haven’t had a chance to write, which is frustrating. We are prepping to go to Australia in a few weeks so we are pretty excited about that. I have to get my first NaNoWriMo lesson planned for when I’m not there and just hope the kids start writing so that they have enough time to finish their stories by the end of November. Apart from that, we are enjoying the Autumn weather.
    Have a lovely week ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Australia! Cool! Weren’t you just in Africa a few months back? Seems like a busy travel year for you. I think I’ll skip NaNoWriMo agian this year, but on the other hand… Good luck with yours (I know, a month away). Enjoy the Autumn weather (my favorite time of year) and have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    It’s Sunday arvo here and I’ve just stuck the lamb roast in the oven. I have no idea what the time is at the moment. We put the clocks forward for daylight savings today. The clock on the wall is saying 5.30pm. My watch updated itself I suspect and says 7.30pm and the computer should be right at 6.30PM. I am confused enough without the clock mixing me up.
    I’ve had quite a reflective couple of days and I’m working on some writing projects on trees, which has seen me deeply appreciate their great complexity and intricate inner and no doubt outer workings.
    We went to Church this morning, which hasn’t been a regular thing for me for some time. That went really well and we had a Fijian football team come and they were amazing. They sang after the service and it was amazing and they had such energy and passion. I grew up standing up holding my hymn book so they were such a great experience.
    It’s warming up here and my son did a sailing course last week and both kids are learning to surf for 3 days next week…a great way to spend the holidays.
    Take care and best wishes,
    Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Surfing and sailing -I was at the coast all weekend but it rained and was cool – didn’t get out on the water at all, not even kayaking. Our Day Light Savings Tiem changes (forget if it begins or ends) in November. I hate the change and if devices are all different I’m sure it’s even worse. Sounds like your day was going well when you wrote this. i hope it continued to go well and that you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. imaginativeworks

    “I’m sitting here, listening to the rain on the window, fighting my computer and reading.” That sounds familiar, and I agree on the frustration level. Sometimes I wonder about technology. Anyway, great post. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      After I wrote this I spent most of the day reading a book, a paper book ;) Though the computer finally did settle down and start listening to me again. Thanks for stopping by for coffee.

      Like

      Reply
  5. idiotwriter

    Mmmmm. To sit warm and cosy with a cuppa. Sounds lovely. Life really can be frustratingly busy!
    I was about to write… turned on laptop, and it decided now was a good time to do updates… sigh… so scrolling along through Fb to entertain myself, and here I landed … seriously that invitationin out the cd and damp was TOO tempting. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m glad you could join me for tea and coffee. I spent most of the day reading or writing (not on the blog) but the dog did entice me to spend a lot of time out in the cold and damp playing with him. We also got one really long walk in the woods in. I hope you had a good day!

      Like

      Reply
  6. Corina

    It’s cool and wet here as well. I am welcoming it. Our spring and summer were both far too hot for Portland. Although the boys will go stir crazy in the winter, I’m glad it’s coming. We’ll just have to take them to indoor playgrounds to work off some energy.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m not too excited about winter, but I love the autumn! We really, really need the rain, so that’s all good, but I am looking forward to those nice, crisp, clear autumn days!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Nancy

    The rain here in Jersey has been heavy too. I am glad things have cooled off though so I’ll try not to complain (much). My WordPress app on my iPad keeps crashing too. Hmmm? Oh well, hope you have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I don’t mind the cool weather, but i so much love the crisp blue skies of October! I hope they return. Since I posted this my computer is doing better. This morning was a pain. I did uninstall the printer utilities I recently put on and that may have helped.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. Pamela Morse

    The foreign minister sighting is very cool. I am not sure I could gear up for the winter you will have to endure, but the damp wet part sounds good. Drought, flood, erode is the way of the American west..seems like it is spreading as a way of life.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I like winter, but I do get tired of the worst ones. I like having the cottage on cape Cod so I can get weekends away from at, at least during March. The weather around the world has been odd lately. I’ve heard that “odd” might be the new normal.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

