Temptation

House Sparrow coming in

House Sparrow coming in

I was out for a walk, just in my own little world.  You know how it is when you walk?  So, there I was, just minding my own business when I hear this little high pitch squeal.  I instantly froze and listened.  There it was again!

It sounded like a little girl, I don’t know, more than a toddler but not close to school age yet.  Was she in trouble?  There was another squeal followed by giggling and then the gentle prattle of the high pitch voice.  No!  She sounded like she was having fun.  Fun!  I wanted in on that!

My blood began to boil.  A need rose up.  I had to see the girl, touch her, play with her!  I tried to hide the feeling, push it down.  I didn’t want to get in trouble again, but the desire was just so deeply seated.  No, more than a desire, a need.

I continued walking, pretending there was nothing going on in my mind.  It was just a normal day, I was just out for my usual walk, no problems, no high pitch voices getting under my skin.  Nope, I was fine on the fine day, just out for a little exercise.

But the voice came back.  For some reason those high frequencies played on my fancy.  Little voices mean little people.  I can’t help myself, I get excited about little people, kids, children.  I have to play with them.  I have to!  it’s not a choice.  The voice again, filling my universe.  My desire rose.  I needed to play with her!  Needed!  Needed!

And then I saw her.

She was all I had hoped for and more.  I was sure she wanted to play with me, completely sure of it.  My desire was matched in her eyes.  She wanted me as much as I wanted her.

A quick ruse, a short burst of energy and I would be there, she’d be mine.

“Whoa, boy, stop that pulling.  You’re almost as big as she is, you’ll knock her over!”

I ignored the voice and tried again.  I saw an adult pick up the girl.

“I’m sorry, he’s real friendly, but he loves kids.  He’d never purposefully hurt her, but, yeah, I understand, he is big.  Hey!  Have a great day!  See you!  And you, big guy, why do you have to act like that every time you see a kid?”

Damn!  It seems like every time I get a chance to play with a human puppy that jerk at the end of the leash stops me!

— — — —

Hehehehe.  I know what you were thinking ;)  Once when I was out with Fiyero I heard a little girl’s voice and saw how he reacted.  This story came to mind, written from the dog’s POV and having the reader think it’s a child molester or worse.  But dogs do love kids!

Brady and Kids

19 thoughts on “Temptation

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      When i first thought of the story i wasn’t sure if i should post it, but the more I thought about the more I liked it. I’m glad it worked and you didn’t stop half way through thinking I’m a sicko ;)

      Nice seeing you here, it’s been a while. I hope you’re doing well. And I want to see more pictures from Yosemite!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. pranitapatra

        Hi Trent..I was rather anticipating a smart twist while reading the story! :D Yes its been a while, i try to peek in once in a while. Glad you have been keeping touch on instagram..:) Yosemite was a refreshing trip.. very beautiful!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          It’s always nice to see you when you stop by :) I visited Yosemite as a small child. I’d need to return sometime – I love the mountains and there are few in US as beautiful as there.

          Like

          Reply
  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the First of October | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Deb

    Very funny way to prank your readers! I admit I was about to think the worst of you and thinking this can’t be the same person I’ve come to know through his blog. Thank goodness!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Zee

    Oh gosh. You had my heart skip beat for a moment there because I was holding my breath ! Pheww. Let me recover. I know it was harmless and actually pretty sweet story in the end…but still Trent !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

