If We Were Having Coffee on the 17th of September, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of French Roast or a cuppa tea or other appropriate beverage.  It is a little nippy out so the warm liquid will be welcome, but it should get warm later today.  And where is “here”?  Some of you long time readers may recognize that synthesizer as “living” up in New Hampshire.  I know,  I was away the last three coffee shares in a row, but I’m back!  Home again, home again, jigity, oh well, so much for kids rhymes.

This has been a pretty good week.  I came back from vacation on Sunday and have been working to catch up ever since.  Several big things – our TV, which is about 10 years old, was all white when we came in.  I’m not saying it was stuck on Fox News, I’m saying the screen was pure white no matter which channel I put it on.  I looked it up on the Internet and found that it sometimes happens.  Oh Well.  There was a fix for it, but it includes tearing it apart and buying a part.  I decided to buy a new one.  It arrived on Thursday.  We also bought a new stove, range, whatever you call it.  That will get here this Wednesday.

The weather has been lovely.  In the 80s (up to 88 F/ 31 C) during the day but down to the 40s and 50s (as low as 45 F/ 7C) at night.  Perfect for me!  I love autumn weather!  I still wear shorts and spend time outside yet it’s cold enough to sleep.

Work was mostly playing catch up.  There were a few big projects I’ve been working on and a few things blew up on me that ….  I can’t really say more.   But over all I really like what I do!  And doesn’t everyone love a challenge?

A little over a month ago I sent out beta copies of my story book.  A couple of weeks ago I got one back.  That little taste made me impatient so I sent out e-mails and so far received one more.  Two different points of view and they both help.  I may go through and do a quick edit, but I really want to do one more rewrite when I hear back from everyone.  Just don’t want to push too hard when they are doing me a favor.

Besides being busy I tried spending a little more time reading blogs.  I don’t know if it worked, but I always spend much more time reading than writing.  But I did write quite a bit last week.  I started the week with a reminder for my Weekly Smile 36.  On Monday I put up a silly post about how much I’ve been posting lately.  I wrote a poem for Tuesday about the “accidental” brush of a hand from a stranger.  Wednesday was my Weekly Smile 37 (Check it out! Participate!)   On Thursday I wrote a prose poem about the Moon (Friday was a full moon).  On Friday I wrote a scene for a longer story and then posted a review of Neil Gaiman’s American Gods (yes, an older book).

It is sunny and has started to warm up.  I’ve been out running through the woods chasing the dogs as the play.  In a bit i need to go out a really run, perhaps four or five miles.  And then there are a lot of other things, like work around the house.  I also want to do that editing on the book and start a music project that’s been on hold for over a month as the summer played out.  There is not enough time to do half of it, but I’ll try ;)

Anyway, that’s about it for me this week.  How was your week? I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)  Anyway, thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before. (Links to come!)

24 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 17th of September, 2016

  1. Corina

    My big TV is about 8 years old and for the first 4 or 5 years it would do this thing where the screen would blank out slowly….it really looked like the days when you went to a movie and the film would burn in the projector…crinkly,bubbly, black and grey from one corner down to the bottom. Nothing would stop it. It used to freak me out but then it stopped doing it. I realized last week that it hasn’t done it in at least a couple of years now. I guess I’m lucky I don’t have to replace it but if it went out, I would just watch the smaller one in the bedroom which is only about a year old.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      This was just white with a ghost image. As I said, I found a lot about it on the Internet and most likely could have fixed it for a couple of hundred dollars in parts, but a new TV isn’t much more than that. I hate being wasteful, but…. I’m not throwing the old one out yet, but I didn’t want to wait (only have ancient TVs besides this one).
      Glad yours is all better. That’s an odd problem. I wonder why it would do that and then heal itself. A contact must have gotten loose as it warmed up and some move or another made it so it didn’t do it any more.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Pamela Morse

    It is a good time of year to replace household items. My heat pump went the way of your old tv, and my new one is arriving tomorrow. It makes no sense to try to keep them alive forever. Enjoy your fall colors up there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      All of the appliances in our house are about 20 years old (well, not the TV) so we have started to replace those one at a time. As you said, they don’t last forever. But the TV was a bit of a surprise.
      Thanks! We’re just starting to see a touch of color. I’m not sure what the hot, dry summer will do for foliage season.

      Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  3. prior..

    funny joke about Fox news – and that was one thing I had to shake off from SC – the folks we stayed with have the TV running all day and they like their Fox news. We were busy out and about – but a couple of times while at their house I caught a few rants – and well – don;t want to go there – but one of the rants seemed to be for attention – int had to do with Hillary’s “deplorables” comment – this was before the stumbling into the van incident – and well, enough of that.

    Glad you had a nice time perusing blogs (I love when I get to indulge and read and read some of my favs)
    and weird about the TV being white —– was it a smart TV or old Bubble one (just curious)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I don’t like to put up political statements but the TV going white screamed out for that one ;) The TV was about 10 but it was an LCD one. I guess it’s not uncommon, but I’d never seen it either on a TV or an LCD computer monitor (and I’ve seen -a lot- of LCD computer monitors).

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Carol. I’m sure it’s very pretty over there. Autumn is my favorite time to be in the mountains and the mountains you have are a little more impressive than new Hampshire’s offerings. Does “writing” mean another book is in the near future? Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply
  4. bettylouise31

    New TV and a new stove how nice for you. Out here there is not much on the election. There is some coverage on the Paralympics. What is holding the news on the trail of the Malhuer occupation. It is an important issue about who controls the public la ds out. The rancher who uses them or the BLM or forest service.. Ninety percent of Nevada consist of public lands. Two thirds of Idaho also are lublic la ds. BLM stands for Bureau of Land Management. There areas out here were public officials do not go into alone. The ones on yrail feel they have the right to keep you off public lands have done so.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Both TV and stove were relatively unexpected, so not so nice in many ways…. Pretty much any time I turn on the news it’s election 24 x 7. It’s as if nothing else is happening in the world. but then, I don’t watch too much TV anyway. I usually read my news so I can get more in depth and read more what I want to read, which usually isn’t politics.
      I know a little about the fights with the BLM. They are public lands, owned by the public, you and me, not by the people who use it, so I think the public should have some say on how it is used or misused. But then, they would say I’m a busybody Easterner and have no rights out West….

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. bettylouise31

        Many Easterners don’t understand this problem. Out exploring areas and you can come upon public lands that close off as some one with a lease decides he doesn’t want others on the land. They want local control as they control the local government. This dispute started in the late 1960’s or early 70’s when BLM raised the grazing fees on their public lands. This rancher resisted paying. The case went through the courts and there was an order to seize the herd. The rancher prevented the federal marshals from seizing the herd by armed conflict.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  5. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    Thanks for the late night coffee. A great accompaniment to the Paralympics. I’ve been watching wheelchair rugby tonight AKA murder ball and the score between Australia and Canada was so tight and went into extra time so it was a gripping match. I really got into it.
    Well done on getting the beta out of your book. Good luck with it all.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Far too little time is spent on the Paralympics here in the US. It should be a big deal but it isn’t even mentioned. If i didn’t read the BBC I wouldn’t even know it was going on, and even though don’t spend a lot of time on it. Such a shame – great athletes deserve attention and those that have overcome obstacles more than most.

      Thanks for joining me for early morning/late night coffee! I’m hoping the book will come along. It’s so close to being there, but I do want to incorporate some feedback!

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        That’s a shame to hear it’s not getting coverage in the US. Too busy talking about Trump and Clinton? A friend of mine was in the sailing today and that’s barely rated a mention and they’ve pretty much parked themselves in the pool. I don’t know if they thought sailing was too hard to televise well. Not happy about that. Our TV channels have extra channels now if that makes any sense. The Paralympics is on 72 at nights. Not too sure about daytime coverage.
        I agree with you about incorporating the feedback. It’s really important.
        Wishing you a great week as well.
        xx Ro

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply

Express Yourself

