If We Were Having Coffee on the Tenth of September

Beatles and Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice strong French Roast or a cuppa tea.  Yeah, it’s a bit warm and humid in the house so you may want something a little cooler.  That’s fine, I’ll find something.  The day is kind of grey, warm but not hot and very humid.  Yesterday was a scorcher and you can still feel it in the air.  It will stay this temperature until sometime tomorrow when a front will come through and push us back into a more normal cycle for fall with the nice, cool nights.   I think this is all from the tropical storm that hit us last week dragging moist tropical air with it.

And where is “here”?  Some of you may recognize that stack of Beatles mugs as being down at the cottage on Cape Cod.  Yes, two coffee chats in a row here.  Well, more than that.

Last week was a vacation week.  In ways it was a very long week – I drove down on Wednesday the 31st and worked from here Thursday and Friday, though I took a couple of hours off on Friday.  My parents got here on Friday and stayed until Thursday, so almost a week.

It was a weird week because of the weather, but we still did a lot.  There were daily walks on the beach and walks in the woods.  There were trips out to the ocean beaches to watch the huge tropical storm waves crash in.  There was nice food.  One night we did a fire in the fire pit.  I got out on the kayak a few times and I’ve been swimming in the ocean.  There was also taking care of dogs, reading writing, talking etc.  So a good week.

I tried to stay up with blogging.  I did a lot, though not as much as I have at other times.  I also posted quite a bit.  I started off on Sunday with a reminder for the Weekly Smile 35.  On Monday I did a very short post about the grey, pre-storm weather.  On Tuesday I did an experimental poem trying to get the intensity of being in love.  On Wednesday I posted the Weekly Smile 36.  On Thursday I did a post about expressing the inexpressible with poetry.  On Friday I posted a short story that was trying to recreate some of the feeling of the love poem but in prose and then I wrote a post about expressing the inexpressible in prose.   Yeah, a lot of writing.

I’m not really sure what the day will bring, but I do need to start winding down and getting ready to head “home” and getting back into the routine of work.  I may go swimming today and do other such things.  I might also do a lot of work around the cottage.  Who knows.  And, oh, as I wrote this the sun just came out!  Perhaps it will be a nice day.

Anyway, that’s about it for me this week.  How was your week? I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)  Anyway, thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

23 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the Tenth of September

  1. Corina

    Sounds like the kind of getaway I would like. I remember when my kids were little and I would take them to Big Bear Lake for a few days in the summer. Well, we only did it two or three times but it was memorable. What was memorable about it? The lack of hustle and bustle that is sometimes associated with vacations…you know…when you feel like you have to cram in every activity available because it’s a vacation. I prefer the hanging around kind of getaway. I remember just walking on the grounds of the cabins where we stayed and going down to the stream that cut through the property and spending a little time at the arcade and walking around town, browsing titles at the book store. Lots of small, every day things that made it a special type of place and time. I’m glad you had some relaxing times!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. brittabottle

    Sounds like a lovely, relaxing week, Trent! Good luck getting everything ready to head home.
    Labor Day weekend in DC was pleasantly GORGEOUS. It was sunny, in the 70s, and starting to feel like fall. Sadly, it was all a ruse, that weather was. It’s back to scorching and hot and I’m hoping Fall arrives sooner than later, as I’m more than ready for it…especially since I didn’t get a fall last year in Thailand!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There was some color on my drive back this morning – nice. About half way a storm came through which dropped the temperature and cut the humidity. The week ahead looks like typical early September weather – pleasantly warm in the day and almost cold at night.
      I hope the front that went through this afternoon continues south and hits you! I’m sure you could use some cool weather!
      This morning when I looked at my stats page there was a view from Thailand. I don’t know if I received any hits from there except the ones from you. It was funny to see a view from there again.
      Anyway, I saw you have a coffee post and I’ll be by to read it in a few minutes. I hope you have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Zee

    This is so sweet that you got to spend time with your parents all week. That was an over all nice week! My weeks been busy with internship and barely finding appropriate time to work out. For instance yesterday I worked out at 11pm…it’s probably not the best time but that’s the only free time I got yest ..

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It is nice visiting with my parents. I typically go to their house in the Spring and have them come out here late Summer. So it was a very good week.
      I hope your internship is going well. I know it’s something you’ll need to do. Will you have to do a residency before you can practice? 11 might not be the best time, but it’s good you find some time.😃 😉 🚲

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Zee

        Yes it’s going pretty well. Nice experience out of the usual settings during university days. There is a one year or 6 months house job (residency) we have to do.

        I’m trying to get back in the shape. It’s helping me out both physically and emotionally. So as always I’m trying to stay consistent!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          From internships I’ve seen they can only help. It is good to get away from the university setting and seeing “the real world” on occasion.
          I know that here health care professionals have to have some type of “house job”, different types for different types of professionals, but typically a residency for a doctor.
          Exercise does help me keep mentally sharp so I think you’re right get back in shape to help physically and mentally. Staying consistent is hard – I did almost nothing the whole week I was in Oklahoma and did very little besides walk (which I didn’t have time for in OK) while my parents were visiting. The last couple of days I did run and swim in the ocean, but I’ll start back with weights today. Not much, just to get going again….

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Zee

            Yea absolutely, you actually learn more from internships of a month than you do in one year of university. Because with internships it’s more of a hands-on practice !

            I tried walking (as I once mentioned a week or two ago) but it wasn’t helping me much since I don’t sweat easy and through I barely used to sweat. I don’t think it was physically challenging me as such. So I’ve now started working out, and boy does that make me sweat ! I’m happy about that routine now. I still miss some days but I’m trying to be regular.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I need to walk every day, but it is not enough! Nor is walking and working out – I need to do the aerobic stuff like running or cycling or something. I need a mix, which was what i saying in that post. Very cool you found a routine that works for you.

              Like

              Reply
  4. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    I did a quick Google search to get a weather report from Cape Cod so I could do a comparison. I don’t know Imperial measures but Cape Cod is 23 degrees celsius today and Sydney is lagging behind at 17 degrees celsius. That’s an interesting comparison for Spring here and Autumn there and I actually thought the temps would be round the other way.
    I’ve got bogged down with a chest infection this weekend and am not going anywhere but we enjoyed a stunning Hawkesbury River cruise last weekend. The boat was fairly basic and more like a ferry but it was fun. I’d love to get back out in the kayak. Since my Dad sold the beach house, we’ve lost our jetty and even though we live 700 metres from the waterfront, we’re struggling to get the bathtub kayaks which I use down there. Geoff has some slimline racing style kayaks but your legs go inside and I’m not so sure about that.
    Hope you have a great week.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was almost 90 f (32 c) on Friday with almost 90% humidity – very steamy for September! Yesterday was much nicer though today may be stormy. The good thing is it will get cold tonight, how. I like it: 24c during the day and 14 c at night…

      Sorry you were sick. I hope you are feeling better. The river cruise sounds fun, as does the bit of history you brought up because of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        I’m surprised to hear your humidity is that high. This prompted me to go and find out your latitude and while reading bit of maps online isn’t the best, is Cape Cod in Massachusetts? thought it was part of New Hampshire and hadn’t looked at the map before. How long does it take you to drive between the two?
        From your description of the temperatures, you’re not getting any Autumn leaves yet.
        The whole family is sick, except our daughter who has been at scout camp since Friday and goes on a school camp tomorrow. I felt like spraying her with disinfectant to keep her well until she leaves tomorrow.
        Take care xx Ro

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I have a 3 hour drive. Leaves will start changing soon but will speak out in late October. There already is some color in the mountains.

          Sorry everyone has been sick. I hope you have a great, non-sick week!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  5. bettylouise31

    You week sonds like you en joyed it. A lovely visit from your parents is alway good. My Mother and Bob’ parents a long time so that is no longer possible. We didn’t have any negative weather this last week Strong winds at varios times. Have a good week back at work and a safe journey there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The week was a good week. It’s always nice to have my parents come and visit. It’s nice for them too – even though they are in their 80s they have constant commitments back home so this gives them a chance to relax.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hermine gave us a couple of stormy days before slipping back down towards the Jersey coast. I wasn’t paying attention, but I assume the main storm disapatted enough to not be named after a while, but I’m also sure that the hot muggy weather the fast days came from the remnants passing by us and pulling some warmer air with it. Over all, though, yeah, we had a great week :)

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

