If We Were Having Coffee on the 20th of August 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you nice large mug of French Roast and perhaps we can take a ride to Parker’s Maple Barn for French Toast (it’ll be a virtual trip, like your virtual visit, but I did promise Y ;) ).  Anyway, at my house we can have the coffee, tea or other beverage and sit out on the cool back patio and look off into the woods and forget we are in the middle of a village.  And where is this village?  Some of my long time coffee guests may recognize that nifty (sorry NitB ;) ) Moog Synthesizer at the top of the page and know that we are in New Hampshire.  Yes, after three weeks at the cottage on Cape Cod I am back home in NH!  But not for long (more later).

It was an interesting week.  It started at the end of what was perhaps the hottest, most humid stretch of the summer.  There was a slight reprieve, but we still made it to (or almost made it to) 90 F (32 C) every day.  However, the last couple of nights there was just a small touch of Autumn in the evening (OK, 3 AM) air letting us know September isn’t too far away.  I’ve felt that 3 AM air because it has been hot at night so I don’t sleep well (the fans make it worse for me) and Idina is sick and has been coughing all night.  She came home from a half a day at doggy daycare and started coughing.  We brought her to the vet and sure enough, kennel cough.  So she’s on meds and we’re watching Fiyero.  So far he hasn’t coughed once.

Despite the heat I’ve exercised every day this week, which is great.  My brain gets fuzzy when I don’t move enough.  I’ve also done a lot of reading, which is good.  I spend so much time working and writing that I don’t read nearly enough.  I also mowed most of the yar, but have a little more to do today.  It has been so dry this summer it hasn’t needed it, but then we had a three day down pour.  The soil is back to 1000 year old pottery found on the Sinai dry, but the grass is high, so, despite it being brown and brittle again, I have to mow it.

Om Tuesday we had a Lion’s Club “party/meeting”.  It was nice seeing all of the people again (I missed the last three meetings/parties/events since I was out of town) but it did really eat up the whole evening, from the time I got home from work until I went to bed.

Work is going good.  There are a few projects that eat every spare second, but hopefully they’ll wind down soon.  I also have training all of next week.  I have to fly down to Oklahoma for the training.  I’m leaving Monday morning and coming back next Saturday.  I may do a coffee post Friday night, maybe even have it scheduled for a Saturday post, but we’ll see.  The training should be interesting, but I’m not looking forward to having two 12-hour travel days.  And in the summer heading to and from Oklahoma the chances of being delayed or diverted by a thunderstorm are very high.  There are times i hate air travel, which is a bit ironic, but I’ll leave it to your imagination why I said that ;)

Despite being busy I did get some time to read the blogs and post every day.  Sort of.  On Sunday I posted my Weekly Smile reminder.  On Monday I wrote about my nervousness after sending a draft of my short story book to about a half a dozen people to beta-read.  On Tuesday I posted a poem about how we sometimes forget that the people we touch on this thing called the Internet really are people.  On Wednesday I posted my Weekly Smile 33 and a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers.  On Thursday I did a throwback by reposting a post from exactly two years previous ( 8/17/14), which was a bunch of pictures from a business/training trip to DC.  On Friday I posted a short coming of age story.

Busy week.  And being home over the weekend for the first time in a month I have a ton to today today.  After we finish visiting I’ll get busy doing it :)

So that was my week, and it was good week.  How about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)  Anyway, thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

23 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 20th of August 2016

  1. Nancy

    Sorry to hear Idina is not feeling well. Hope the mess do the trick. Good luck with your travel. My brother lives in Oklahoma City and it seems to me like the weather out there is ALWAYS tricky!! Not sure I could live out that way.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Idina is slowly recovering. I didn’t go to the vet so just discovered that her meds are just a cough suppressant. She’s doing good and has as much energy as always.
      I’ve been to OKC and really don’t need to spend a whole lot more time there. I also lived in Dallas for a while and feel the same about that city. Oh well, it won’t hurt to visit (I hope ;) )

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Prior-2001

    thanks for the huge smile T – to see the French toast mentioned -sounds like a place with real maple syrup ❤️
    and I read the comment about kennel cough and vitamin C – very interesting -!
    and I also read that you like to have natural sources (very wise) but the powdered vitamin C (ascorbic acid) is pretty amazing for certain times – I know a few folks who sip it on the hour – and my spouse loads up on it if he feels the flu coming on – and he tells s lot of folks about it – but it is something you have to try to see how great it is – not for everyday that way – but when immune boost is needed – and lately I have been adding some vitamin c powder to my lemon water with dash of oil (olive oil or coconut oil) and then maybe some apple slices or an orange slice – add a dash of magnesium chloride and blend it all up! amazing –
    amyhkw – laughing at the description of the ground clay! ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Did you read the description of Parker’s I left in another comment? Very, very rustic and you know the syrup you have came from the trees around you. It is great but breakfast usually has about 15,000 calories.
      I’ve always been one of these people who doesn’t get sick very often. I haven’t missed a day of work for being sick in 3 years. Before that there were 3 years in a row that I did get the flu (one year was H1N1) but before that it was over 10 years since I missed for really being sick. I think in ’92 and ’93 I missed a couple of days… So I am all for finding things to keep me well, but I usually don’t have to work as hard as most ;) Thinking of sick, Idina is on the mend, but it is slow. She was worse last night than the night before, but still much better than the first two nights.
      I’m glad somebody caught my little description on how dry the ground is ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Prior-2001

        no I did not get to read the comment ((but like when I can get to comments at times ))
        and the clay ground caught me because that is what we have here- clay!
        anyhow – you sound very healthy and that is awesome -but antioxidsnts are still ideal – recently I was reading about mangosteen….
        oh and noting the real maple syrup – my hubs favorite cleanse is the master cleanse – and the maple syrup is a key part – ☀️

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
          1. Prior-2001

            Well if you are feeling well – maybe your bio terrain is strong without them – and you know he ol saying – “leave well enough alone” – wait – is that it?
            hm – well it sounds like you are doing well health wise – and that is very good – ;)

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
  3. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    Yes, September is almost here and for us, we’re starting to defrost and experience more sun. I love Spring and Autumn. I’ve been getting back out there walking the dogs again. Sorry to hear one of yours picked up kennel cough. Drats! Hope she’s feeling better.
    We’re off to Sydney Opera House tomorrow night to see our daughter perform in a mass string ensemble with the public schools. Am really looking forward to it although I hate all the organisational aspects. Not my strength and I’m also organising the rest of the family and my parents who are all free spirits who insist on doing their own thing.
    Hope you have a good week and I’d better get back to it.
    Best wishes,
    Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, you’re heading towards spring and a a “thaw” (hmm, your winter is warm compared to here ;) ) while we are looking forward to autumn. Autumn is by far my favorite. Spring here is short and muddy, though there are good things about it, but fall stretches out and is absolutely gorgeous. And having the cool evenings again will be great.
      I’m looking forward to hearing about your daughter’s experience at the Opera House. I’m sure everyone is excited. Even if she is just one little player in that big venue, at least she can always say she played in Australia’s most famous building. Have a great time!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        It certainly is something you take with you for the rest of your life. My brother played the violin there a few times as a child. He did Suzuki violin and they have their annual concert there where you get masses of kids playing those their way through the Suzuki books together. I was involved in a performance programme at the Opera House in high school and should’ve kept going with it. I bailed out halfway, too intimidated by the talent. Josephine & Rose Byrne well known Australian actors were part of it. I had to audition to be part of it and yet just didn’t feel I made the grade. It was fun though.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  4. brittabottle

    Oh, let’s go for French Toast, please! :)

    Humidity continued to be a scorcher here this week, too, but it’s not so bad today–SUCH a relief.

    Glad to her you had a good week, Trent. Safe travels to and from Oklahoma!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Parker’s Maple Barn, where I’d take you for French Toast, is, as the name implies, an old, rustic barn in the middle of no where surrounded by sugar maple trees. The syrup you put on your French Toast is, of course, from the surrounding maple farm. Great choice!

      With how hot and humid it has been here I can believe it was even worse down there. Hope the humidity stays low for you. Still a couple of more weeks of August left, though….
      Thanks! Being down there shouldn’t be bad, it’s just the travel part. I haven’t been in OKC in many years, since I did ATC school. I’m not going to say a date, but it’s possible you weren’t born yet….

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. brittabottle

        OMG I WANT TO GO! Rustic barn in the middle of nowhere? That’s RIGHT up my alley! :)
        Humidity is cooling off, thankfully, and the weather forecast for the next few days looks a little more bearable. I’d really just like to it be nice enough to go sit outside and read for a little bit, as I’ve missed doing that!
        Well, I was born in the early-mid 90’s–but we don’t need to mention dates if they’re besides the point, anyways.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I’m sure you’d love it, just like I would a nice brunch in DC. I hope you have some nice weather and can find a nice quiet spot to read.
          No dates, but I was pretty close to your age when I was last here (OKC). I’d been out of school for about a year and had lived in several states just before getting the Air Traffic Control gig.

          Like

          Reply
  5. Deb

    You have had a very busy week! Kennel cough is on the rise in this area, and even though my pets rarely go to be boarded, my vet recommended the get their vaccine asap. Hope your trip to OK goes well for you. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I think Kennel Cough is on the rise here too. The place they have their doggy daycare had a sign to watch for it and the vet said she had been seeing a lot of cases.

      Yes, it was a busy week, but that’s not a bad thing :) Thanks. I’m sure the trip will go well, I just hate having such long travel days.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

