Weekly Smile 33 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Do you get into routines?  I do.  One routine I have is I like to take an afternoon walk at a small bit of protected land about a mile from my cottage on Cape Cod.  I have been bringing Fiyero along for a while but more recently I also bring idina – I didn’t in the past because I couldn’t handle both of them by myself, though as they age they are a little easier to take care of.  The dogs love their afternoon walk.

The other day I planned on taking the dogs out for a short time, running some errands and then doing the walk in the woods.  I left the house and Fiyero sat down beside the car and stared at the door.  He wouldn’t budge.  He knew it was afternoon and time for his walk in the woods.  Oh well, I caved and took them for their walk first.  Same thing the next day.  He had been out a half a dozen times, but when I went out at 3:30 PM, he sat down in front of the car door and wouldn’t budge until I let him in the car.  (Note – I get off work at 3:30, so that’s when I take them.)

I have my routines.  We all do.  But Fiyero’s routines seem even deeper set than mine.  “Daddy, it’s 3:30, it’s time for my walk in the woods, let’s go!”

So that was my smile for the week, a stubborn dog set on following his routine 3:30 walk in the woods.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

 

29 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 33 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 20th of August 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Master of Something Yet

    Working with kids with special needs, particularly autism, routines are a standard part of my working day. You don’t want to know what it’s like when there aren’t routines. So funny that Fiyero has the routine down pat. Definitely made me smile. :)

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Your two comments went to spam. I wonder why? Anyway, I see them now :)

      My Wife often works with special needs kids – shes a Speech and Language Pathologist and contracted with some schools for quite a while. So yes, I’ve heard a lot about autistic kids’ need for routine and she sometimes jokes about our dogs being like them in some ways. Both of the dogs live by routine and get upset when the routine is broken.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          That happened to another WP friend. She had been off line for several months and started making a lot of comments on everyone’s site and all of her comments got sent to spam. I mean, I understand being a little careful, but your a person (as she is) that has been approved to comment here and has comment here in the past. Oh well, at least I found them.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
  3. Zee

    Haha this is so cute ! In his defence that’s the only time he gets to go out and see around. But I guess almost all pets are like that. Our cats used to have a scheduled timing for their food and they always knew the right time and demanded food around that time too !

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Our cats demand to be fed at a certain time. I think they have built in clocks. And the dog’s routines are funny. With the walk in the woods, I had been taking Fiyero for walks around the neighborhood, but he obviously wanted to be in the woods :)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Zee

        I guess it’s because woods provide them with more of a natural habitat where they can run around freely. Because otherwise they are stuck around 4 walls or concrete houses. Just as we crave to get away from this hustle hustle they do too… :)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I think they do like “communing with nature”. We have a wooded hill behind our house in New Hampshire and they love to run and play and play in it. The place I walk them on Cape Cod I keep them on the leash, but there are so many interesting smells and things to see.

          Like

          Reply
  4. Pingback: weekly smile | CRAZY LIFE

  5. Pingback: Awww! #Weekly Smile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, I am committed. I was even before this last trip down there – he was clearly expecting, no, demanding, his walk on the first day we were there. It’s a great little walk so i don’t really mind ;)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Kerala Houseboat Tour – ladyleemanila

  7. joseph elon lillie

    I love routines too! And like yours my dogs are more ingrained in the habits than I am. 3:30 is our afternoon walk around the block and down by the Catholic church. Jacopo stops to bark at every new thing he encounters in our path: Trach barrels, new cars, fences, for sale signs. Anyway he is not a dog who likes change very much. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Dogs can be very routine based. Ours don’t mind new things they find along the way – they are young and like adventure – but they do have routines they get into and the walk in the woods has become a big one.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Express Yourself

