If We Were Having Coffee on the 13th of August 2016

Weekend Coffee on Cape Cod

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of French Roast, a cuppa coffee or some other morning appropriate drink.  Well, it isn’t hot yet, but it is humid – 77 F/25 C with a 75 F/24 C dew point…. So although it it’s still relatively cool, you get cover with sweat the second you go outside.  It will get hot later in the day, but not as hot as much of the East Coast.  That’s what I like about spending weekends on Cape Cod – although it didn’t cool down last night (low = 75 F/24 C), the high today will only be around 84 F/29 C as opposed to 98 F/37 C that it will be just a little inland.  And we have a shore breeze.  But it is more humid here.

Yes, this is my third weekend in a row down here.  And not just weekend, I come down Wednesday evening and go back to NH on Sunday.  I telework out of the cottage, though this week I did take 2 hours off on Friday to go swimming.  The only problem with spending so much time down here is that I feel like I get so little done.  Oh well, it won’t be long before I’ll be back into full swing of things.

Work is busy as always.  I spend a lot of time in meetings.  Yes, on the phone, not a bunch of people shoved into my cottage ;)  I do enjoy it.  A little heads up – I’ll be taking a business trip soon and so will pretty much be off line all that week.  More details to come.

Strangely enough I’ve done very little kayaking this trip down.  I think I’ll go out for a few minutes after I finish here just so I’ll have the boat on the water.  Typically I am out at least once a day when I’m here.  It has been windy, so rough, and the hot and humid weather isn’t always fun to paddle in.  Of course, i did go running in this 99% humidity earlier this morning.

I’ve been trying to keep up on my blog reading.  Sometimes good, sometimes not so good.  I know it is summer so people do things a little different, though actually my stats aren’t that bad.  OK, I’ll grumble that when i signed on this morning it had been 12 hours since I had had a visitor to my blog, but still, overall pretty good.

I try to post at least once a day.  Often it is a short though away, but often enough I take my time and think about it.  This week started with a reminder for last week’s smile.  On Monday I finally got around to posting some photos from July, including one of my favorite osprey shots.  I posted a poem on Tuesday, a semi-erotic ode to a book ;)  Wednesday was my kickoff for week 32 of the Weekly Smile.  Thursday I posted about my book of short stories and then later put up a 100 word Friday Fictioneers story.  Friday I posted another short story.

I want to say a word about Friday’s story.  I try to make my short story universe a diverse place.  I usually don’t go out of my way inside the story to have a character say “I’m black”, “I’m gay”, “I’m a woman in a tradition man’s job”, etc.  You should get it from context.  Sometimes I may be too subtle.  The stories are not about diversity, they are stories that I just happened to cast with a diverse group of people.  But I recently noticed I have few people with obvious disabilities.  So Friday’s story is one that was actually about the disability.  That is very different than I usually do and I wont do something like that again.  If there is someone “differently abled” in the story it won’t be the point of the story.

Anyway, the sun is shining and calling my name.  The puppies want to go out and play.  The water is waiting and the kayak says it need to go out at least once this weekend.  So I need to move along.  I hope you had a good visit.  Perhaps I’ll stop by your place later.

So that was my week, and it was good week.  How about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)  Anyway, thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

32 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 13th of August 2016

  1. Zee

    The only think different about this week (except WordPress driving me bonkers) is that I’m traveling. Visiting my dad’s hometown for the first time. On the road for a whole week ! So trying to relax and experience new things at a new place 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Traveling is usually pretty good, particularly going someplace new. Relaxing and experiencing new things at a new place sounds nice. Enjoy your travels (and I hope the Word Press issues get sorted out). ☺

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              Mostly work, but I hope to have a little fun. I may see a friend I haven’t seen in ages and then there is swimming in the hotel pool if I have time. All work and no play make Trent a dull boy ;)

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
              1. Zee

                Haha, It’s so good to see old time friends and catching up with them. I hope you have a nice time. And swimming in hotel pool? PERFECT 😉 no time for dullness !😁

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
                1. trentpmcd Post author

                  The hotel pool isn’t quite as nice as the ocean, but Oklahoma is quiet a distance from the coast. And quiet a distance from the mountains (it’s very flat). and quite a distance from… oh well, I guess the hotel pool will be nice ;)

                  Liked by 1 person

                  Reply
                    1. trentpmcd Post author

                      I’ve been to Europe a few times which is as little as 4 and as much as 7 depending on where and time of year. And you? You are like 8 hours different from me. 1 is OK, it was just the getting up so early in the AM.

                      Like

  2. brittabottle

    Oh gosh, the humidity has been SO bad here the past couple days. It’s rather unbearable. It almost seems worse to me than the humidity in Thailand, though perhaps I’m just a few too many months removed from that weather to remember it correctly. *sigh* This is what I get for moving to a city built on a swamp. Weather aside, I’m finally moved into DC and so happy to be here.

    Hope you have another lovely weekend on the Cape, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I did see that you moved. A couple of times. Glad you have your own place! Yes, there is a reason you don’t find many politicians in DC in August! And this heatwave has been awful all up and down the East Coast, I can’t imagine how bad it is in DC. It’s funny, I left the Cape early this morning (7) and it was 75. I got up to New Hampshire and it was 85 but felt a lot, lot cooler in NH than the Cape because of the humidity. It was “cool” but just steamy.

      I hope you have a great week and stay cool! Also good luck in your job hunt!

      Like

      Reply
      1. brittabottle

        There’s probably a relationship between the weather and Congress’ lack of activity in August. :) I love this city but August is SO brutal here. I’m really eager and excited to explore more of my neighborhood and neighboring neighborhoods–but not until it gets a bit cooler!
        Thanks so much, Trent! I am really enjoying my coffee shop job now that I’m getting the hang of it, but I really can’t sustain myself with it…hoping to find something else soon and keep the coffee shop for weekend shifts!

        Like

        Reply
  3. Pingback: Coffee, Coffee, Coffee | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  4. Deb

    Thanks for the coffee and making me wish I was by the water. I’d love to just sit and watch it. So relaxing!
    I’m hoping Diana isn’t anywhere close to the flooding they are having in her neck of the woods. Last week she was having a problem so I just linked in her comments. Now I’m off to see if she has posted. Have a good week

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve been out of the loop news wise and just heard about how bad the flooding is down in LA. I think the worst hit areas are around Baton Rouge and she’s closer to New Orleans, but she might have family up that way. Hope she and her family are OK!

      Being by, in and on the water today was great. I can’t sit on a beach for very long without doing something, but it was nice to swim and dry off on the sand, watching the gentle surf (yesterday it was super rough).

      Thanks for stopping by! Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s nice to go into vacation mode every week ;) Yes, that’s pretty much what it is…
      Yeah, I hope the coffee share shows up too. Hope Diana is just short on time this week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Rhio

    Diana had some issues with the link up last week, I couldn’t add my link to it. I’m guessing she’s off fixing it.
    Our temperature has dropped right down which has been great, but apparently we are going to have a heatwave this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      This has been a hot summer. We’ve had some reprieves, but now we’re getting that ultra-humid August heat. Wales isn’t a place I think of as being overly warm very often ;) Do you live near the mountains? Do you ever go up there to cool off?

      Like

      Reply
      1. Rhio

        Yeah it doesn’t get too hot high 90s sometimes (which is what is forecast next week), but it feels hotter. I didn’t struggle with the heat in 40 degree Spain quite like I do in a 35 degree Wales. The problem we have in the UK is it doesn’t cool off at night time, it’ll only drop one or two degrees in the summer so it feels unbearable, I don’t sleep and obviously no air con. It only happens for about a week or so though then it goes back to grey. It’s nearly always raining in the valleys, I used to go to school in between two mountains and it was great because it always snowed there in the winter and we’d have days off because the valley roads made it impossible to get a car through it. Lovely scenery and our fun runs were always spectacular! When I went to Canada, Toronto, and stood at the observation deck of the CN Tower I was amazed at how flat it was there. I really miss seeing the mountains in the distance like I can here. I think I’d always have to live somewhere near mountains :)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          The mountains in New Hampshire are similar size to the ones in Wales, but most of them are tree covered. Only a few of the biggest ones go above treeline, which is about 5000 feet above sea level here. I grew up in “flatland” very similar to the Toronto are (I grew up in Ohio) but I’ve always loved mountains. However, were I am now, Cape Cod, is very flat and I will most likely end up moving here. I’ll just have to make sure I make it out and get into the mountains, and I’d like to make it out West to the Rocky Mountains every couple of years.

          Except for these warmest weeks it usually cools off at night in NH, but on Cape Cod it doesn’t as much and stays very humid making it hard to sleep. When I moved to NH it used to be about a week every summer that was awful, now it’s a month or more.

          Like

          Reply
  6. imaginativeworks

    Another great Coffee Share post Trent. I haven’t located the linkup yet this weekend either, but I’m sure it will turn up soon. As for your getting a “little less done” at the cottage, I think that is a blessing of cottage life. Something needs to slow us down sometimes, enjoy the change of pace and the salty air refreshing you while you kayak, sounds like you work hard to deserve it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I just got back from an hour on the water and will go swimming in a few minutes. It is nice to have a little retreat/getaway that I can run off to and hide on occasion, even if occasion means half the month of August ;)
      I’ll look around, but no sighting of the coffee share yet. I’m hoping all is well with Diana and she has just been too busy to post.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

