Weekly Smile 32 #weeklysmile

November sky over saltwater marsh

I have to admit that i don’t really like the camera on my phone.  OK, it takes pretty good panoramas.  Well, occasionally it comes up with some great panoramas (picture at the top).  But want to take a picture of an object, animal, person or whatever?  Nope.  I once saw a snake and decided to take a picture to check later if it was poisonous.  I’m glad it wasn’t because I had to get the phone about 4 inches away to get a picture of it.    I have no idea what they thought this camera was good for except maybe taking a selfie with 20 people in it, held out at arms length only.

One good thing is that I always have it on me.  Of course 99.99% i do try to capture the moment, the moment is one pixel on a giant panorama, but at least it is there.

Yesterday I needed it.

I was doing my morning walk around my work-place’s perimeter when I heard a strange.  Noise.  Back in a corner I missed was a hawk sitting on the fence preening and cooing/twittering to itself.  I backed up and took some pictures.  I was really close, closer than I’ve been to a hawk, but the pictures…

Hawk on far fence

After a few moments it fly down to the ground in front of me and was picking at something I couldn’t see.  It then climbed a big dirt pile.

Hawk climbing the dirt pile

At one point it had to flap its wings to get to the top

Flapping

Remember, this was maybe 15’/3 m away from me.  I left it there and later saw it flying off.

King of the mountain

After lunch I took another walk.  At one point I noticed the hawk just on the other side of the fence from me.  This is like 3′ or 4′ feet away (1 m).

Hawk across fence

After a couple of pictures it got up and flew a little way away and landed on the fence.  I talked to a few people who were watching it and they said it had been around all morning.  My next lap around i took some pictures as i passed.  I stayed a little way away, maybe 10’/3 m, though I’m sure I could have gotten closer.

Watching me like a hawk

Hawk on a fence

My guess is that this is a newly fledged hawk that was a little unsure about what it was doing.  After watching the newly fledged osprey down on Cape Cod I see a lot of resemblance in behavior.  Also, a couple of years ago I watched a baby falcon on the beach and this guy was even  more similar to the baby falcon than the baby osprey.

It goes to prove that even though my cell phone camera isn’t great, sometimes it is great to have it.

So that is my smile for the week, seeing a baby hawk, even getting almost close enough to touch it.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

39 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 32 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Reminder – I want your Smiles! #weeklysmile 32 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Vidya Sury

    Hawks are fascinating. When I walk on my terrace I see a lot of kites soaring around. They appear close sometimes, but when I take a pic, of course they look far off!

    What am I smiling about? :) The title of this bloghop – The weekly smile. Because my tagline on my blog is “Did you smile today?” Looking forward to joining you, Trent! And yes, it is great to be able to carry that phone camera around! That is a great panorama! Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I do love watching hawks and other large birds and seem to not be able to get enough pictures of them. Most are better than phone pictures, but when that is all I have…
      I hope you can join my weekly smile! If not, I do know that you are spreading smiles, which is great.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Ten Things of Thankful 165 (Inspiration) #10Thankful – The Indian Wedding – ladyleemanila

  4. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 13th of August 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  5. Pingback: Bad Girl – – Weekly Smile  | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  6. Corina

    Oops….I’m trying to post on my phone with the 3 year old pulling on my arm. Anyway, the new phones camera is pretty good but I haven’t had a chance to sit and see everything it can do.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I had doing comments with the phone so I get it – it’s even worse than taking pictures ;) When I get a new phone I will most likely try to find something that has a better camera. I like small phones (I carry it in my pants pocket) so I was going for price and size before.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
                    1. trentpmcd Post author

                      Uhm, do you have any modeling experience? Oh, wait a minute, Zoolander. Never mind ;) Yes, trademark ZZ3 right away so they have to ask you to use it. Then you can say, “Only if I’m in the film.” Perfect ;)

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Zee

                      Hahaha you should be my manager/agent. I mean you always see my best interest in everything and not to forget such a perfect planner you are. YOU SHALL BE INSTANTLY HIRED 😂

                      Liked by 1 person

  7. Nancy

    Pretty cool! If I ever replace my $10 a month dinosaur phone it will be because I’m tired of missing photo ops! Even if your camera isn’t great it sure got the job done this time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! There are times I wish I could carry my good camera around with me all of the time, but that would be a bit cumbersome, so this will have to do for a while (my phone is about 2 1/2 years old, but i want to keep it a while linger until it’s literally not working right.)

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  8. joannesisco

    I can’t say I’m overly impressed with the camera on my phone either, but it’s nice to know it’s there. I’ve never had a dramatic moment like this one though! That close up photo is amazing. Great catch!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Express Yourself

