Weekly Smile 31 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

I use an app on my phone when I run.  I know what you are thinking, but despite being a huge stats nerd here, I am not with my running.  I like to know how far and fast I ran for that particular run, but I don’t track it, graph it it, compare it or keep goals.  I just like to know in general how I’m doing.  Besides using the app when I run, I also occasionally use it when I take a long walk, though I don’t do this very often.

On my way home from Cape Cod last weekend I stopped to charge my car.  Yes, charge – I have a plug in hybrid and like to use the electric engine as much as possible.  I found a great place to stop at about the half way mark that has a very nice rail-trail biking and walking trail close to it.  It was raining last Sunday, but I decided to give it a go anyway.  And just for fun I decided to use the app to track the walk.

Funny, thing, I don’t mind walking in a warm, light mist, but if it starts to rain, well, I just don’t like to be out.  I started out in a fine mist, but it started to rain.  I turned around earlier than usual and made it back to my car about 45 minutes after I started.  The rain had really picked up by the time I reached the car so I just stopped the charging, hopped into my car and drove away.

A while later, shortly after getting off of the highway, I thought about my walk and my phone.  I suddenly realized that I had forgotten to stop the app!  So I had a bunch of new records.  I had the longest time for a walk (a little over 1:30:00), the greatest distance (about 40 miles), the fastest walk (I didn’t look but I guess it was less than a 3 minute mile pace) and the most calories burned (1800 range).  Not bad for a leisurely stroll!

So yes, I had a huge smile at my own expense, and a bit of a laugh, when I heard the stats being read out to me after stopping the app (I didn’t look because i was still driving).

So that was  my smile, the ridiculousness of stats.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

Note – the weekly smile runs Wednesday Morning to Wednesday morning.  I post in the morning (Eastern US) and put up the link usually between 7 and 8 AM EST.  I also try to post on Sunday as a reminder.  People can and do join throughout the week.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 31 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 6th of August, 2016 | Trent's World (the Blog)

  2. Pingback: Street Shots (#summer2016 a to z Letter S) summer walk with Jo – In the Zone

  3. Pingback: Smiles: For Cee and for Trent and a little fiction | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  4. Pingback: Smile! Smile! #WeeklySmile | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

Express Yourself

