18 Hours

photo-88

PHOTO PROMPT © Janet Webb

Was the sweat from the tropical air being pushed up the coast or from watching that spiral plastered on every screen?  I wiped my brow and waited.  It would stay out to sea, I knew it would.

The clouds increased as the numbers went up from 100 and Category 2 to 120, then 140 and finally to a whopping category 5.

But then blue skies and it was gone.

I drove to the store, elated, not seeing the sharp westward turn in the track.

I spent 18 hours in a grocery store and had no food to show for it.

— — —

Word count = 100

Friday Fictioneers is hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.  This weeks prompt is here and uses a photo provided by Janet Webb.  Read more or join in by following the “linky“.

14 thoughts on “18 Hours

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 30th of July | Trent's World (the Blog)

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks. The raw power in one of those storms is just frightening. I’ve been far enough away from the coast when during the few I’ve seen that it wasn’t that bad, but pictures from the coast on those same storms…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Prior-2001

    I wish your posts were not truncated in the reader (even tho I know some folks keep it set up this way for reasons) – but because I can’t leave reader right now (without logging out) I will just say that the cart in water says so much – we got hit with rain too-

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yep, the problem with a 100 word story. Well, the main character made it out alive (after 18 hours), but emerged to a new world… When I first saw the cart in the water “hurricane” was my first thought, but then I decided to write the other silly story first. If you are anywhere near the coast I’m sure you see too many tropical storms and hurricanes. A nasty storm is moving up the coast this AM, but not a tropical storm. I hope the humidly cuts as is passes!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Prior-2001

        Oh well. I was actually referring to the abbreviated posts in the reader – and I have been meaning to ask if you could change that in your settings – I asked a few other bloggers this month – I know some folks leave posts on partial for reasons – but some just have the default setting….
        Do you know what I am talking about?
        Anyhow – for some reason – posts that I have to “read more at the blog” log me out and it is hard to go back and forth –
        —-
        And yes – I know what you mean with the tropical storms….

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          OK, I got it. I don’t like reading in the Reader (I hate it with a passion – it gets rid of all formatting and all personalization) and always click “Visit” when I want to read something so I don’t see the truncated posts. Strangely enough, people have told me visiting each post is too much work, but I think it is actually less – I don’t like the way the reader bring stings up, I’d rather have a second window open. That being said, I do know some people prefer it. Strange that it logs you out, though. Never experienced that.

          Back about two years ago I changed my site because I’m a stats nerd and was averaging like two or three likes for every view. I wanted to see if people were actually reading since I got almost no comments then and had maybe four or five views per post and maybe 10 likes, so I didn’t know if people were just going by and click or actually going in. Truncating the posts made it so the numbers reversed – Suddenly it jumped so I might have 15 or 20 views for 10 stars instead of 4 or 5 – I set up a second blog and tested and discovered that views from the Reader don’t count. Funny thing is after I forced people to visit I actually started to get more comments – I don’t know if the one had to do with the other, but….

          I’ll look into the settings – I don’t know why it would truncate a 100 word story. I’m just not sure if I’m ready to see my stats fall by 2/3 over night!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Prior-2001

            thanks for the explanation – and whatever works for you – and the logging me out is only part of my online woes – I am dealing with it – but I thought about going offline for good because of so many issues- but with the grace of God have been able to hold on and find some balance – but could pull the plug at any time…. ha!

            and regarding the stats – I have feeling that you are still not getting the accurate amount even with having folks come to your blog – just sense that.
            and again, whatever works for you – but 100 words should have been there in full…

            ok – now I need a beverage so I am going to visit the coffee chat – :)

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I hope you don’t drop off for good! And yes, I need to figure out a way to get 100 word story up without truncating. I know I’m not getting all of the stats – the mobile app does give tham, for one, and there are other things. Mostly I follow trends instead of exact numbers. And I know I shouldn’t even do that ;)
              Anyway, sorry about the online woes. See you over some coffee!

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply

Express Yourself

