Weekly Smile 30 #weeklysmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

Weekly Smile #WeeklySmile

It’s the heart of summer and people are traveling.  Some go to the coast with its cool sea breezes and some to the mountains for the fresh, clean air.  Of course there are other destinations, such as the hot cities and the rolling countryside.  Some people even go to the desert to visit.  All in all, this is a time when people are on the move.

My brother and his family are taking a long trip that will (and has) hit both mountains and ocean.  They spent some time in New Hampshire’s White Mountains before heading to the Maine coast.  Later they’ll head up to Baxter in Maine for more mountain adventures.

They live in the Philadelphia area while I’m in New Hampshire.  Notice I said the name “NH” twice.  Yep, we had a short visit as they came through.  More than that, their son is in the Albany area doing an internship as he prepares for his senior year of college.  He drove out last Friday and spent the night at my house. We then met the rest of his family at a restaurant for brunch on Saturday morning.

It was a nice visit, if a little short.  It’s nice to see people face to face instead of just on the phone or texts or emails or whatever.  It’s also been fun seeing the pictures they’ve posted on FB of places I know well but are new to them.

So that was my smile for the week, family visits.

What made you smile this week?

If you haven’t seen it, here is a little background to The Weekly Smile as well as some quick guidelines.

So, what made you smile this week? Write about it and post on the link-up (or click the little blue frog below). While you’re there, read what everyone else is smiling about! And come back to it later, if last week is any indication new smiles will be added daily!

16 thoughts on “Weekly Smile 30 #weeklysmile

  1. Pingback: Ripples of Thankfulness – ladyleemanila

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee on the 30th of July | Trent's World (the Blog)

  3. Just Patty

    I love my family, so every moment I spend with them is a treasure! :)
    A lot made me smile this week, but last night I had the biggest smile on my face because my nephew was singing on stage :) <3

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Pingback: The #WeeklySmile 1 – Having fun with Lego – Rhio's Comics

  5. Corina

    Family visits are great, even if they are short ones (in fact, some are better kept short). I need to go see my mom. I haven’t seen her for a couple of years, I think. I did see her for a few hours when we went to a funeral in November and drove out to see her but it was just a half day visit, if that.

    Summer vacations, or any vacations…I think I like the best of both worlds … a mountain lake. When the kids were growing up, I took them to Big Bear Lake a few times and they loved it. Quiet, quirky (at least to them) stuff to do, trails for hiking, warm in the day then cool in the evening. Yup, best of both worlds.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      With Maine some mountains are pretty close to the ocean, particularly where they are today, at Acadia NP. I do like both but haven’t spent much time in the mountains since I bought the cottage on Cape Cod.
      I agree that sometimes it is for the best that visits are short and not too frequent. I do enjoy the company of my family members, but… Anyway, in early September my parents will visit me on Cape Cod for a week, which is always nice, and I usually see my whole family for a very long Memorial Day weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      The last I saw you were at your parents’ house, but peeking over there it looks like you are back in Scotland (I’ll stop in and read in a bit). I hope you had a great visit with them and that you enjoy the warm weather :)

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

