If We Were Having Coffee on the 23rd of July, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of a very strong French Roast or a cuppa tea.  Actually, since it is so hot would prefer something iced instead?  I already have one request for some iced green tea, which I should be able to manage.  And it is hot here.  It has been in the 90s F/ 30s C off and on for the last few weeks.  We did have some cooler weather and much lower humidity mid-week, but it is back to hot and humid, reaching like 96 F (35.6 C) yesterday.  And we are still in a bit of a drought.  And were are we today that is so warm?  Some of you may recognize that the coffee mug and synthesizer at the top of the page are in New Hampshire.

It was an odd week.  I spent last weekend on Cape Cod.  On Tuesday I had new Internet service install.  There have been a lot of growing pains involved.  For one thing, the wifi had to be relocated so my office was totally without Internet.  I picked up an extender and I think it’s having issues.  It seems to be working fine now, but the lights on the front show there is no connection.  I could only show a connection when it was very close to the wifi source and the wifi source actually sends a stronger signal, so there was no place that the extender worked.  Well, I ignored the lights and tried a few spots before finding a place that seems to work.

There’s been exercise, walking dogs and other such things, but little else in my private life until today.  Last night a nephew came in and spent the night with us.  In the morning we drove down to a local diner where my brother and his family met us.  Of course my nephew headed north with them after a nice brunch.

It was a busy work week.  At times it seemed everything I touched turned to lead, like the anti-Midas touch.  Most of it worked out in the end, but it was still a little frustrating.  And busy.  Next week will start busy, but hopefully will calm down after a bit.

I had a hard time keeping up on blogging since my computer was in an odd place with a different monitor.  So I did some visiting, but not enough.  I did get a few posts out, though.

I started the blog week with a Weekly Smile reminder on Sunday.  On Monday I put up a post about race relations and such things.  I put up a poem on Tuesday.  Wednesday morning I posted my Weekly Smile for week 29 and in the evening I put up a 100 word story for Friday Fictioneers.  On Thursday I wrote a throwback story about a nasty storm on the 4th of July in my early childhood and the fireworks, with a bonus, that occurred in August of that year.  I wrote a short story for Friday.

So that was my week, and it was good week, if busy.  How about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)  Anyway, thanks for stopping by and I hope to see you soon!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

28 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 23rd of July, 2016

  1. prior

    Hi T – sorry about the anti-midas touch – ha – never heard that before – but makes sense. and not that I like Kid Rock – that much (don’t really know his music and lots of foul stuff) but went down memory lane with the one called “prodigal son” and for some reason – your anti-midas touch comment reminded me of a line in his song…
    “all that gold – don;t always glitter…”
    oh I dunno – it has been a long weekend –
    there, their, and they’re still on the brain too –
    glad you had time with the nephew – ttys

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Hi Y, or is it “Mrs. Prior”? You’ve changed your name again and I had to approve this. Funny :) Sometimes it just seems like the anti-Midas touch. It goes along with my brown-thumb – every indoor plant I touch dies.
      have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Diana

    Still super-warm here, so we’re hiding indoors. There’ve been lots of storms this week, too. We made it to the Audubon Aquarium Friday afternoon but got soaked in the process! Ah well, at least it was a good time.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      We’ve had a few small pop up storms and I got soaked in one on Monday. Sometimes it’s actually refreshing… Glad you made it to the aquarium with your friends. I’m sure the kids loved it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. brittabottle

    Oh my goodness, it’s been so hot here, too, this week. I walked around DC yesterday for a little bit and was absolutely dripping by the time I made it back home.

    My week was stressful, but such is life sometimes. Still trying to figure this life thing out.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I was just about to go see what you’ve been up to this week on your coffee share… DC always seems hot and with this hitting the whole East Coast I’m sure it’s sweltering. We are lucky in that there were a few cool nights so i was able to cool down the house, which helps.
      Funny, I’m still trying to figure out this life thing too – I think it’s something we do until it’s a moot point ;) I’m sorry, I know what you mean. I’ll stop by “your place” and see if you’ve left any more details on it including job search, apartment search, etc.

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      12 is a little on the cool side if that’s day temperature, but still nice. We had a few nights not much warmer than that it is really great to cool down the house!
      I had to move my computer and use a much smaller screen and a keyboard I hated, but I did put out a lot of posts. One thing, I can write a post in just a few minutes, so if it’s on my mind, I’ll get it out.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. KB Garst

    It’s over 100 degrees here in southern Arizona! Our wifi has acted weird all week. my husband thinks the heat is affecting it. Have a good upcoming week!

    Like

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Yes, but is a dry heat? Sorry, I had to put that in ;) No thank you, I don’t enjoy temps much above 80 and mid 90s is hot enough for me, thank you.
      If it’s cool inside of your house the outside heat shouldn’t effect it much. I mean, there are variables like air density and humidity that will change the signal so it is possible. Also, if it’s 100 where the equipment is, yes, it will effect it!
      Have a great week. I hope you stay cool!

      Like

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was a very productive week. In mid August I’ll be on a business trip for a week and may try that, writing everything ahead of time and having it go out on schedule.
      Have a great week and a good trip to South Dakota!

      Like

      Reply
  5. bettylouise31

    The weather continues to be strange for us. It should be reaching in the high nineties at this time of year and it is still only 70 degrees Fahrenheit out. There is nice cool breeze out. Sorry about the WiFi troubles they can be frustrating. Have a good week.🌞

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  6. nerdinthebrain

    I feel your pain on the 90 degrees and up days. The heat here has been just stupid…and apparently unending. Try not to melt! (Stay hydrated! That’s my best southerner tip for dealing with things when the sun is actively attempting to murder you.) ;)

    Fingers crossed for functioning and happy wifi!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I don’t mind the heat too much except when I want to sleep… I can’t sleep when we’re running the fans, but then I also can’t sleep when I’m swimming in sweat…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. Rhio

    It was above 30 degrees here in the UK for three days, and we all collectively melted. Seriously think it’s time we all had AC installed. It does feel a lot hotter than it is though here, I’ve been to Spain in the summer and temperatures reached 40 degrees and I didn’t suffer with it as bad as I am now. Roll on winter (When I’ll moan about how cold I am, how British, haha).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m sure it is humid there as it is here. When the humidity falls, even if it stays hot, it feels better. I have AC in my cottage on Cape Cod. I hate using it, but it gets so stuffy you can’t breath, even when it is relatively cool out. Here our house stays OK, though after a few days of heat it is more comfortable outside in the shade and breeze than inside.

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

