If We Were Having Coffee on the 16th of July, 2016

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of a very strong French Roast, a cuppa tea or other beverage.  Perhaps you’d prefer something a little cooler since it is so warm.  It’s going to be a scorcher today, but I’ll spend a lot of time on, in and around the water.  And where am I?  Some of you may recognize by the mugs that I’m in the Beatles Museum, Ooops, sorry, I mean I’m on Cape Cod.

This has been a pretty good week.  It started out cold and damp but quickly became hot and steamy.  There is no end of the heat in sight, so it will be like this for at least another week.  I started the week up in New Hampshire and drove down to the Cape Wednesday evening.  I teleworked from down here.  Poor me, right?

Actually, in ways it is difficult.  I’m here but I have to spend the day in my little office.  Thursday and Friday were both relatively busy.  Actually, it was a busy week.  I had 4 hours of tele-meetings back to back, non-stop on Tuesday.  That’s hard, no time to get up and walk or anything.  I did eat lunch during the last one.

I was able to take the dogs for a walk in the woods on Wednesday and did a long kayak paddle Yesterday after work.  This morning I’ve had the dogs out four times already, one time for rough-housing play and another for a very long walk.  I also ran four miles.  It’s now 8 AM so time for a short break and then back out on the kayak while the water is still flat and it isn’t so crowded with other kayaks that you can walk across the pond without getting wet.

Yes, that bit of water you can see out of our dining room window is Swan Pond.  It is a little less than a mile across by maybe a half a mile wide.  It funnels into the Swan River which goes a couple of miles down to the ocean.  It is all tidal, with the river flow in the direction of the tide and the pond rising and lowering around a foot.  It is a nice place to kayak and there is a large rental place on the river half way between the pond and the ocean.  On a hot summer Saturday, like today, there are dozens, perhaps hundreds of kayaks, canoes and paddle boards out.

I finished another run through of my short stories for my book of short stories.  One more quick edit and I’ll send it to some beta readers and to a few people who will give me some editorial suggestions.  Getting closer.

Funny week blogging.  I did try to visit a lot of people, but it was difficult since it was busy.  As far as traffic my way, there were a lot of dead periods with up to 14 hours without a view.  It’s the middle of summer nd people are taking blogging breaks.

I posted quite a bit, but I didn’t put up any fiction which is unusual for me.  On Sunday I put up my reminder for Weekly Smile 17.  On Monday I posted some pictures from my last trip to Cape Cod.  I think they are some of my better photos.  I skipped Tuesday and posted a Weekly Smile on Wednesday.  It was a slightly down smile since in it I contemplated dropping the series.  On Thursday I had a double throwback post.  It was the beginning of a story I was working on over six years ago.  The clip is a bit of autobiography about the 11 year old Trent taking a bicycle trip down to my favorite hang out place.   Later Thursday I posted a link to Deborah the Closet Monster’s blog where she had a link to a speech by a black Republican Senator about his experiences with racism.  I also posted a link to the video on YouTube.  On Friday I posted a very brief synopsis on where I think problems in our country and the world are coming from, at least a very basic level.  Later I may do a series and expand on it.

Anyway, I have been inside far too long!  I took three phone calls while writing and so it has taken my over 45 minutes to do this post while posts usually take lass than 10.  I need to kayak before the traffic jam….  I’ll be in and out all day and hit WP while I am in.

So that was my week, and it was good week and is getting better.  How about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

12 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 16th of July, 2016

    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It was a very good week, thanks! I enjoy the hot weather when i can get out and cool off, but it makes sleeping difficult! I sleep much better when it is frigid out and I can snuggle under several blankets.

      I hope your week was good, Mello, and have a great week ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Sounds busy and must be hard with all that water to play in outside. The dogs sound as though they have a good life. With your smile have you tried linking it to wordpress events site to get a greater number of people aware that you are holding it weekly. I’ve been remiss in not posting in it lately and this week I did have one that I was going to put up but I’m finding winter is not a good blogging time for me (actually I think it is because I no longer have an excuse to sit at the computer all day my time is being demanded from all angles.) Hope you have a good week.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      My dogs lead a very good life, better than a lot of people, unfortunately. It’s been busy, but mostly in a good way.
      I didn’t know i could link to WP events until after I posted this week and somebody mentioned it. I’ll try to link up next week or the week after, depending on how busy I am.
      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Diana

    Glad you had a good week! I’ve been struggling with the blogging lately, but I’m working on getting myself back in check. Would love to go outside and work, but it’s just too hot here right now! I’m ready for September and October when it cools off a bit around here and I can write on the balcony or the back deck!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I am not really a hot weather person so I can relate. It’s warm her on Cape Cod (low 80s) but it is hot back in NH – mid 90s. And humid.

      Thinking of hot and humid, I hope you’re right about it cooling down in September or October – there is a small possibility I might be down there in late September. Not 100% sure yet – my wife has conference that she might attend so we’d be able to write her half of the trip off.

      Have good rest of the weekend and a great week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Diana

        :) Of course when I say “cool down,” I mean that instead of being in the 90s with a heat index in the 110s, it will probably be in the 70s with a heat index in the 80s. It’s rarely cold by Halloween—we always have to keep that in mind when planning costumes.

        Like

        Reply

Express Yourself

