If We Were Having Coffee on the 9th of July, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in out of the rain.  We’ve been having a bit of drought here so the rain is welcome, though why it has to hit on the weekend is beyond me.  Actually, we had a few quickly passing thunderstorms during the week, but within 10 minutes of them going by the ground was already dry and dusty.  Hopefully this longer, soaking rain will help.  Some of you may realize that the drought I’m talking about is happening in New Hampshire.  Hint for those who don’t know, that picture at the top of the page (rustic analog synthesizer on rustic wood stand in rustic studio in rustic NH) is the one I use when I’m “home” in NH as apposed to Cape Cod (two different pictures) or elsewhere (a virtual travel mug I was given by yprior at In the Zone).

Here it is Saturday already and I have no idea what I did this week.  Ever have weeks like that?  Monday was a holiday (Independence Day, 4th of July) and so I spent the day being independent, or at least away from work.  I know I went running and did work around the house and such.  I know I cooked on the grill, which I do most nights that the grill isn’t covered in a foot or more of snow or it isn’t pouring down rain.  Beyond that, I remember very little.  It was warm.  Actually, it was a warm week.  Maybe that’s why my memory is gone – I’m a cool weather person.

Work was on and off busy, but not insane like some weeks.  Parts were very quiet since so many people take the week of the 4th off.  Parts were busy because, well, that’s why they call ti work.

Hmm, playing with puppies (actually dogs, but they are always puppies to me), exercise, working around the house, editing the stories for my book, wasting time on the Internet…  what else was there?  Like i said, I remember events of two and three weeks ago better than last week, the week lost in time.

My blogging is getting more consistent.  I’ve been trying to catch up on reading, but still not enough time.  As far as writing, well, I’ll let you judge.  I missed my typical Sunday Weekly Smile reminder, but I decided to turn my 4th of July post on Monday into a Weekly Smile reminder, that is after babbling about some dates in US history.  On Tuesday I reblogged a two year old poem about catching a glimpse of another person where you really know them, you see their soul, and for a fleeting moment you are not this single entity in the Universe, but have connected with another being.  Yeah, a poem about that….  Wednesday was my Weekly Smile post, this one about relaxing in the backyard.  I mean, we spend so much effort to have a nice place, shouldn’t we enjoy it?  Thursday I did Friday Fictioneers.  Twice – story 1 and story 2 – they’re 100 words each, so I’ll let you discover what they’re about ;)  On Friday I wrote and posted a story, The Art of Slaying a Dragon.  I was looking at pictures I had drawn for the blog and this one popped out so I used it.  What do you think of the picture?

St. George

So, yeah, that’s about it.  As usual, I have a lot of plans, though not all outside this weekend.  From these little chats we have over coffee I’m sure you can tell I’m the type that enjoys doing things more than sitting.  Sorry if I seem a bit restless ;)

So that was my week, and it was good week and is getting better.  How about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

 

26 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on the 9th of July, 2016

  1. Rowena

    Well, I’m pleased to report that 9 days after the Australian Federal Election, we have a Prime Minister. Actually, we have the same Prime Minister…Malcolm Turnbull.
    I’m just having my late night cup of decaf tea before going to bed and I’m wanting this funny news show called The Project. They just had a segment on cleaning including on whether you can leave a tea bag in the sink. It was hilarious. They finished it off with this really deadpan bald guy asking: “It isn’t a crime to leave a tea bag in the sink, is it?”
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Ro

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      So, is it a crime to leave a tea bag in the sink? Is it a crime to use teabags instead of lose leaf tea?

      With all of the political turmoil in the English speaking world I have read a little bit about your election and the outcome. I don’t know a huge amount other than from the time your court said to hold another election and to it being done is about a trillion times faster than it would happen here.

      Have a great week.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Prior-2001

    restless is ok…. and with that said – I will have a take out java cup today…. I am busy finishing boring stuff…. and well, I am going to make time to read your friday pieces….

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Prior-2001

        well sort of – not really a good piece of fiction – in my opinion…. but the first thought i had with that photo was Jason Bourne – and so my 99 words is mentioning the movie…
        and it is very similar to the vibe in your tourist one – well nothing like it – but in my mind I felt like americans were looking at Jason Bourne rooftops…. lol

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  3. Kathleen Howell

    Thanks for the coffee! I have weeks like that. I try to remember to jot things down in a notebook so I have something to say over coffee each week! Unless something memorable happens.. Love your drawing!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve thought about having a little “Weekend Coffee” notebook to jot down those little things I did over the week, but I always forget. Maybe this week ;) As you say, if something memorable happens, but unless it happened in the last three days, it must be super memorable.

      Thanks about the drawing. Have a good week.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Master of Something Yet

    Love the dragon. :) It’s the last day of the school holidays today. I don’t know what happened to the last two weeks. All these things I was going to achieve and…. yeah, no. Ah well. Next holidays?? ;) I’ll be back to work with a bang as I’ve got two weeks full time already booked in starting tomorrow. Spent yesterday putting some activities together in case the teacher hasn’t left any work.
    Hope you get some more rain (but at night time).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Vacations/holidays always go too fast. And as far as lists of things you want to achieve? Perhaps I can have another life time just sort out the mess I left with this one ;) It is still lightly raining and the ground in the woods behind our house is finally damp. Our dogs, however, aren’t loving it. Let me rephrase that: They would really love to play in the rain and mud, but we wouldn’t love it if they did.
      I hope the return to school and work goes well! Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      There are times I think about keeping a diary or something just so I know what I did last week. I guess in some ways that’s what these coffee posts have turned into – I have two years of records on what I did during the week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  5. Solveig

    For quite some months weeks were a bit fuzzy for me, so I know what you are talking about. I always ask my students what they did since I last saw them and well if they are still at school then they often lack the memory of their week…

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s been raining here all day, but when I go under the trees the ground is still dry and dusty. I know it is good, though – the trees are loving it and the brown lawns will be green in a couple of days.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks for stopping by for coffee! I enjoyed your story about Sweden this morning – sounds like a scary trip! Glad nobody was hurt in the crash.

      Like

      Reply
  6. KB Garst

    My week was a bit like yours. Lots of stuff happened but I couldn’t really tell you what! Hope we get a soaking rain, we have a lot of monsoon activity but the desert is so dry is sucks up the rain quickly. Have a nice week!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      It’s funny, it has been a light rain all day, but as soon as you get under the cover of the tress it is still dusty. Oh well, I’m sure it helps a little. Have a great week!

      Like

      Reply

Express Yourself

