If We Were Having Coffee on 2 July, 2016

Moog and Morning Coffee

Hello and Welcome!  Come on in and I’ll get you a nice large mug of a very strong French Roast or a cuppa tea.  It is a gorgeous morning.  It is very cool but still very humid from last night’s storms.  It’s funny because despite all of the rain the ground is still dry and dusty.  We are in a drought here and the ground soaking up the water so quickly that you can tell it rained only from the wet pavement proves it.

And where are we?  Some of you may see the picture at the top and know we are in Beautiful New Hampshire.

It has been a weird week.  After a long (10 days) vacation down at the cottage on Cape Cod I returned to my home in New Hampshire.  Unfortunately i forgot part of my laundry down there.  If you remember, our washer broke so I brought two weeks of cloths down with me.  Well, all of my hanging shirts are still in the closet.  Since I pretty much wear only hanging shirts (so, so much more comfortable than T-Shirts when it’s warm!) that means I really don’t have many.  I planned on taking a quick jaunt back down there, but tend to stay away during major holidays – two years ago we were told it took people over 10 hours to drive the 30 miles to get off of the Cape!  So we picked a few nice shirts up on EBay and I’m going to suffer and wear T-shirts ;)  It will be a couple of more weeks.

It was very busy getting back to work.  I had training this week so did half days for three days.  Still a lot of work to do!

There is also a lot of work to do around the house.  I got a small amount of mowing done before a quick shower stopped it.  I hope to finish today.  There are a million other things to do, which is another reason i didn’t travel this week.

Last week I finished a quick edit of all of the stories in the collection I’m working on.  I didn’t do anything this week since i was so busy.  Well, until last night.  Last night I went through three stories.  I plan on doing this run through, then a third and then send it out to a few beta readers.

I also didn’t do too much blogging.  The last two days I was able to visit a few more than before, but still not many.  I vote for a 36 hour day and 9 day week (still 40 hour work week, though ).  maybe then I’d be able to get about 2% of what I want done.

i didn’t post much either, at least not until yesterday.  On Sunday I posted my Weekly Smile Week 25 reminder.  On Tuesday I put up a post explaining that I didn’t have time to post.  On Wednesday I posted my Week 26 smile – only one person has joined me.  Please add your smiles – here’s the linky.  On Thursday I put up a Throwback post about vacationing with our first boxer, Brady, talking mostly about kayaking.  Then there was Friday :)  I posted a short story in the morning and then later put up a Friday Fictioneer story followed almost immediately by a second one, this about The Battle for the Somme. Yes, I did almost as many posts on Friday as the rest of the week combined.

After I finish here I’m going to go running while it is still cool – I haven’t been in a week because of the heat.  Then mow, break down about 500 boxes (half serious), do other yard work, etc.  I’ll enjoy the nice day and get a bit of sun while I’m at it and I have two very high energy dogs to entertain.  So a busy day.  But I’ll be around, off and on, and catch up with you.

So that was my week, and it was good week and is getting better.  How about you?  How has your week been?  I hope it was good!  If you do a coffee post I’ll try to catch up,  If you don’t do a coffee post, perhaps you should consider it ;)

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster (note that the site has changed!).  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  In fact, I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see what’s been going on in the lives of other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before.

44 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee on 2 July, 2016

  1. Rowena

    Hi Trent,
    My weekend has extended to Tuesday. Sorry, I’m getting here a bit late but I did post a Weekly Smile. Actually, make that two. We had our Federal Election last weekend and we have no result as yet. That’s occupied a fair bit of my atention over the weekend. I’m a bit concerned the Senate is going to turn into a theatre with extreme fruitcake Pauline Hanson and former journalist and crusader Derryn Hinch and I can’t see these two behaving themselves, especially when they’re both independents and could well hold the balance of power, which is a terrifying prospect.There’s even talk about going back to the polls. It’s a real concern but perhaps the greatest problem of all is that politicians are left in charge of the country! Scary! Scary! Scary! I’m not going to get wound up any further and will head off.
    Hope you have a great week!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Long weekend here because of fourth of July celebrations. Elections can be scary, and repeats – I don’t know if we’d have as short of a turn around time from saying there needs to be another round and doing it. Oh well.
      I did see the two smile posts. Thanks for adding them in!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Rowena

        I have been wanting to support your smile post but haven’t been as smiley for awhile there and I’ve been embroiled in some family history research, which has become really interesting. Stumbled across a former convict who became a teacher, Principal, inspector and examiner throughout NSW from 1850s through to around 1890. I sniff a story, a character and I’ve found enough newspaper references to start developing a character. Hope you have a great weekend and I look forward to catching up with you for coffee! xx Ro

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Sounds like a very interesting character. Not too many convicts in my family tree, but a few interesting people. My dad has been doing a lot of research, but says he wished he had started 40 or 50 years earlier as most of the people who would have known are now long gone (my dad is 84).

          Have a great weekend and I’ll catch up with you over coffee soon!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Rowena

            I know this sounds really daggy but I started doing my family history when I was about 10 with my Dad. I love history but I wonder whether my interest in family history stems from having undiagnosed hydrocephalus until my mid twenties and not feeling like I quite fitted in. When I realised that I didn’t know where my grandmother’s father’s family came from, it really bugged me. It was like finding out our family was adopted and I just had to find out. I am always looking for the texture in there. Personal anecdotes. All those questions a writer asks of their characters.
            Ironically, I know very little about my own parents. They’re both fairly private and not really story tellers.My mother’s father was a fabulous story teller. He came from Hahndorf, in South Australia which was settled by Germans and this town was quirky as. Must do something with his stories as they’re quite relevant to the area.

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I have some dry wick type shirts for when I exercise, and they work great, but for just hanging out I like a good silk Tommy Bahama button shirt – they are all natural dry wick…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. bettylouise31

    I am ust now getting to read and answer this weks blogs. Been having a lot ofeye and hering troubles. I can read only so much before I need to rest my eyes. I knw how youike certan items to wear.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Sorry for the eyes and hearing issues. With all of the people posting coffee chats it is sometimes hard to keep up. I hope you are having a good fourth and have a good week.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Prior-2001

    eBay shirts?? Why eBay? Just curious….
    Hope your running and box breaking down went well!
    Oh and try not to travel at certain holidays – the worst was thanksgiving day in 2001 – 8 hours (plus) going from east coast of Florida to gulf coast – normally under 3 hours!
    And have many other travel delays and nightmares even –
    Whew
    Just thinking about it makes me want some Java? And this is a coffee share so – ummmm – any espresso in New Hampshire ?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      e-bay – yep. Tommy Bahama shirts are very expensive, so a bit cheaper there and they look like new. Of course I washed them before I wore them…. (let’s say $10 vs $110)

      A couple of years ago I heard from several different sources that the traffic coming off of Cape Cod that 4th of July weekend took and an average of over 5 hours with some people waiting well over 10. Depending on where you are coming from it’s usually closer to 30 minutes…. There are two bridges off of the Cape and they can back up pretty nasty – I’ve seen 15 miles of stop and go, but I guess it was much much worse then. So no, no going to the Cape over the 4th.

      I have an espresso maker that has been gathering dust – I guess we could try it out or go someplace for an espresso ;)

      I hope you’re having a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Prior-2001

        Thanks for the espresso virtuoso – and yes – sounds like a very good deal – and folks should wash new stuff even more than used stuff – I know someone who has checked on this kinda stuff with a microscope and saw fibers and weird stuff on new clothes – and he posits that many of the foreign factories have sick workers snd questionable air and suggests all new clothing and bedding should be washed very well – I guess this goes without saying – and the thing about used stuff these days is that there are some amazing “like brand new” stuff to be found – it is because we live in a throw away cukture and definitely not what “used” was like 50 or 80 years ago…..
        Hmmmm
        And things nice today – raining on and off but that is ok – I have a bit of chest cold that is almost gone – argh!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I also wash brand new things before I wear them, but the used I’m more paranoid about, though perhaps the “new” is worse! Unless I don’t like something I wear it until people start commenting on the holes. Since I have no style, I mean my own style, I don’t worry that something that’s 10 or 15 years old is out of style.

          It’s warm here today, verging on hot. Feels like the 4th, though – it is always hot this week.

          Hope your cold gets better soon! have a great week!

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          1. Prior-2001

            Hi T – well the congestion is easing even though I almost died earlier today when the mucous was stuck – and two other here had it this gunky too! Argh!
            But glad I didn’t die- ready to join the lord but not quite yet I guess – ha!
            And we have white skies with rain stopped – blah…..
            And laughing at the no style –
            I think it is an artist thing – in my experience artists either go crazy anal about clothes OR could care less and like u – find what works ….

            And the tommy shirts sound rather timeless
            You known- like blue jeans and white polo Polo shirts – and I bet the real brand of those shirts has good material and a high thread count….

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            1. trentpmcd Post author

              I do have a ton of polo shirts, but to me they are only comfortable when it is cool but not cold, like low of 59 high of 67.

              Glad the congestion is going away instead of you ;)

              Liked by 1 person

              Reply
              1. Prior-2001

                So true about the polo shirts and temperature – this is more female – but the last two years I have gotten extremely picky about tank tops and the right ones for yoga ! The material and the straps have to be a certain way!
                And doing better with gunk cold stuff – but lingering still!

                Hope your Wednesday is going well T!

                Liked by 1 person

                Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      But I did get all of my laundry done, even if I can’t use most of it ;) I’ve gotten a lot of work done this weekend, but have taken time to be lazy too – sometimes we need to do that.

      Have a great fourth!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      Thanks! I hope you join the Weekly smile sometime! The laundry is a bummer, but I’ll see it again since it’s my cottage. I just have to make it through another week and a half….

      Like

      Reply
  4. brittabottle

    A goodness, good luck with your shirt situation! Sounds like a tricky one–especially over the holiday weekend. I went on my first run a couple days ago in a long time. It was my first since moving to the DMV and I forgot how HUMID it can get down here. It was a bit rough, to say the least–especially since I hadn’t run in a while.

    Hope you have a great fourth, Trent!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I picked up a few shirts and then there are t-shirts that I usually use when I exercise, many with classic Rock bands like The Beatles, Pink Floyd and Bob Dylan. So I can get by, but I will miss my shirts!

      Washington is hot and steamy in the summer – a few years ago when visiting I ran and thought it wasn’t a good sign that I was covered in sweat before the run even began! I’m sure after a few short run you’ll get back into the groove of it, humidity or no.

      That reminds me – this spring I picked up the best pair of running shoes I’ve ever had. I just now returned from a Sports Authority going out of business sale and picked up another pair just like it for 30% off. Don’t need it yet, but it’s always great to have good shoes and I’ll never be able to beat the price.

      I hope you are having a great time. Have a great fourth! Are you heading into the city for any celebrations or staying in VA? Either way, have a great time!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. brittabottle

        I actually went to Mount Vernon for the fourth. I did the Capitol celebration when I was here two years ago and it’s so crowded and you have to get there around 10 in the morning to get a good seat for the concert. There weren’t any acts that I was super excited about for the concert so I decided to stay in VA. I was going to scope out some fireworks once back from Mount Vernon, but it was wet and rainy so I decided to just stay in last night.
        Yes, Washington does get quite steamy. Good thing I had plenty of experienced with such weather in Thailand. :)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          I make it down to DC occasionally (if you haven’t guessed I’m a Fed) but I haven’t been to Mount Vernon since i was a little kid. Sounds like a great way to spend the holiday.
          I’m sure you do know that type of weather both from your previous DC experience and Thailand.

          Like

          Reply
  5. Corina

    At least you can get the shirts back when you return. I have, in a previous life, forgotten clothing in Hawaii, Alaska, and once in Boston. We didn’t usually stay long enough to unpack so when I packed up, I forgot to look in dresser drawers on the handful of times that I actually unpacked my bag into the dresser! So no chance of getting them back and it was usually the new and nicer stuff that I forgot because I was more likely to unpack the nice/new stuff into the dresser or closet. Oh well! Now I just forget chargers for electronics!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’ve forgotten a few things when traveling, so yes, it’s nice I can get them all back. But it was like 15 shirts! My closet is bare…. Charges, I think everyone forgets those. Hotels must have hundreds of them for each room.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Nancy

    Don’t you love that moment, hours into a drive, when you suddenly remember what you forgot at the place you are on your way from? Happens to me on every long trip we take. Oh well. At least you scored some new shirts out of it! Enjoy your week. We are having some cooler weather here too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      I’m usually pretty good about bringing everything important, though not always ;) And with the cottage there is always a return trip for the smaller things. For the most part I keep clothes down there so don’t worry about it, but this time it had to do with laundry.

      Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  7. joannesisco

    Normally I live in T-shirts and my closet is full of them. That’s a problem right now with a broken collarbone and a VERY limited number of button-up shirts, By the time you get your shirts back in a couple of weeks, I hope I’ll be able to finally wear a t-shirt :/

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. trentpmcd Post author

      To me button shirts feel so much cooler, particularly silk. Yeah, expensive, which is why we went e-bay. But the last me between 10 and 15 years, so not bad.

      Sorry about the collarbone – hope the healing goes well and you can get back in the t-shirts soon!

      Like

      Reply
        1. trentpmcd Post author

          Tommy Bahama – very expensive so start looking in thrift shops first – still expensive there, but we are talking $18 vs $118…. I think the e-bay ones were less than $10.

          Like

          Reply

Express Yourself

